We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiscardo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexanna Apartments
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The owner is a lovely lady. This review is not a criticism of her. We feel very misled by the photos and information on the tour operator's website (Ionian and Aegean Holidays). Based on these we were expecting a bright and spacious apartment with modern bathroom. This is sadly not what we got at all. The bedroom was so poky I had to walk sideways to get to my side of the bed. The bed was very hard; we don't mind a hard bed but this one was also lumpy and five days after returning home I still have a pain in my hip from not being able to get comfortable and possibly also the sideways walking. Bathroom was dated and poorly lit. Just one tiny window. No modern shower or basin as per the website photo, the shower was very small with an oldish looking curtain. My husband is 6ft 5 so he had very little room to manoeuvre. He commented the light was too dim to see to shave properly. The loo didn't flush very well so it began to smell and we ended up buying a toilet freshener to make it bearable. The only reasonably comfortable seats were outside on the terrace. The two sofas in the lounge were too hard and angular to sit in for long. The floor in the kitchen area wasn't particularly clean, especially beneath the fridge door. We were led to believe from the brochure on the website and in the apartment that there would be a washing machine but saw no sign of one. The apartments are fairly isolated. I suppose you could walk into Fiscardo or Maganos: some people seem to manage this but it's a long way and hilly. Really you need to drive to most places of interest. Positives were that the air con is in both rooms and works well and the view is great although we could only really see it properly from the door to the terrace or outside. We did talk to the Rep who would have been happy to move us but apparently everywhere was full. We love Fiskardo but wish we had stayed nearer to or in the village. We've since seen apartments and studios for rent in the village that would have cost us less. Some reviewers on here seem to have stayed in something similar to the standard we were expecting. Seems they were lucky. We are just disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank auntieh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had visited Fiscardo in May and were really taken with Kefalonia and wanted to see more. We travelled with Ionian and Aegean before, and had been impressed by the quiet efficiency, so were confident in making a late booking for September. We felt we had good value for money as a hire care was included for the two weeks. We booked the Thalia in the Alexanna Apartments. To say we were amaze is an understatement. The apartment was immaculate and very, very spacious. Two outside seating areas, one a glorious balcony that caught a breath taking view and a small area at the front,in the cool shade, facing the road.
We had a separate kitchen and a big bathroom, fully tiled (and plumbing that meant there was no poo bin!!)
The Apartment had everything you needed for a self catering holiday,though we rarely ate in.
A welcome package with essentials is provided,but you will need to do a quick shop for an evening snack meal if you are too tired to explore after the journey.
The supermarkets have everything you could need.
My Hubby went for fresh bread every morning for his bread and greek honey breakfast.
There was a very clean and well appointed shared pool area with excellent modern sun beds. We did not use this more than twice because the hire car took us on man daily adventures.We found many beautiful beaches and Tavernas and were stunned by the beautiful vistas that opened up around each corner.
The walk to Fiscardo in the evening was all down hill for 2.5 miles, it was a magical experience to walk down at dusk and to see the stars come out. The walk back up is ALL up hill we managed it four times but chickened out eventually and we got a taxi back in the second week!! This was 8 euros and we often found others to share the ride when we stood in the short queue waiting for the taxis at the back of the Hrabour.
Tavernas in Maganos, up hill,but closer,were also good.
The transfers and all transport was excellent and the reps were evident but not intrusive.
The owner, Rowenna, was charming and very interesting regarding the Island and rightly proud of her ideal properties.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midweekersouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Well where do we start.. this place is excellent. The local is ideal. The beds and rooms clean and in fact spotless. Car hire is essential. The self catering welcoming pack is brilliant... nice touch and the reps are fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean spacious apartment with amazing views over Ithaca. Welcome package was just right with tea, coffee, bread and milk to get you started - even a bottle of wine. Package included a hire car, which was great value for money and definitely needed. Jean who looks after the guests for the owners is extremely kind and attentive and can answer any questions you may have. Apartments also have a pool. Great location for visiting the beautiful Fiskardo and surrounding area and the rest of the highlights of the island are worth the drive. Lovely family island with stunning coastline and the sea is beautiful. We loved our week on Kefalonia and would recommend both the island and these apartments wholeheartedly. Thanks to Ionian Holidays.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here as a family of 4 wth our 2 daughters aged 6 and 10 for a week in August in the top floor apartment, and loved it. For our second week we rented Marianthi's Villa, also great. You're about 15 minutes from Fiscardo by car and 25 minutes to Assos, both very picturesque. The small village of Maganos is a three minute drive or pleasing 20 minute walk up the hill, and has two decent minimarkets / grocers and 2 very welcoming tavernas. The apartment was immaculate, and the views across to Ithaca are simply stunning. As with most places in Greece, the accommodation is simply furnished, not huge and you might find the beds a little hard if you're not used to that. The air conditioning works a treat, the pool is really impressive (despite being August, we seemed to have it to ourselves most of the time) and the cleaning staff lovely. Wifi is decent too, if you need that. You're in the loveliest part of Kefalonia, dramatic scenery, very green and surrounded by beautiful coves and beaches. Our favourites were Alaties and Jerusalem beaches, quiet with clear waters great for snorkelling and both have lovely tavernas right on the beach. Definitely recommended, and overall good value particularly given the pool and the fantastic views.

Room Tip: Lower floors have sizeable terraces better for outdoor dining, upper floor apartments have small bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiscardo hotels
2.6 km away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
522 reviews
2.3 km away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
258 reviews
2.4 km away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
189 reviews
2.0 km away
Fiscardo Studios
Fiscardo Studios
#4 of 7 in Fiscardo
69 reviews
1.9 km away
Fiscardonna
Fiscardonna
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexanna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanna Apartments

Address: Matsukata, Fiscardo, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Fiscardo
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alexanna Apartments Hotel Fiscardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing