We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort, awesome facilities and awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome resort, awesome facilities and awesome Staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed (Feb 2005 & Sept 2010) at Dona sylvia twice and both times we have enjoyed a lot. Staff goes out of the way and is very very helpful. Rooms are spacious, neat & clean. Any facility like swimming pool, restaurants, beach etc are good & well maintained. We loved the food as well, only down side is that for Veg, the choice is little limited. But for non -veg food is awesome. Everytime we think about travelling to Goa, there is no other place that comes to our mind. My family, specially wife is so fond of dona Sylvia that we can only stay at Dona Sylvia. We love it out there. Resort's beach is beautiful and crowd is limited as it is open only for Dona Sylvia residents. We have made quite a few friends as we have visited twice in 5 years and to our surprise Manager and Chef remembered us from our first time (after gap of 5 years). We could not find any negatives although I agree it is hard to satisfy each and everybody.
Planning to visit again this September 2012...Dona sylvia here we come...

Room Tip: Choose independent cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivek1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    581
    165
    41
    18
See reviews for
484
760
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

When i looked up at trip advisor for reviews of Dona Sylvia I was a bit skeptical about staying there.It was a family holiday and since we have been to Goa a couple of times before the idea was to stay put in the resort and enjoy it .
To begin with , our pick up came on time with a nice vehicle and we had a smooth check in at the resort.A welcome with the traditional tilak on the forehead and personalised service by the front desk made us feel very welcome.
Room was also conveniently located near the beach side though a little small for a family of four.
Food for the first two nights was in the Sea Gull.They served a good platter though they could have served Mangoes instead of daily papaya, watermelon and pineapple fare but no complaints.The third day there was a group of 300 people so we were shifted to Kebabs and curries for our meals.It was equally good though a bit small.
The note worthy part was that the staff went out of the way to do things.On the second day I had a severe stomach upset and dehydration and couldnt eat a thing.The sweet girl at the restaurant called Asra personally inquired about my health and got me jeera water which is a good digestive aid.
Similarly Rajesh at the reception also went out of the way to make us feel at home.My kid enjoyed the pool amenities and sports club a lot.
Beach was walking distance and water was good except for the fact that there were oil dumps near the beach made by ferrying ships which made the beach very oily and dirty.
All in all a very relaxing and refreshing stay

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach side and having a big balcony as sitting out is good fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anita7871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our stay at the resort was peaceful. The rooms are nice and the adjoining beach is also good.The swimming pool is big and hence not overcrowded.
On the downside, the buffet breakfast and lunch we had at the hotel were sort of a let down. The À la carte options are much better.

Room Tip: Rooms Near to the beach are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bhushan_K_goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had a great time with friends and family at this resort hotel in Cavelossim, were there for the new year bash, facilities are excellent, walking distance to the beach, which, by the way was way cleaner than others we found in the rest of Goa. Resort facilities were good, breakfast excellent and the staff friendly.
Tip: Choose the sea facing rooms for a great experience.

Room Tip: Go for the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drrganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

After much deliberations & discussions,myself,wife and our toddler decided to embark on a much needed break to GOA from the maddening work & routine schedules in Mumbai.
We couldn't get other options like LEELA's,HYATT's or LALIT's as booking were either full or not available on the dates we were looking out for and hence had to zero down on Dona Sylvia Resort.
At the outset, the property looked more than welcoming but when we landed inside the room we were taken aback by the lack of basic amenities for the star property they claim to be.
The washrooms are very much outdated and the rooms are infested by ants and other insects.
As mentioned in other reviews, they could do a lot more good by refurbishing their menu especially in veg section.
We had frequent issues in reminding the Chef about the baby food(the requirement's) as the food simply was not edible.
Most of the times, the food was appalling but for the last day when we were rushing back to the airport..What a pity!!!

But of course, there are many positives like the "Kebabs and Curries" restaurant, the lovely beach nearby,soothing ambience, helpful and smiling staff,good pool & spa.

All in all, I would probably not choose this property again, if I were to re-visit Goa in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anisrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,547 reviews
1.8 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
8.1 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,047 reviews
13.5 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Sylvia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Sylvia Beach Resort

Property: Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Address: | Cavelossim Beach, Mobor, Next to Radisson Blu, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,944 - ₹ 24,851
Hotel Class:4 star — Dona Sylvia Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort is spread over 20 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the southern coast of Goa, it nestles by the soft white sands of Cavelossim beach. The Resort offers comfortable air-conditioned rooms with all modern amenities in Mediterranean style villas with balconies and open sit-outs. The Resort has excellent conference facilities, extensive options for outdoor events / theme parties and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Sylvia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Sylvia Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Beach Cavelossim
Dona Sylvia Hotel Goa
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing