We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
23
14
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
14
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshire carlate bookingpool area isbeautiful islandseparate kitchenwelcome packagetwo weeksthe ownerlovely ladyself cateringsecond weekshort driveshared poolthaliarepstavernastaxi
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had visited Fiscardo in May and were really taken with Kefalonia and wanted to see more. We travelled with Ionian and Aegean before, and had been impressed by the quiet efficiency, so were confident in making a late booking for September. We felt we had good value for money as a hire care was included for the two weeks. We booked the Thalia in the Alexanna Apartments. To say we were amaze is an understatement. The apartment was immaculate and very, very spacious. Two outside seating areas, one a glorious balcony that caught a breath taking view and a small area at the front,in the cool shade, facing the road.
We had a separate kitchen and a big bathroom, fully tiled (and plumbing that meant there was no poo bin!!)
The Apartment had everything you needed for a self catering holiday,though we rarely ate in.
A welcome package with essentials is provided,but you will need to do a quick shop for an evening snack meal if you are too tired to explore after the journey.
The supermarkets have everything you could need.
My Hubby went for fresh bread every morning for his bread and greek honey breakfast.
There was a very clean and well appointed shared pool area with excellent modern sun beds. We did not use this more than twice because the hire car took us on man daily adventures.We found many beautiful beaches and Tavernas and were stunned by the beautiful vistas that opened up around each corner.
The walk to Fiscardo in the evening was all down hill for 2.5 miles, it was a magical experience to walk down at dusk and to see the stars come out. The walk back up is ALL up hill we managed it four times but chickened out eventually and we got a taxi back in the second week!! This was 8 euros and we often found others to share the ride when we stood in the short queue waiting for the taxis at the back of the Hrabour.
Tavernas in Maganos, up hill,but closer,were also good.
The transfers and all transport was excellent and the reps were evident but not intrusive.
The owner, Rowenna, was charming and very interesting regarding the Island and rightly proud of her ideal properties.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midweekersouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Well where do we start.. this place is excellent. The local is ideal. The beds and rooms clean and in fact spotless. Car hire is essential. The self catering welcoming pack is brilliant... nice touch and the reps are fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean spacious apartment with amazing views over Ithaca. Welcome package was just right with tea, coffee, bread and milk to get you started - even a bottle of wine. Package included a hire car, which was great value for money and definitely needed. Jean who looks after the guests for the owners is extremely kind and attentive and can answer any questions you may have. Apartments also have a pool. Great location for visiting the beautiful Fiskardo and surrounding area and the rest of the highlights of the island are worth the drive. Lovely family island with stunning coastline and the sea is beautiful. We loved our week on Kefalonia and would recommend both the island and these apartments wholeheartedly. Thanks to Ionian Holidays.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here as a family of 4 wth our 2 daughters aged 6 and 10 for a week in August in the top floor apartment, and loved it. For our second week we rented Marianthi's Villa, also great. You're about 15 minutes from Fiscardo by car and 25 minutes to Assos, both very picturesque. The small village of Maganos is a three minute drive or pleasing 20 minute walk up the hill, and has two decent minimarkets / grocers and 2 very welcoming tavernas. The apartment was immaculate, and the views across to Ithaca are simply stunning. As with most places in Greece, the accommodation is simply furnished, not huge and you might find the beds a little hard if you're not used to that. The air conditioning works a treat, the pool is really impressive (despite being August, we seemed to have it to ourselves most of the time) and the cleaning staff lovely. Wifi is decent too, if you need that. You're in the loveliest part of Kefalonia, dramatic scenery, very green and surrounded by beautiful coves and beaches. Our favourites were Alaties and Jerusalem beaches, quiet with clear waters great for snorkelling and both have lovely tavernas right on the beach. Definitely recommended, and overall good value particularly given the pool and the fantastic views.

Room Tip: Lower floors have sizeable terraces better for outdoor dining, upper floor apartments have small balconies but offer the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We (my partner and I) stayed at Alexanna in August 2016. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. As part of staying (as it's an Ionian Holidays resort) you get a hire car. We collected our from the airport and it was brand new and very clean. I would recommend this as some of our neighbours had an extra hour's journey on the coach.
The apartment (studio) was much bigger than it looked in the photos (Thalia)...with a completely separate kitchen. I read reviews about 'hard beds'. Our bed was fine. Every time we've been to Greece (seven times) the bed has been firm - this bed was no exception. But it certainly didn't stop up sleeping very well. It was clean and beautiful with a truly remarkable view over the sea to Ithaca.
We didn't really see many staff members (which suited us) - but George and June, who popped by a couple of times, were very accommodating and friendly. And you can opt. to go to a welcome meeting which we heard was very informative.
The pool is great - cleaned every other day. We never had to fight for a sunbed - there were always lots free and the pool only ever had one or two people in. On a couple of days we had the pool all to ourselves! We generally, hate being around other people (don't judge us)...but everyone we met was really nice and if you wanted to, you could avoid all social contact altogether!
The location is great - a 15-20 min. drive from Assos and 10-15 mins. away from Fiskardo. Both are gorgeous places and there's lots to do and see. The walk to Assos Castle is a must (before 9am because of the heat) - just take plenty of water and for the less fit of us - there are some nice places to stop along the way!
There is a supermarket nearby (3 min, drive) which sells all the basics and has lovely staff members. We would recommend you pick up a couple of essentials on your first night: extra loo roll and bin bags. The cleaners do change the loo roll once a week but, depending on your loo-going proclivities, you may require more! Bin bags are essential, as you can't flush the loo roll in Greece and the bins are open. A good idea would be to bring some of those scented sanitary bags with you - just to please the nose!
In short, this place was brilliant! We had a fantastic stay, a super holiday and were thoroughly satisfied - especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews