We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views and very peaceful”

Review of Villa Alto Mare

Pool upper level
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach View from the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Pool upper level
The villa from Alaties Beach
View from the living room
July sunset
Teck rattin white cotton and Greek blue
Entrance
Terrace upper level
The large living room
View from the pool
Internal stairs
Summer flower and Greek blue
infinity deck
Master bedroom
View North West from terrace ground level
Outdoor relaxing siesta bed
Alaties Beach, 400 meters from the villa
Catherine's kitchen
Alaties rocks view from the terrace
Villa Alto Mare. View from the sea
Fiscardo village, 8 km from the villa, 10 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fiscardo, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janice L
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views and very peaceful”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from this magnificent villa and have had the most relaxing and peaceful holiday ever. We are a family of five with three children aged 9,11 & 13 and the most used phrase since arriving at the villa is 'when can we come again?' We are in total agreement with all the 5 star reviews and the exemplary comments. The panoramic views are stunning, the sound of waves on the shore soothing, the villa beautifully kept and Catherine (the owner) very friendly and attentive. A highlight for us was when Katerina (the maid) prepared and cooked an authentic Greek meal at the villa for us as we watched the glorious sunset! We absolutely loved Kefalonia and Villa Alto Mare and are looking forward to a return visit next year. Thank you Catherine and Katerina!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and peace and quiet
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie182
Harefield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at this stunning villa in Kefalonia. It has to be one of the best villas we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in some very nice ones) The pictures on the website are fantastic but it is not until you actually see it and you are simply lost for words! It is beautiful inside and out. It is so tastefully furnished inside and out.

The island of Kefalonia is wonderful but combined with this amazing villa we had the holiday to die for!

We were spoilt for choice where to sit and relax - inside or out! The view from the decking and patio areas outside is fantastic and on our last day we saw a beautiful sunset!

Katerina the maid came to cook for us on our last evening and that was so special and her food was delicious and a perfect end to our holiday. Recommend anyone to do the same.

None of our party of eight wanted to leave to return to the UK but we are already talking about when we will return to Villa Alto Mare and we cannot wait!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
milland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This has to be the very best Villa in Kefalonia”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The hilltop position of this villa ensures magnificent uninterrupted panoramic views seawards and to the south and north of the island. For those seeking peace tranquility and total privacy this is the place to escape to. Yet it is still only a 10 minute drive to the pretty sea side town of Fiscardo. which has wonderful tavernas and a good sized supermarket.The sun sets are unrivaled and straight out of a picture book. A car is essential. The villa is a beautiful coastal drive of about one hour from the airport. The owner Catherine is charming and has an eye for detail so the decor and ambience is rather special. Please don't tell anyone else about this villa! without a doubt its five star luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankHarr...
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous location--- unrivalled ocean views-- smart and luxurious interior”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is a very smart place and has great views. Owner very very helpful and it is a very pretty area with Fiscardo only 15 minutes away. We have stayed in many top end places in different countries and this is right up at the top.
There is only one reservation which is a property has been constructed behind Villa Altomare and if it was occupied (it hasnt been to date) you would have some of the privacy taken away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 270% views of the sea
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Birmingham
1 review
“Just stunning!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I stayed at Villa Alto Mare for week commencing 09/09/12 with my parents, brother, boyfriend and his parents. This villa is better than the photos. When you first arrive the view is just incredible. The decor inside and out is beautiful. Little Atalies beach at the bottom of the hill is perfect for swimming and snorkelling and the lady who runs the Taverna at Atalies beach is lovely! You have everything you need to enjoy a relaxing holiday close by... however if you want to explore - the north of the island is so picturesque. Don't miss out on having Katerina the maid cook a traditional Greek meal for you one evening! Such good value and really tasty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing