We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an outstanding stay! Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What an outstanding stay! Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for a night, and wished I had stayed a lot longer! We went in with medium expectations, expecting typical Holiday Inn treatment. However, our stay turned out to be outstanding due to great location, outstanding service, great property, awesome room and good food.
The resort is located on one of the nicest beaches on Goa - very clean, wide, secluded with relatively little crowd. The property is high end, with extremely spacious gardens all around (with beautiful migratory birds), nice pool area, kids' play area, sun bathing areas, tennis facilities and several outdoor and indoor eating options. This makes it a great place to chill out and just relaaax without having to go anywhere. In spite of the secluded location, there is enough of the basic necessities available nearby, including a couple of beach shacks right outside (the one we tried was the best food we had in Goa!), some water sports on the beach, and a small market with all essentials available at the hotel door step. The lobby area is nice and airy, so you start getting great vibes as soon as you enter. Couldn't have asked for a better location or setting.
The property is aging a little bit, but upkeep was great, and everything (inside and out) was spanking clean and well maintained.
There was a lot of activity going on the property at night, including a couple of small concerts (the noise from which luckily ended before bed time). There was also a fairly full schedule of other activities all day long, which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to try out. The awesome pool and the beach were enough to keep us occupied during our stay!
Our experience with the service was very nice. The lady at check in was very hospitable and personable, and made sure we got a nice room and personally saw us off when we were leaving!

All in all, a truly fantastic stay, and I am looking forward to my next visit to this resort!

Room Tip: Sea Facing Deluxe rooms have out of this world views. However ground floor rooms may not have enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AR_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    514
    147
    63
    53
See reviews for
669
380
24
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I m going back home tomoro with my kids, husband n a nanny after spending the best five days of my life. I think this was d best decision made by me to choose the kids suite here which has a separate area in the room that accomodates a bunk bed(apt for my two sons, 2 n 4 yrs age) and their own tv, tatasky n DVD player. Take lot of cartoon CDs with u if u hav kids as doremon which is quite famous with kids is missing here. Activity room for kids need major upgradation n I expect few women staff to take care of kids. I had nanny with me so didn't bother me much. Few ppl hu made this vacation so special were from room service n food n beverages. Basant,George,prakash, Praveen,Rishi,Manoj,Allistor-U were amazing! M impressed:) I m coming again sooon. Not to miss Navjot n Gabby from casino. Guys u were d best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellwisher prat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to this hotel in December for a wedding. There were around 100 of us at the time and check-ins were over different times and over 2 days. Even though the hotel knew this, they were still reluctant to assist with preparing rooms earlier and had to be told every step of the way of what needed to be done.

Once everyone was there, service was the main problem. I do not think they were equipped to cope with the demand of a large group adding to a completely fully booked hotel. Couple this with their relaxed attitude to nearly everything - it is a recipe for disaster.

There is absolutely no poolside drinks service. Loads of workers walking around cutting the lawn, watering plants, carrying towels etc but the no drinks service at all. Room service was terrible too. We wanted to order food nearly every night after partying and on most occasions the food was either finished or the chef did not want to cook it. We had to keep calling the operator to connect us to the hotel manager and then when he finally picked up the phone it turned out that he was sitting in the kitchen anyway and said the food would be with us in an hour! When it came the chips were cold, the burger stodgy and the sandwiches messy.

One thing that was good was the breakfast. A good spread was put out with a fresh dosa and omelette station. There is always something different but avoid the cucumber - it was very bad and sour.

Another plus was the beach. A private and very clean beach was almost perfect - ignoring the lifeguards that didn't do much, the rest of the area was nice. Watersports are organised independently of the hotel and it is always a good idea to haggle. We got a banana boat ride for 5 people with 4 "dips" (thrown off the boat) for 125 rupees. The guy started by asking for 300 rupees per person for 1 drop.

Our room was fairly good. The air conditioning was temperamental and the safe kept locking itself. Bathroom was good but you need to hassle them to come and clean your room if you are a late sleeper.

The lobby bar is a great place to watch football, however if your drinks order is too complicated the bar man will get confused and flustered and walk off. It took us 15 minutes to get 2 beers, a lemonade and a whiskey with a packet of cigs. Madness! They need to employ a proper barman to run the bar on match nights.

I think if they gave the hotel a lick of paint and some much needed attention, it could improve its reputation. They do however definitely need more service staff or a proper manager to whip their team into shape.

Room Tip: The villa rooms are too far from the pool and the beach. Ask for a room near the sauna and gym area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikeshashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Resort Goa, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear nikeshashar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed our beach, and liked our breakfast. The poor service you described during your stay is not a common occurrence at our hotel. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing, and we appreciate your honest feedback. Your comments are of great importance to us, and allow us to monitor, and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from this resort and hotel where we found everything we wanted. Staff are brilliant and treat everyone the same. Will definitely be going back next year. Many people we spoke too are returners and I believe this speak volumes for the high standards. The grounds are highly maintained and it's easy to walk about without sandals. The accommodation is slightly dated however this was not a problem as everything is well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have many good things to say about this hotel. Two friends and I stayed 6 nights in early January. The staff is so very accomodating. The buffet food and the specialty restaurants are also good. Go for the "sizzler" they offer every Wednesday night. You pay about $10 extra a person but get a great steak out by the beautiful pool! The beach is amazing and large and very swimable. The grounds are upkept well. Our only complaint is that they hardly came around at all at the pool or the beach asking if you wanted a drink. Usually at resorts like this they are all over...but you have to walk up to the bar most of the time to order, which actually is no big deal. We jet skiied. We did the banana boat. And not to be missed (which the hotel booked for us) is the Dunshagar Water Falls trip in Jeeps and the elephant ride. We also went in town with a driver frm the hotel each day (jospeh) to the little Catholic Church for Mass--Holy Cross Church in Cavelossim. Great place, great priests, great people. This is why we came to Goa...because it is so very Catholic. be sure to go into Old Goa one day to see all the Churches there. Very moving to See St, Francis Xavier's tomb. The Indians in this part of Goa love him as much as they love MOther Teresa in Calcutta. I higly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeasPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.1 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,220 reviews
34.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,960 reviews
39.4 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
6.0 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Goa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Address: Mobor Beach | South Goa, Cavelossim 403731, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavelossim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Spa Hotel in Cavelossim
#4 Business Hotel in Cavelossim
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,749 - ₹ 18,282
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque Mobor beach in South Goa with direct beach access. The Holiday Inn Resort Goa offers hotel accommodation that is a unique blend of traditional Goan and contemporary architecture. Situated 45 minutes away from the Dabolim International Airport and just 17km from the Margao Railway Station the resort is ideally located for a relaxing and fun filled Vacation in Goa. Our 203 rooms and suites offer comfort and serenity combined with modern amenities with an option of a garden view pool view or sea view with attached balconies. When travelling for a family retreat take advantage of the game room kids playground and activity zone or just unwind at the outdoor pool and revitalize at the Spa Villa offering multiple ayurvedic treatments.Experience a choice of Indian and International cuisines at Mardi Gras Our 24 hour Coffee shop. Rediscover the ethnic flavors of the Far East at the exquisite Whispers of the Orient or try out our wood fired pizzas at the Mediterranean restaurant Fig and Olive. The lobby level bar Sun Downer offers a relaxing view of the Goan sunset or have an exciting evening at our beach side restaurant Beach Grill offering a huge selection of freshly caught fish cooked to perfection. Organize your special wedding day, corporate retreats or productive meetings at the Holiday Inn Resort Goa, offering the largest ballroom at 5065 sq ft and able to accommodate up to 800 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotel.de, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Hotel Cavelossim
Holiday Inn Goa
Holiday Inn Cavelossim
Cavelossim Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Goa
Goa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing