We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday, friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glebe House Cottages
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our holiday at Glebe House Cottages. We rarely had such a nice accomodation! The House - the Poacher - is perfectly equipped, the courtyard is beautifully arranged and the hosts are absolutely courteous and heartily!
Plus it's the most dog friendly lodging we've ever been to.
It's just a 20 minutes drive to Bude, the nearest village at the coast and it's located in a very quite and peacefully area.
We would be glad to stay at Glebe House once again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank charlottw211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow. Thank you Charlott for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you and your family and your kind words really mean a lot to us. I am really glad that you found the complex very dog friendly. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so clean! We would love to welcome you and your family here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Really well equipped cottages in a delightful setting. Everything was well thought out, and had lots of little extras. Well placed for touring the area, but plenty on site to keep a family happy, including a bar. Although the village pub is only a 10 minute walk!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review Martyn. We are really pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay here. It was lovely to meet you all and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Absolutely wonderful holiday had last week at Glebe House Cottages (Little Barn). Cottage was superbly furnished and equipped and wonderful grounds to walk Frankie in. Loved the fresh bread and eggs delivered to our door every morning! The kids loved the pool and we all enjoyed use of the various and plentiful equipment. A couple of very enjoyable nights were had in the delightful Cellar Bar as well! Would highly recommend and would like to thank Nick, Polly, Jay and Sarah for such a lovely week.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Beverley for your review. We really enjoyed getting to know you all and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you made good use of our onsite facilities including the bar and the formal grounds. We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We have just returned from a week at Glebe House Cottages - we had the best holiday ever. We were in the Old Stables opposite Sarah and Jay's house - they could not have been more friendly or helpful to us. Nothing was too much trouble and Stan, our dog, enjoyed their attention (although not sure Tom and Jerry, their cats, enjoyed Stan being stationed outside their cat flap :) ). This is great for families with children and dogs and we were really lucky as most of the other families had dogs too so Stan was happy with some doggy company. There was a bottle of wine on arrival and everything was incredibly clean and welcoming. There were also 3 dog friendly beaches within 15 minutes drive which was great as we could all enjoy the beach. The outdoor swimming pool was very clean and warm and we were lucky as the weather was really good to us the week we were there. Pretty much everything you would need to take was there for us to use - tennis rackets/balls, footballs, body boards, wetsuits, windbreaks etc. Everything was there to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable holiday and I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you very much Sam for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all. We are really happy that you found plenty here to keep everyone occupied, including Stanley the dog! It was lovely to have you as neighbors for the week and we would be delighted to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is a magical place with everything that you could possibly want provided for. The owners have really gone that extra mile to make this a luxurious and inviting venue. The cottages are superbly-equipped, comfortable and scrupulously clean. Children are well catered for with a heated swimming pool, games room., outside play-area, tennis courts and woodland trails, all set in well tended, picturesque grounds. Dogs are welcomed and fussed over, even receiving their own doggie welcome-pack. Evenings are convivial affairs with bar-b-cues and fire pits, where you can share a bevvy and toast marshmallows. There is also a well-stocked bar and entertainment events are arranged for those who care to join in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exquisite, choice would depend on size of party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Maggie for your very kind review! It was lovely to see you and your family again. We are really pleased that you could join us for the evenings in the cellar bar including our pub quiz as well as the night around the fire pit! It was lovely to have cuddles with your dog Brutus, we are looking forward to seeing him and yourselves next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
8.5 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
7.9 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
568 reviews
15.2 km away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Ivyleaf Combe Luxury Lodges
4.8 km away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
145 reviews
6.4 km away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe House Cottages

Address: Bridgerule, Holsworthy EX22 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Holsworthy
Price Range: ₹ 3,864 - ₹ 14,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glebe House Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glebe House Cottages has 6 stunning recently renovated self catering cottages. Positioned on the Devon / Cornwall Border and only 6 miles from Bude it's in a fantastic location with a huge amount of interesting places to visit. Facilities on site include a heated swimming pool, tennis court, children's adventure playground, games room, woodland walk, formal gardens and a fully licensed bar. Jay and Sarah live on site with Jay's parents Nick and Polly and so there is always someone on site who can assist you, whether it's serving you drinks by the pool or preparing a special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glebe House Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing