We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab dog friendly holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glebe House Cottages
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We have just returned from a week at Glebe House Cottages - we had the best holiday ever. We were in the Old Stables opposite Sarah and Jay's house - they could not have been more friendly or helpful to us. Nothing was too much trouble and Stan, our dog, enjoyed their attention (although not sure Tom and Jerry, their cats, enjoyed Stan being stationed outside their cat flap :) ). This is great for families with children and dogs and we were really lucky as most of the other families had dogs too so Stan was happy with some doggy company. There was a bottle of wine on arrival and everything was incredibly clean and welcoming. There were also 3 dog friendly beaches within 15 minutes drive which was great as we could all enjoy the beach. The outdoor swimming pool was very clean and warm and we were lucky as the weather was really good to us the week we were there. Pretty much everything you would need to take was there for us to use - tennis rackets/balls, footballs, body boards, wetsuits, windbreaks etc. Everything was there to ensure a stress-free and enjoyable holiday and I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you very much Sam for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all. We are really happy that you found plenty here to keep everyone occupied, including Stanley the dog! It was lovely to have you as neighbors for the week and we would be delighted to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is a magical place with everything that you could possibly want provided for. The owners have really gone that extra mile to make this a luxurious and inviting venue. The cottages are superbly-equipped, comfortable and scrupulously clean. Children are well catered for with a heated swimming pool, games room., outside play-area, tennis courts and woodland trails, all set in well tended, picturesque grounds. Dogs are welcomed and fussed over, even receiving their own doggie welcome-pack. Evenings are convivial affairs with bar-b-cues and fire pits, where you can share a bevvy and toast marshmallows. There is also a well-stocked bar and entertainment events are arranged for those who care to join in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exquisite, choice would depend on size of party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Maggie for your very kind review! It was lovely to see you and your family again. We are really pleased that you could join us for the evenings in the cellar bar including our pub quiz as well as the night around the fire pit! It was lovely to have cuddles with your dog Brutus, we are looking forward to seeing him and yourselves next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Thank you to Jay, Sarah, Polly and Nick for welcoming us and making our holiday so special. We stayed in the Mews cottage which was clean, well furnished and up to a very high standard. The grounds where spectacular from manicured lawns to swimming pool.
Thanks for making the girls so welcome and they particular enjoyed cuddles and purrs from Tom & Jerry!!
We would definitely recommend and hope to make it back soon
Ruth, Rich, Lucy and Maddy

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Ruth for your very kind review. It was lovely meeting you and your family and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're really glad that the girls enjoyed spending time with our kittens Tom & Jerry, they definately enjoyed having cuddles with the girls. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We feel very lucky indeed to have discovered this gem in Devon. It was raining when we arrived but that didn't stop Jay from coming out to welcome us in. We stayed in The Granary. Top notch accommodation. It was very clean and had everything we needed and more. They had even put my pre-ordered Tesco delivery away. We used the tennis courts every day and as we didn't have great weather the heated pool was a god-send, as was the games room.. The grounds are beautiful and you can see how hard everyone works to keep the place looking lovely. The gardens are a great place for a game of sardines, which our children enjoyed playing, with us and the friends they made. Bude is only 15 minute drive away, and there's lots to do within a 30-45 minute drive? We will definitely be returning and can't thank The Brewer family enough for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: The granary has a mezzanine with twin beds. Great for little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JulieJules0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's great to know that you enjoyed all the facilities that we offer here and we are glad that you could relax in the formal gardens, I will let Roger our gardener know that his work is appreciated. We would be delighted to welcome you all back, and you will have to teach us how to play Sardines in the garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday in Glebe House Cottages. The cottages have been done up lovely throughout & very clean. Jay, Sarah & family are great hosts making everyone feel welcome, with nothing too much trouble. The facilities on site including tennis courts, trampoline, games room, laundry room & heated outdoor pool were fab! The fire pit & BBQ outside the cottages are great. We took our 8month old lab/retriever who was also given a lovely welcome, including her own goody bag!!! They have a lovely little bar on site which is great to go & socialise with the other guests & join in with the quiz night!! (A def must!!!). There is so much to do in the area, whatever the weather. Would def recommend Glebe cottages & we would def go back. Thank you for a lovely week :-)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Cloughs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glebehousecottages, Owner at Glebe House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled that you all had a great time here. It was such a shame about the weather last week but it was still lovely to see you all enjoying the indoor facilities we have here! We're really glad that you enjoyed the bar area and the quiz night. We would be delighted to welcome you back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
8.5 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
7.9 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
568 reviews
15.2 km away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Ivyleaf Combe Luxury Lodges
4.8 km away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
146 reviews
6.4 km away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe House Cottages

Address: Bridgerule, Holsworthy EX22 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Holsworthy
Price Range: ₹ 3,865 - ₹ 14,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glebe House Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glebe House Cottages has 6 stunning recently renovated self catering cottages. Positioned on the Devon / Cornwall Border and only 6 miles from Bude it's in a fantastic location with a huge amount of interesting places to visit. Facilities on site include a heated swimming pool, tennis court, children's adventure playground, games room, woodland walk, formal gardens and a fully licensed bar. Jay and Sarah live on site with Jay's parents Nick and Polly and so there is always someone on site who can assist you, whether it's serving you drinks by the pool or preparing a special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Glebe House Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing