We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”
Review of Casa de Cris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Cris
Ranked #1 of 11 Cavelossim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

we booked this for two nights, so that we could have a look south, while staying in candolim..
we choose here after looking at lots of reviews on ta
the rooms are large comfortable, good beds, nice big bathroom, all air conn controlls at the bedside.best of all your own safety deposit box in tne room !
It is an ideal situation for eating places and shops
breakfast is taken across the road at mikes place,
excellent value at 2,500 a night

Room Tip: they all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cariad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our first time to Goa and as always we researched places to stay before we booked. Casa de Cris already had great reviews on Trip Advisor, and it certainly deserves these.

We booked almost 10 months in advance and were a bit wary that we hadn't been asked to leave a deposit, but all emails were quickly replied to by James. No problems at all - just pay in full on arrival or a day or two into the holiday (or I guess at the end would also be ok.)

We arrived at Casa de Cris at 4.30am after a bit of a crazy taxi drive from the airport (the taxi drivers think they are in formula 1.) Tony was there with a big smile to greet us and quickly registered us and carried our bags to the room. The room was big and airy, very clean, simply decorated, satellite TV, new kettle, air conditioning (free) and ceiling fan. The bathroom is also big and is basically a wet room with toilet and shower. The bed is large although a little bit too firm for us but we were told by others this is normal in Goa. The room was cleaned daily, fresh towels and bedding changed reguarly.

Casa de Cris is in a really good location and we always worry about noise at night, but it is really quiet apart from the car/bike/bus horns that start at about 6am. However, these apply whether you are in any of the 5 star hotels too, and Casa de Cris is not actually on the main road unlike them.

To be honest we didn't make it to Mike's for breakfast very much (hungover quite a lot) but the staff there were very friendly and the food is fairly simple but nice - toast/eggs/juice/coffee. We weren't sure from previous reviews how far Casa de Cris was from Mike's but it is simply next door - 20ft away.

We spent almost everyday at the 2 beach bars / restaraunts that the family have - Cafe Beach Hut and Mike's place. The beach is around 10 minutes walk from Casa de Cris to the main area (around Cafe Beach Hut) and then about another 20-25 minutes walk to Mike's Place on a nice flat stretch of beach. We made the walk to Mike's just about every day BUT there is a free jeep from Casa de Cris to either of the 2 places, and then they will call it when you want to return. We loved it at Mike's Place on the beach - all of the staff were great and the food is fantastic - superb value for money. We would often then stroll down to the Beach Hut for a sundowner or 2 - a great place to see the sun disappear into the sea. Also great staff and a wonderfull atmosphere.

All in all an excellent choice whether this is your first time in Goa or you have been before and just want a nice quality place to stay.

Thanks to everyone who helped us enjoy our time so much - including 'The Policeman' - the security guard that we had fun with on a night but didn't catch his name!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank wardy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have done 5* and we have done budget and with Casa de Cris you get 5* service at budget prices.
Great service and friendly faces from the cleaners to the very dedicated Manager Tony. They all went out of there way to make us welcome.
Fabulous breakfast at Mikes Place sets you up for the day and you can catch the jeep to the beach if your legs are not so good.
The rooms at Casa are airy and clean with free A/C and TV with good sports channels.
I cannot say enough about the boys at Mikes Place and at the beach shacks affiliated with Casa de Cris . So friendly and genuine they made our holiday.
We will be back .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JESSY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A very beautiful place with big rooms, nice bedding and a big bathroom.
No pool but the James(the owner) is planning to put in few Jacuzzi this year.

And the best part is, its next to Mike's Place for delicious food, Watsons store for your daily needs and few minute walk from the beach. There are 3 Scooter rental guys near the Hotel.

They have Day out Crab/fishing trips, Boat cruise to spot Dolphins.

Both James and Mike are wonderful host and go out of way to help organise trips.
Ask then for Alvis number for your taxi in Goa.

Room Tip: As for a room near the gate on the 1st/2nd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Casa de Cris just before Easter, just as the season was coming to an end. Both the property and the rest of Cavelossim was quiet as a result.
I had booked the accomodation by e-mail from the UK as we were travelling independently. We arrived on the train from Mumbai and after a short auto-rickshaw ride, we arrived at Casa de Cris to be met by Brenda, the extremely friendly, polite and helpful receptionist. Brenda was expecting us and greeted us by our names. A quick call to Tony, and Tony came and showed us to our room, on the top floor. Very bright, spacious and clean. The bed was huge and worthy of a 5* hotel. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and clean towels provided. There is no swimming pool, but as other reviewers note, a short ten minute stroll and you will be on the beach sitting at a shack enjoying a cold Kingfisher. We had breakfast every morning at Mike's Place, over the road. A simple breakfast of toast, coffee and eggs (included in the room price). Casa de Cris is centrally located in Cavelossim, and it is a short walk to visit the other bars, restaurants and stalls nearby. We have visited North Goa previously, and we both agreed that it was the best accomodation we had stayed in, although South Goa is noticeably more expensive. If you like to be more independent and want to stay in a very resonably priced hotel, that is both very clean and welcoming, then I would recommend this to you. There are not many places in India that don't charge extra for fridges, air conditioning and room safes - an added bonus. And what a joy to stay at a hotel that gives you a fridge to put your own beer in! Don't be afraid of exploring - the bus at the end of the road will take you in either direction. Buses are cheap and a good way of meeting the locals. If you want to try Goa but are a little afraid of what to expect, Casa de Cris will provide you everything you need, and also provide you with more of an interaction with India than if you stay in some posh complex. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Take a bottle opener and cork screw for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SurreyStevieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.3 km away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
920 reviews
1.8 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,572 reviews
2.6 km away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
3.6 km away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Cris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Cris

Address: Mobor Beach, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cavelossim
Price Range: ₹ 2,328 - ₹ 8,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa de Cris 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, OYO Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Cris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Cris Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing