We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning villa for a peaceful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Guia, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Babs H
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning villa for a peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location for a peaceful holiday. Villa matcar is very equipped with everything you could possibly need. Great gated pool which proved to be invaluable when there is a little one running around. Table tennis was popular with the younger members of the group. Amazing views. Joe and carol very helpful with taxi-ing us around and providing local information regarding where to shop! local beaches etc. zoo marine was brilliant and you can book a second visit for 8 euros which we did.. Albuferia great place to visit. We had a brilliant time at this villa.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Villa Matcar several times now and have enjoyed every holiday. The villa is lovely and pool and grounds beautiful. The owners Joe and Carol as usual very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was perfect.

Will certainly come back again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was like we'd won the lottery!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had an absolutely amazing time at Villa Matcar! Couldn't have dreamed of a better holiday destination. The views were incredible, blissful location - no neighbours overlooking and we didn't have to worry about being too loud. Sitting around the pool in 32 degree heat with a BBQ on the go ... Nothing better! Half an hour walk to get food at night but this was no bother as it was cool by the time we went out. Best meals out we're at Ideal restaurant in Guia and Jompra which was a ten minute minibus ride with Joe - definitely recommend this place as staff were the friendliest people you could meet and food was Michelin star quality!!! Would recommend anyone with a family to visit!! We all said "WOW!" as we first arrived as the whole villa and outside is more beautiful than it looks on the photos! Joe and Carol are lovely people and made us feel special from day 1. Must must visit villa matcar! The Mayers Clan :-)

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrenr19...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we stayed here for a week at the end of august and our only regret was that we did not book for 2!!! the weather was great mid thirties the whole week we were there.the villa was fantastic with great views and the most amazing sunsets i have ever seen you really do have to see it to beleive it!! there was 9 of us altogether with ages ranging from 4 to 74,we were a bit worried before we went that it might be a bit crowded but that could not be further from the truth the villa is so well laid out that you are never in each others way.the pool area was just fantastic it has a pool table down there which we used all the time.the pool is 40ft long and a lovely temperature we spent most of our days by the pool just having lots of fun and making up our own games in there! you should try lilo racing we had a blast doing that.the fridge by the pool was a great touch aswell as there was always a nice cold beer or cider to hand if you wanted one and soft drinks for the kids of course.Joe took us into the old town a couple of times in his mini bus so we could have a meal out and this was great on both occasions that we went. he charged 20 euros to take us all there and then pick us up fantastic value Joe thanks!!! overall we all had a fantastic time here and we will be returning without fail!! one little negative was that the lounge had no air con and the mosquitos was a bit of a problem on the terrace at night so make sure you take plenty of spray!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: no air con in the lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALAN M
Chesham
1 review
“Perfect place for a great family holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our third holiday at Villa Matcar and will not be our last. The villa is perfect for our family group of 6 adults and two boisterous boys aged 12 and 10. There is plenty of room for everyone to get together or find their own space in the garden, the roof terrace (which has fabulous views and is a great place to watch the sunset), the shady verandah or the pool area. The villa, garden and pool are well-maintained and well-equipped and the owners are investing each year in updating and improving the facilities. The boys flit happily between the swimming pool, table tennis, table football and pool table - all of which were a big hit with visiting family members aged 13-19. The location is lovely - the villa is surrounded by vineyards and fields - yet close enough to a good shopping centre. Joe and Carol, the owners, are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It provided something for all the family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing