We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural delight in Devon”
The Old Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage Devon cream tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage
Devon cream tea
Granary lounge
Wood burning stove
Kitchen
Morning coffee
King size bed
Spiral staircase
relax on the balcony
En-suite shower room
steamers in the private garden
Views from the garden and balcony
Welcome flowers from the gardens
Some essentials provided in welcome pack
Morning coffee.
Done roaming!
Sunset from the Granary bedroom window.
Uninvited guests!
Relax in the garden.
Owlacombe Mill.
Owlacombe Mill thanks to google earth.
The new pond is filling nicely.
February 2018 snow in the valley first since 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barbandst...
Broadhembury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rural delight in Devon”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Can recommend this cottage for its location, comfort and decor, and the genuine hospitality of the owners.

Sleep in great comfort to the sound of water in the mill stream, all amenities available with style and lovely walks either around the Woodland Trust acreage or to the New Inn for a good range of beers and open fire.

Our hosts made this visit memorable and we cannot return soon enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquiliity
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2013
So glad you enjoyed your short break. Any time you need to escape to our little piece of Heaven in Devon get in touch. We would love to welcome you both back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRoome
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Bliss!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My partner organised a surprise weekend at Owlacombe Mill and it was fabulous - The location is beautiful, a perfect secret getaway, and the property itself is stunning and well equipped. Not to mention the breakfast hamper that was delicious! I would highly recommend this property if you want to completely get away for some peace and quiet. Thank you Carol and Gareth for a lovely stay and see you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Glad you enjoyed the hamper, our first request for 'gluten free'. We wish you much happiness in your new home and future together. Look forward to welcoming you both back for a peaceful getaway very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The enjoyable experience to have chosen the right place
Liked least: Having to leave
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We aim to provide our guests with all they might need for a relaxing holiday in peaceful surroundings. The'home from home' we would enjoy staying in. Look forward to you both returning very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jody G
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best cottages in Devon!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Literally one of the best cottages in the South West! We stayed for 5 days and didn't want to come home! It was so nice to wake up to nature and the cows opposite was pretty cool! Loved the location and the local pub was good fun with good food! Carol and Gareth the absolutely lovely!

We shall be back ASAP!

x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the tranquil surroundings here. The perfect place to recharge the batteries and escape from the hum drum of everyday life. Look forward to welcoming you both back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horst, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing negative
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will have to compile a recipe for my scones and send you a copy. Its always a pleasure to share our home with such lovely guests. Look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing