We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PLEEEASE INSTALL AIRCON!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sitting room
sitting room /dining with fireplace, Wi-Fi, LCD TV, cable connected with DVD player. Private swimming pool measuring approx 13ft x 23ft, South facing,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
sitting room
sitting room /dining with fireplace, Wi-Fi, LCD TV, cable connected with DVD player.
Private swimming pool measuring approx 13ft x 23ft, South facing,
Outdoor area stair case. leading to 1st floor, ideal for the summer period
Pool area by night:  the ideal time for a BBQ by the pool
Pool / Deck Area:  time to relax and enjoy
Interconnecting Door from Ta\' Nikola to Tan-Nanna.JPG
double bedroom
main bedroom with en-suite, having high-ceilings
triple bedroom with high-ceilings, having en-suite and access to a traditional stone balcony
very small bedroom on ground floor -split level.  very low ceilings
the dining area
living area: the place to sit down, read a book or just relax!
sitting room, living/dining
BBQ next to the pool
enjoying time by the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kercem, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Karen M
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PLEEEASE INSTALL AIRCON!!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that we had an awesome holiday in Gozo. It is truly a beautiful island. We spent two weeks here as a family with 2 boys aged 6 and 11 and hired a car for the duration in the expectation of driving around and visiting Malta a few times but as it happens there is so much to see and do on Gozo that we didn't leave the island but definitely made plenty of use of the car.

Now to Ta Nikola farmhouse. I was torn between leaving a 3 or a 4 rating purely because of the discomfort caused by not having air conditioning. Whilst I was aware of this fact, the listing kind of assured that it would be ok and though there are fans provided as stated there is only so much they can achieve in temperatures reaching 40 degrees. It really made it extremely difficult/impossible to sleep and being in the kitchen with the cooker on only added to the pain! Maybe something portable could be provided if permanent aircon is not an option?

The kitchen is in n need of some serious attention, I can only describe it kindly as rustic but it is shabby with a few musty cupboards It is so tiny that it can only accommodate 1 person at a time and there is no storage space for food which needs to be higher up as there is an ant issue. I ended up cramming some things onto the old wooden plate rack that was up on the wall. I suggest removing this as it is not used and replacing with some kind of food storage cupboard? I know you can't make the room bigger but a better use of space could be made without ruining the character.

There is a fridge in the kitchen and a larger fridge freezer just outside in the courtyard which provided ample space for food and drink. The cooker is old but worked fine though the racks that cover the gas burners are a bit wonky so the pans don't sit flat on them (a little dangerous)! Joseph informed me that the cooker is due to be replaced soon. The toaster was clean and efficient, the kettle, though very fast, needs descaling. The microwave seemed to work ok. The hot water from taps was scaldingly hot so beware if kids use it alone and for a few days we had no cold water coming from the kitchen tap at all and had to use bottled water to cool it enough to do the washing up as waiting for it to cool in the sink would just never happen. Rubbish is collected 3 times a week and needs to be separated into recycled/waste as at home but we were only supplied with one recycling bag and had to keep asking for another (it is very easy to fill a recycling bag with the amount of plastic water bottles you will use!). It would be better if a roll had been provided or just tell us where we can get some. One black sack for general waste was provided but we bought more at the supermarket. We liked the spiral staircase.

Living/dining area:
Lovely rustic style, just as the pics show, furniture comfortable enough but the room is quite dark and the lighting is quite dim, I couldn't get the light on the wall by the dining table to work nor the floor lamp so we ate in very poor light! The TV and Blu-ray player worked fine and the supply of DVDs was a nice touch. A bit dusty and cobwebby but hard to see in the dim light lol. Wi-Fi sometimes intermittent but good for the most part.

Bedrooms: There are 3 and we used the 2 upstairs outside and did not use the one off the living area. The rooms are very spacious and are both en-suite. The bathrooms were clean and there were plenty of clean, fresh, fluffy towels provided and a small liquid soap bottle for washing hands though this was missing in one of the bedrooms. The furniture is lovely old 30s style but the beds were not very comfortable as they had wooden boards under the mattresses and this combined with the heat were not conducive to a good night's sleep but at least made us get up early!!
Our original intention was to have the boys sleep in one room and us in the other but as the rooms do not interconnect but open individually to the outside world and the steps down to the pool we decided this would not work or be safe as my 6 year old has a tendency to wander and I would not hear him through the thick stone walls. So unfortunately my partner and I had to take it in turns to sleep with the boys in the spare bed in that room so we never slept in the same room the whole holiday! The traditional balcony is lovely.

The pool was great and kept nice and clean by Joseph. It's 1.5m at the shallowest end. There were enough chairs and we made use of the efficient washing machine which was under cover opposite the other fridge-freezer. The flowers and grape vines were beautiful and attracted lovely butterflies. The pool are is enclosed by high stone walls and though you can hear your neighbours (one of which has aircon!) this didn't bother us. The barbecue is a charcoal one.

Marvik and Joseph's mum was lovely and brought us fresh eggs from her chickens and was available whenever we needed. Marvik provided a thoughtful welcome pack with local wine, bread, ham and cheese and milk which we enjoyed. Though we didn't meet Marvik he was only a text/phonecall away and always answered promptly. He provided the car hire promptly as promised and the split-transfers got us there on time.

I hope my review doesn't sound too negative as we did enjoy our holiday and the location of the farmhouse is perfect, only 5 minutes from Victoria but I wanted to be constructive and honest to not only help prospective holidaymakers but also the owners to address any issues we had (if possible), so that others don't encounter them as they are lovely people, . There is information on Gozo and Malta provided but a little house guide may be useful e.g. lighting oven, outside lights, where to buy bags, best/nearest supermarket, recommended restaurants/food etc.

Thanks for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: No air conditioning
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drizzy
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booking was easy and I feel that we paid a very reasonable price for this farmhouse. Victoria greeted us and was very friendly. She also told us about a local wine festival which we wouldn't have otherwise known about.

Good points: The farmhouse has most of the essentials required. It is in a pleasant quiet village. The pool was a great size and very clean and well maintained although pretty cold when we went. The garden is in the sun all day but there are well shaded areas too. plenty of fridge and freezer space. Windows have mosquito grating so you can leave them open when it is hot. the properties either side are holiday homes too so if they are not occupied you could have total privacy and quiet! Plenty of piping hot water, one good shower, the other was much harder to balance. Bed was comfortable. Cot mattress doesn't fit the cot, we had to wedge pillows at the end of it which filled the gap adequately. There is a high chair which although needed a good clean, was perfectly reasonable and easy to move inside and out.
Very close to the capital where there are good supermarkets to pick up what ever you need- we used the Lidl which was brilliant. Although its an extra 25 euro charge, the wifi was pretty good and quick.

People have mentioned the outdoor staircase and spiral case inside- this wasn't an issue at all. We used the outdoor staircase (running the mosquito gauntlet at night!) and were not inconvenienced at all!

Negatives: a lot of the furniture and equipment needs updating. Despite the stone walls and high ceilings the rooms don't stay cool in the day. Parts of the house were quite grubby- I had to clean the cot and underneath it but they might not get used that much. Also cleaned all the crockery in the kitchen on arrival as it smelt like it hadn't been used for a while- perhaps we were the first guests of the season. No cleaning products in the place and there was no weekly clean or laundry change whilst we were there for 10 days. I'm sure we could have arranged it though if we had asked.

We flew into Malta, hired a car and got to Gozo on the ferry. It was really easy to do and I'm glad we had a car to explore Gozo- you can get everywhere quickly and easily. On the whole I'm giving this 4* as this place represents very good value for money and would suit families well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurray...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic farmhouse in Gozo”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at Ta'Nicola was one of the absolute highlights of our trip to Malta & Gozo - and that's saying something given how amazing these islands are!

We were welcomed early on Tuesday morning and given a tour of the place - and shown the best places to go around the island, the nearest bus stop, shop, restaurants and more. We were given such a nice welcome and Marvik was constantly available on the phone for any other questions which he answered in no time. They really are there for you but also don't infringe on your holiday at all if you don't want them to.

The whole place was in great condition and the pool was maintained throughout. The views from the balcony are amazing, the pool is perfect - and especially warm at the end of the day if you want to cool down before going for dinner. Given there were only two of us we had more space than we needed and found the best room to stay in was the smallest because it was so cozy and typical of the island. Santa Lucija is a quite little place but well connected. You're in the centre of all the best places and, if you don't drive like us, can easily walk over to Victoria (which has buses covering island), Gharb, Ghasri and the Azure Window (plus the bus is every hour),

Overall we'd recommend the farmhouse and it's hosts to anyone and will hopefully make a return trip with more people. I can also see it being a perfect place for a family with young kids to stay.

Thanks for the memories Marvik and hopefully see you soon!
Dan

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Girona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic farmhouse in Gozo”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay for 1 week mid October 2014. It is a lovely authentic old farmhouse and they have left all the quirky old features. So the small bedroom and ground floor bathroom are very low in height but the upstairs bedrooms and the main living area have incredibly high ceilings. So you really feel as if you are staying in an old house. Also the authentic outside staircase is great. We could not see the point of the tiny spiral indoor staircase, but they may have put it in as tourists may find it weird only having an outdoor staircase. But it is all part of the charm of the building. So we would have removed the spiral staircase and left more space in the kitchen, for less headaches. The local owners were really helpful and even called us to make sure we were going to a safe beach on a windy day. They also let us know about a fantastic free open air concert and fireworks which was great. We rented a car from the airport and we would recommend a car to get about to fully enjoy the island. Also it means you can go off the tourist bus areas, as tourists come onto Gozo every day from Malta, so the main site seeing areas can become quite busy even in low season. Driving from the airport in the dark is a little stressful as getting used to the chaotic driving and the roads is a bit of a shock. But once we got used to how everyone seems to weave all over the roads and signs are intermittent, we relaxed. Nowhere on Gozo is more than 20 mins drive from the farmhouse so it is easy to drive everywhere. We would recommend La Stanza restaurant which is only 5 mins drive from the farmhouse for dinner, or the Blue Window restaurant for lunch with a beautiful view only 10 mins drive. Everyone on the island was very helpful and friendly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ta' Nikola Farmhouse! Just a little note about the spiral staircase: we had to do this since if it's raining (though we don't have too many rainy days in Malta & Gozo), it is beneficial to use an 'indoor' staircase! Many thanks once again and looking forward to hosting you once again in the future should you decide to return to Gozo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and location
Liked least: dated patio furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing