We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
1
2
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
2
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

just back from week at tsaki, value for money,few small problems ,but the biggest problem was paul the geordie barman, we waited for this person to arrive at the bar in the morning, asked for a coffee and toast, was told i dont do anything until i have had a smoke and a coffee, but as we were new in would make a toasted cheese sandwich when he was ready, we told him we wouldnt bother. we hired a car from day one so didnt spend much time in resort,which he obviously noticed because we hadnt been to his bar. there were 2 afternoons we spent round the pool,both days the bar was closed from approx 2.30 until 8pm. on our last day we kept oiur room on until 8pm for 20euros. there was no reception only a small office. we had to sit at the bar as our flight was at 3.15am. we sat reading our books and drank some bottled water which we had in our rooms, the barman turned the lights off so we couldnt read,we asked if he could turn them on, his answer was ( you havnt spent any money in my bar so he is not going waste his electric on us, so p...ss,off and sit in the office, which only had two chairs , there were four of us ll aged between 61 and 66 years of age, we retaliated, and was told to f..k off out of his bar, as the nearest bar is 2 miles away down an unlit road we had no option but to sit in this small room, we had a great holiday, but be warned if you dont use his bar or maybe he dont like southerners.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shellbeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

As we only paid £159 incl each, we didnt expect The Ritz - however, we never expected to be so isolated (nearest shop was 25 mins walk away). Rather than type a load of waffle, I've listed the good/bad points below:

GOOD POINTS:
Great views.
Other guests were very friendly as they felt the same about the place.
The sun was very hot when it did'nt rain (rained 3 out of 7 days).

BAD POINTS:
1) Location - very isolated. The walk up to the hotel from the main road is unreal.
2) No shop for at least 25mins walk into town.
3) There's no safety for the pedestrians walking into town onthe main road from the 'nutter' drivers.
4) There are two apartment blocks - an old and new one. The new block has aircon and decent lighting/bathroom and proper ring hob/oven. The old apartments had a crappy 2-ring hob only and were rusty.
5) There was no toilet roll in our room and the maid never put any in when they came to clean the room twice. Luckily we took 3 rolls and hid them to see if they would give us some.
7) The pool bar is run by paul (Geordie) whow does very limited food. Breakfast rolls (no breakfasts here on the menu), can't do toast but can do a cheese/ham toastie?? Oh, and if you see him eating his breakfast. you wont get served till he has finished his. Also, if it goes quiet he will close the pool bar around 3'ish and return around 18:30 or 20:00'ish. Cheapest beers (mythos) is 3 euros.
8) There's so many closed shops/restaurants in the town due to the Greek economy problems. Benitses used to be the main liveley town but that titles gone to Kavos now.
9) DO NOT HIRE A BIKE/QUAD FROM ANGELO'S (1st hire place on left hand side before the town square). they keep breaking down, no power - poor maintenance, no insurance, bikes are in a poor condition.
10) Taxi's are 8 euro's from the town to the hotel which is 1.5mls!
11) On your last day, to keep a room on till 20:00hrs is 20 euros. The cleaners will be there on the 20:00hrs mark to make sure your out! They did to us!
12) We never saw the pool actually be cleaned - only a liquid tippe dinto it. The water looked like it got to the point that it couldnt break down the sun lotions etc that had gone into it over time.

If you go here, you will need to hire transport as you will get bored and feel isolated. Oh - and watch the wasps - theres an unbelievable amount of them. The mozzies will get you irrespective of how many mozzie protection stuffs you have.
I could go on more but i just can't be bothered!
You've read the reviews, it's your choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mucker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked through a travel agent and paid £350 each for one week s/c however it was very last minute and all other hols and flights had gone. Didn't really know what to expect as there weren't many reviews.
However once we got to the apartments, apart from the 5-10minute (depending on how fast you go) trek up a steep hill, it was very pleasant. The rooms were basic, but I've stayed in lots of places in Greece before and Greece is pretty much basic, so we weren't disappointed as knew what to expect! Maids came twice during our one week stay, however I MUST advise to take own toilet rolls and towels, as you get one toilet roll provided during your stay and the towels are like teeny bath mats!! If you do get put on the ground floor of apartments 2, then ask if its possible to move if you like air con, as we found out, they haven't installed air con in the bottom floor yet, but everywhere else has.
The apartments are about a good 20-25minute walk into the town of Benitses, so if you do have children or do not like walking far distances then I would advise hiring a car. Myself and boyfriend hired a scooter, which allowed us to explore the island of Corfu and was great value for money.
Once in the town, it is a very chilled out place with many restaurants and not many tourists. The people of Benitses are lovely and very friendly. The weather was none stop sunshine and red hot at that, nearly 40 degrees everyday! Great place for a relaxing/ sunbathing holiday.
Would definately go back here! Not much to complain about, just note to take loo rolls and towels, and be prepared for that hill, other than that we loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greece27Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed here in July for 2 weeks, The hill the people have moaned about in recent reviews is not that bad, steep at first but then levels out. The view is spectacular to say the least, accomadation is very basic but clean. We stayed there when a foster couple were MENT to be looking after 2 teenagers, they were on the roofs! Anyway, the bar was great, Paul would help you out if he could. Breakfast was brill. The pool is amazing!

The road down to Benitses is a tad scary, but at the bottom of the hill is a bus stop, all you need to do is cross the road so yr level with the bus stop and the cost to Benitses is 1.30 Euro, better that the walk. Corfu town will cost you 1.70 single. The only real problem was the flight home, the airport is small, don't buy food in there cos it is expensive! Overall i'd give the holiday 7 out of 10

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nician16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We (myself and 2 girl friends) went to Tsaki Sea View on the 6th August for a week of relaxation, and that is exactly what we got, apart from the odd over excited child screaming, but it was peak season so you can’t get everything your way I guess!

Firstly, don't listen to the bad reviews because they are all crap! Yes Tsaki sea view apartments are basic but for a last minute deal £229 per person what do you expect, The Hilton?! Who goes on holiday and sits in there room anyway! We were lucky with our maid service, we had our beds changed twice and our bins too, but I can understand this is probably not the case for everyone! There was always hot water, and the view from our room was worth £229 alone! We didn't have much of a problem with Mosquitos but we did have repellent spray and plugin's so maybe that's why! I only got bitten twice and that was on the last night!

The only down points of the rooms would be that the kitchen area is to small and not that well equipped to actually make a meal but it was perfect for doing breakfast and lunches and also that the toilet/shower room was a bit small but as I have mentioned previously, you get what you pay for! We didn't pay for air con in the end (its 40 euros for the week and even though it was hot we all managed to sleep right through every night, and no it wasn't because of the beer/wine, well maybe 1 night it might have been :)

The resort itself is in a lovely location, the steep hill was interesting and yes there is a 20 min walk to the main town along a main road but we found as long as you walk to town before it gets dark then its fine. Most nights we got a taxi back which should cost you 8 euros, but be careful if you call up the taxi number stated on a sign in town as they will try to charge you for the driver having to come from where ever he is to pick you up, as we found out one night and cost us 16 euros! There is a bus that runs from Corfu Town to Kavos (and back again so you can go into Corfu town for the evening which is what we did) which stops in Benitses and you can jump on that about 11pm and get off at Tsaki which is only 1.70 euros!

The pool and surrounding area was always clean, as Paul (The loveable Geordie who runs the pool and bar) takes great pride in making sure everyone has a great holiday! I have read some of the reviews about Paul and clearly these people are just very over sensitive! Yes he will tell your children to stop dripping ice lolly all over the floor, or screaming in the pool but that’s probably only because you just sit there letting them ruin everyone else holiday! In our opinion he is a lovely guy, who made us laugh and served us cold beer/cider and AMAZING bacon rolls!

We loved Benitses town and enjoyed a lot of the local cuisine, one restaurant in particular was so good we went back twice! It is called Nikos Taverna and is along the sea front as you head into the main square! The Greek Salad & Tzatziki are amazing, and the Gyros are pretty awesome too! We spent a few nights drinking cocktails in O2 bar and stays open ill about 3 more or less every night. Another restaurant you should try is in Kaiser Bridge, about 10 mins from Benitses, you can sit out on a pier under the stars (and fairy lights) and eat amazing fish!

I wouldn’t say Tsaki Sea View is not child friendly as there were a few families whilst we were there with 3 and 6 year olds, and they seemed to have a great time! I would say that you would probably want to hire a car though as walking children on that road would not be fun!

We decided to hire a car for a day and drive over to the west coast. It was nice to see some of the island however be careful of the roads as they are bumpy and we ended up getting a flat tire, luckily it happened 200m from a petrol station! Be aware that you are required to cover the cost of flat tires, which we only found out when the rental company tried to get us to pay for it, after saying ‘well the tire was old’ to which I responded well then it was your responsibility to change it! But turns out they didn’t ask me to sign the contract or give them C/C details so we were not liable for anything after all! FYI don’t rent from Kerkya cars!

Overall the Tsaki Sea View is a very relaxing resort, walking distance to the main town that offers a lot of options for sunbathing, swimming, sailing, dinner, shopping and a few drinks if you fancy it! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews