We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios(Benitses)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 115
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Karina Hotel(Benitses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Art Studios(Benitses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Akim Studios(Benitses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
1
2
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
2
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We picked up a late bargain (£128 per person) for flights, transfers and accomodation and we had read previous reviews so we were not expecting 5 star luxury. What we got was a basic but clean and suitably equipped 2 bedroom apartment. The cooking facilities are typical of Greece in my experience - 2 rings/ oven / grill combo but to be honest we only ever used it to make our toast in the morning.
The towels were smallish but adequate and changed twice in the week. Our bed linen was changed once. The toilet paper thing where you only get the first roll and having to empty your own bins is something that I have come across before in Greece on a self catering basis so I was not surprised by this.
The steep climb to the hotel was not ideal and a definate no no if you had any walking difficulties but the view from our balcony was spectacular.
Paul, the Geordie barman was curteous, welcoming and polite to us from day 1 even though we are not big drinkers and spent very little time or money in the bar. The first night we were there Paul gave us a menu from the local takeaway and recommended dishes and phoned our order through. The food was as good as he said and a good alternative if you are too chilled to be bothered going out into town. In fact the only thing that upset me slightly regarding the bar was being told by another holiday maker ' I hope you dont make so much noise in the bar tonight' and then she asked some fellow travellers if we had kept them awake too! She had obviously got us confused with someone else and thankfully apart from this obnoxious creature most of the people were friendly and a very relaxed atmosphere prevailed.
The pool and surrounding area was lovely, everything seemed clean enough.
There was lots of wasps around but this was not just at the Sea View Complex, I think September must be happy days for the wasps of Corfu.
There were lots of cats around - Paul has 3 as pets but all in all probably 9 or 10 lazing around. If you dont bother them they don't come near.
The road into town distance wise is not a problem if you are fit and healthy but a bit hairy on the safety front especially in the dark. The bus service is very good and the stop is just at the foot of the hill or a taxi cost us 8 euros which had the advantage of taking you all the way to the top. We always carry torches in Greece as we usually go to quieter resorts which tend to be off the beaten track so these were handy on the 2 occassions when we did walk back in the dark.
Regarding Benitses- it seems a bit run down but we never had a bad meal in any of the tavernas. The standard in general seems high.
We went on a couple of trips booked through the Olympic rep. We did Paxos/Antipaxos and Paliostrikas both of which were very enjoyable.
We like to spend our holidays relaxing by the pool, at the beach, eating out and chilling on our balcony. We like to read, lounge in the sun, have a dip in the sea/pool, play cards and monopoly. All of these things we were able to do very enjoyably using the Sea View at Tsaki as a base. To get the most out of this holiday you probably need to hire a car and go off exploring using the Sea View as a base but as we were only there for a week we didnt bother and managed to have a fab time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazylulu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Ok. Where do i start. Yeah this hotel was very cheap and basic but with all self catering holidays i have been to, i expect a tv or even if i had to hire one as iv done before.

I travelled with my partner and our 10 1/2 month daughter. We booked last minute for a tan top up as we already had our main holiday in the june.

The rumors are true about the hill... It is a killer but gets easier. I pushed a pram up it and still made it so it aint that bad.

The bar man paul was great, very staight talking and if you do acually have a drink with him, he is a fantastic guy. His bar was open from 7.30-8am to 1-2pm then re opened at 5pm to what ever time we went to sleep.

The room is basic but you are booking a cheap 2 star holiday, you do get what you pay for. You do need to take an extra toilet roll as there not suplied.
I found it hard boiling baby bottles and food but i managed.

About the wasps, I killed so many but they are all dying off so becarful. Burning instant coffee helps to keep them away. The mosquito's had a feast on my daughter, we bought a plugin from the super market and that really helped.

At the bottom of the hill, You are litterally stranded!!!
The bus stop is at the bottom so easy to get into benitses although the 15 minute walk is not that bad. The buses are 5 past the hour. about 1.20 euro or you can buy a ticket in the town which doesnt expire. There 90 cent.

Overall a great holiday as we met some fantastic down to earth people, including an absolute psyco called Kym!!!! As for juming in the pool at 2am, singing Queen, Spice Girls and more songs out of tune, Getting her baps out, screaming 'stop strangling me' at 4am, hitting the bar man and having every illness under then sun.... Yeah, she made my holiday fun!!!!!

Paul & Lorriane - Dawn & Andrew - Mike & Gill - Martin - & Kym ..... Thanks for a great holiday xxx

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkc4be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

just back from week at tsaki, value for money,few small problems ,but the biggest problem was paul the geordie barman, we waited for this person to arrive at the bar in the morning, asked for a coffee and toast, was told i dont do anything until i have had a smoke and a coffee, but as we were new in would make a toasted cheese sandwich when he was ready, we told him we wouldnt bother. we hired a car from day one so didnt spend much time in resort,which he obviously noticed because we hadnt been to his bar. there were 2 afternoons we spent round the pool,both days the bar was closed from approx 2.30 until 8pm. on our last day we kept oiur room on until 8pm for 20euros. there was no reception only a small office. we had to sit at the bar as our flight was at 3.15am. we sat reading our books and drank some bottled water which we had in our rooms, the barman turned the lights off so we couldnt read,we asked if he could turn them on, his answer was ( you havnt spent any money in my bar so he is not going waste his electric on us, so p...ss,off and sit in the office, which only had two chairs , there were four of us ll aged between 61 and 66 years of age, we retaliated, and was told to f..k off out of his bar, as the nearest bar is 2 miles away down an unlit road we had no option but to sit in this small room, we had a great holiday, but be warned if you dont use his bar or maybe he dont like southerners.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shellbeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

As we only paid £159 incl each, we didnt expect The Ritz - however, we never expected to be so isolated (nearest shop was 25 mins walk away). Rather than type a load of waffle, I've listed the good/bad points below:

GOOD POINTS:
Great views.
Other guests were very friendly as they felt the same about the place.
The sun was very hot when it did'nt rain (rained 3 out of 7 days).

BAD POINTS:
1) Location - very isolated. The walk up to the hotel from the main road is unreal.
2) No shop for at least 25mins walk into town.
3) There's no safety for the pedestrians walking into town onthe main road from the 'nutter' drivers.
4) There are two apartment blocks - an old and new one. The new block has aircon and decent lighting/bathroom and proper ring hob/oven. The old apartments had a crappy 2-ring hob only and were rusty.
5) There was no toilet roll in our room and the maid never put any in when they came to clean the room twice. Luckily we took 3 rolls and hid them to see if they would give us some.
7) The pool bar is run by paul (Geordie) whow does very limited food. Breakfast rolls (no breakfasts here on the menu), can't do toast but can do a cheese/ham toastie?? Oh, and if you see him eating his breakfast. you wont get served till he has finished his. Also, if it goes quiet he will close the pool bar around 3'ish and return around 18:30 or 20:00'ish. Cheapest beers (mythos) is 3 euros.
8) There's so many closed shops/restaurants in the town due to the Greek economy problems. Benitses used to be the main liveley town but that titles gone to Kavos now.
9) DO NOT HIRE A BIKE/QUAD FROM ANGELO'S (1st hire place on left hand side before the town square). they keep breaking down, no power - poor maintenance, no insurance, bikes are in a poor condition.
10) Taxi's are 8 euro's from the town to the hotel which is 1.5mls!
11) On your last day, to keep a room on till 20:00hrs is 20 euros. The cleaners will be there on the 20:00hrs mark to make sure your out! They did to us!
12) We never saw the pool actually be cleaned - only a liquid tippe dinto it. The water looked like it got to the point that it couldnt break down the sun lotions etc that had gone into it over time.

If you go here, you will need to hire transport as you will get bored and feel isolated. Oh - and watch the wasps - theres an unbelievable amount of them. The mozzies will get you irrespective of how many mozzie protection stuffs you have.
I could go on more but i just can't be bothered!
You've read the reviews, it's your choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mucker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked through a travel agent and paid £350 each for one week s/c however it was very last minute and all other hols and flights had gone. Didn't really know what to expect as there weren't many reviews.
However once we got to the apartments, apart from the 5-10minute (depending on how fast you go) trek up a steep hill, it was very pleasant. The rooms were basic, but I've stayed in lots of places in Greece before and Greece is pretty much basic, so we weren't disappointed as knew what to expect! Maids came twice during our one week stay, however I MUST advise to take own toilet rolls and towels, as you get one toilet roll provided during your stay and the towels are like teeny bath mats!! If you do get put on the ground floor of apartments 2, then ask if its possible to move if you like air con, as we found out, they haven't installed air con in the bottom floor yet, but everywhere else has.
The apartments are about a good 20-25minute walk into the town of Benitses, so if you do have children or do not like walking far distances then I would advise hiring a car. Myself and boyfriend hired a scooter, which allowed us to explore the island of Corfu and was great value for money.
Once in the town, it is a very chilled out place with many restaurants and not many tourists. The people of Benitses are lovely and very friendly. The weather was none stop sunshine and red hot at that, nearly 40 degrees everyday! Great place for a relaxing/ sunbathing holiday.
Would definately go back here! Not much to complain about, just note to take loo rolls and towels, and be prepared for that hill, other than that we loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greece27Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews