We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
23
14
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
14
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshire carlate bookingpool area isbeautiful islandseparate kitchenwelcome packagetwo weeksthe ownerlovely ladyself cateringsecond weekshort driveshared poolthaliarepstavernastaxi
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed at these lovely apartments at the very end of the season.
A very quiet location with wonderful views of ithaka from all the balconies.
We stayed in app clio which was clean spacious and more than adequate for our needs.the owners were lovely people and very helpful. Manganos is a 5 minute drive and fiskardo 10 minutes.
My only gripe is that a car really is essential.to walk anywhere is not too bad during daylight but after dark I would not recommend it as the roads are unlit winding and undulating.
One last tip for anyone visiting the beaches through the forests don't wear flipflops for the walk and the under 5s will find it difficult unless you're willing to carry them. The yellow brick road it's not.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Decided to go for a self catering apartment for our holiday rather than our usual all inclusive choice. We booked through Ionian and Aegean holidays and got a late minute bargain booking. The apartment ( Thalia ) was just perfect, bit dated and mattress very hard but did not distract from the holiday. So tranquil and so beautiful, the views are to die for. The room was a studio but it was huge, separate kitchen and bathroom, large lounge with double bed. Room was cleaned mid week with new towels and bed linen. It is perfectly placed for exploring the island, Fiscardo only takes 5-10 mins in the car and again is a beautiful harbour with fantastic Tavernas. A lovely welcome hamper awaited us ( milk, bread, jam, coffee etc ) and meant we didn't have to rush off to the local mini market as soon as we arrived. We would definately recommend these apartments to our family and friends and everyone staying there said they would definitely return. A real gem

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nurse1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks here at the end of July and stayed in the 'Clio' apartment. We got a great deal through voyage prive and the service from Ionian & Aegean Holidays was superb.

The apartments are simple but spotlessly clean. The 3 apartments on ground level (of which Clio is one) have large verandas, but the upper floor apartments have much smaller balconies. The kitchenette had everything we needed. There is a shared pool.

A car was included in our package and I don't think you'd manage without one. It's a short drive to Fiscardo and the nearest beach (Foki).

These apartments will provide you with everything you need for a perfect beach holiday. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hagrid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The problem with the rating scheme on trip adviser is that it's either average or very good, when I say average I mean good.

The apartments are a 1 hr 15 min journey from the airport. The roads near to the apartment and into Fiscardo are quite narrow. We stayed in the Clio apartment, which was a studio, simple/basic clean accommodation, very small shower (quite dark), I personally found the bed too hard. I can’t really comment on the kitchenette as we only used the toaster and kettle. Good size balcony with wonderful views. We didn’t use the pool. The nearest shop is in Maganos which is 5 min drive and a 20 min walk. Also in Maganos there are 2 tavernas. We ate in Ionos twice, spectacular sunsets and food was delicious. The walk back in the dark was ok. There is no question that you need a vehicle here. The nights that we weren’t eating in Maganos we drove to Fiscardo, lots of choices of restaurant/bars – very pretty harbour. When the previous reviewer says touristy Benidorm springs to mind, it's nothing like that, it's a tasteful pretty harbour that is delightful in the evening - especially watching the comings and goings of all the boats.
Nearest beach is Floki, 5 mins drive and there’s a taverna there, nice food. We explored most of the north of the island and found lots of pretty bays within driving distance to explore – great snorkelling. Recommend people pack their swimming shoes makes it easier getting in and out of the water and avoids getting spiked by sea urchins.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had an excellent one week holiday at the Alexanna Apartments at Matsukata near Fiscardo. We wanted to get away from the cold, grey British weather and Kefalonia served up wall-to-wall sunshine to order. In late June it was hot, but not too hot - in fact perfect with bougainvillia, oleanders and other exotic flowers blooming everywhere. The apartments are located on a minor road in the north of the island in a quiet, relatively non-touristy spot. Its a pleasant 15 minute stroll uphill to the nearest shops and 2 good tavernas. The taverna in the centre of the village of Maganos (it straddles the main road) was we thought better (certainly very good value) and the delightful owner very friendly and welcoming. The walk into Fiscardo is pleasant & takes about 1 hour (a bit more uphill on the way back) past the small shady beach at Foki (c 45 mins). We did not eat in Fiscardo (a picturesque port) as the restaurants were expensive and a tad touristy. But we found found good value Greek fare at tavernas within 10-15 minute drive - a hire car was provided with the apartment and this was essential. Northen Kefalonia has some spectacular scenery, the hills are heavily wooded right down to the deep blue sea. We did venture to the southern part of the island - the cpast from Skala to the unexciting capital (Argostoli) is less inviting, not so green and much more built up, but this is where the sandy beaches are located.
We stayed in the Kalliope apartment. It is on the ground floor and has a spacious terrace, shaded by a vine, overlooking the pool, with lovely views across the Ioanian Sea to Ithaca. A lovely spot to breakfast on Greek yogurt, honey & walnuts. If like us you drink filter coffee it may be an idea to bring a cafetiere (only a small one provided) and ground coffee (very expensive locally). The apartment was clean (serviced twice) and Rowena the owner welcoming and friendly. The aircon worked very efficiently and so did the wifi. The mattress was firm. Otherwise our apartment was a little basic. The tiny galley kitchen has limited facilities/equipment and no space for food preparation. This did not worry us, as we had no intention of cooking, but we would have found it limiting if we had wanted to dine in. The toilet/shower room is small, but the shower was good, with plenty of hot water. We spent a fair bit of time in the apartments, just relaxing, using the pool & reading and were pleasantly surpised to find that during the day (and indeed at night) it was a quiet, peaceful spot. While being close to other apartments, we were not disturbed by other guests or noise - no TVs or radios!
If Tripadvisor had a "good" rating that is what I would have given Alexanna, but you have to choose either very good or average. But that does not detract from the fact that, although not a luxurious apartment, we thorougly enjoyed our relaxing break on sunny Kefalonia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews