We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa Matcar with the best views on the Algarve.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Guia, Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Darrenr19...
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we stayed here for a week at the end of august and our only regret was that we did not book for 2!!! the weather was great mid thirties the whole week we were there.the villa was fantastic with great views and the most amazing sunsets i have ever seen you really do have to see it to beleive it!! there was 9 of us altogether with ages ranging from 4 to 74,we were a bit worried before we went that it might be a bit crowded but that could not be further from the truth the villa is so well laid out that you are never in each others way.the pool area was just fantastic it has a pool table down there which we used all the time.the pool is 40ft long and a lovely temperature we spent most of our days by the pool just having lots of fun and making up our own games in there! you should try lilo racing we had a blast doing that.the fridge by the pool was a great touch aswell as there was always a nice cold beer or cider to hand if you wanted one and soft drinks for the kids of course.Joe took us into the old town a couple of times in his mini bus so we could have a meal out and this was great on both occasions that we went. he charged 20 euros to take us all there and then pick us up fantastic value Joe thanks!!! overall we all had a fantastic time here and we will be returning without fail!! one little negative was that the lounge had no air con and the mosquitos was a bit of a problem on the terrace at night so make sure you take plenty of spray!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: no air con in the lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALAN M
Chesham
1 review
“Perfect place for a great family holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our third holiday at Villa Matcar and will not be our last. The villa is perfect for our family group of 6 adults and two boisterous boys aged 12 and 10. There is plenty of room for everyone to get together or find their own space in the garden, the roof terrace (which has fabulous views and is a great place to watch the sunset), the shady verandah or the pool area. The villa, garden and pool are well-maintained and well-equipped and the owners are investing each year in updating and improving the facilities. The boys flit happily between the swimming pool, table tennis, table football and pool table - all of which were a big hit with visiting family members aged 13-19. The location is lovely - the villa is surrounded by vineyards and fields - yet close enough to a good shopping centre. Joe and Carol, the owners, are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It provided something for all the family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trendywen...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in June 2011

My family and I have stayed at this villa three times and have had amazing views of the sunset, lovely well maintained gardens and pool area.
It has a large pool and barbeque area where you can relax and enjoy both daytime and evenings.
Lots of information to hand regarding places to visit in the Algarve, a holiday second to none!
Thanks to Joe and Carol

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa and Pool area are so Private
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This is the second Villa of Joe and Carols that we have stayed in and I can honestly say both times have been absolutely brilliant.

Villa Matcar is a beautiful, spacious and very well equipped Villa. We had a mixture of ages from 11 upto 82, so we had a big ticklist. The pool and table tennis table were a big hit with the youngsters as was the really big swimming pool. All the rooms are light and airy and have everything that you would need, it's like a home way from home.

It is well situated away, so peaceful but not isolated.

Joe & Carol are always on hand if needed and are fabulous hosts.

If I had the choice I would live here!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at Villa Matcar from 28th June 2012 for 2 weeks and as usual we all had a fantastic time. The Villa is very well equipped with everything that you could possiblly want or need on holiday and the pool is fantastic. The owners Joe & Carol as usual were very attentive to any requests, which were dealt with extremely quickly.

They provide an excellent service and I would recommend this villa to anyone without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and Pool Area and the area where the Villa is
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing