We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not to be missed”
other travellers have booked this property
Family villa, sleeps 8, own pool, NOT OVERLOOKED - walk to shops and beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family villa, sleeps 8, own pool, NOT OVERLOOKED - walk to shops and beach
Impressive private gated drive and private parking Plenty of space around this villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Family villa, sleeps 8, own pool, NOT OVERLOOKED - walk to shops and beach
Impressive private gated drive and private parking
Plenty of space around this villa
Good place to watch the kids play in the pool
Outside eating area is fully shaded
Living room doors opens directly to patio/pool terrace
All bedrooms have private balconies
3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 bedroom downstairs, 2 bathrooms
Local village taverna just 12 minutes walk - best in the area!
Safe and sandy Blue Flag beach at nearby Almyrida Bay
Almyrida harbour a good place for boat trips & snorkling
Good nightlife and excellent restaurants stay open late
One of the 12 great restaurants in Almyrida
Wide patio and pool area - 'our mountain' in the background
Looking over the pool
View from master bedroom balcony
The White Mountains, from bedroom balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen H
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Restricted Air Conditioning System”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in June 2016

This is a nice villa, but a major problem for us was the air conditioning. All the units had timers on them so that you could not have AC on for more than 2 hours. This is no good on the very hot nights we had. The villa is advertised as having AC but this is a bit misleading if you expect to be able to use it in the bedrooms at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2017
Hello Helen and thank you for your comments. However, you didn't mention the powerful ceiling fans in every bedroom and in the living room! These are not on timers, and provide a variable 3-speed cooling downdraft which 95% of our customers are happy with even in the hottest months. We introduced the aircon timers as part of our responsible eco-friendly philosophy. You can use the aircon units at night as long as you wish, there is no restriction on how many times you can operate them. Most people set the aircon before they go to sleep and use the fans on full power overnight which then recirculates the cool air. This has the advantage of avoiding the BIG problem with airconditioning i.e. waking up suffering from an uncomortably dry nose and throat - this is a common complaint if the aircon is used without a break overnight (you will find some holiday establishments in Greece will shut off the aircon entirely in the early hours and you have no control whatsoever - unlike ours). We pride ourselves giving our guests the ability to mix and max aircon with ceiling fans for a more flexible and individual approach to comfortable ventillation. Our mix of aircon and ceiling fans works for 95 % of our customers, the majority of whom return year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0hnkiely
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Was there 1st week Oct really warm still - so the pool was very handy, there are 4 double bedrooms all with their own terrace to sit out on and admire the mountains or the coast. The villa was extremely well equipment with plenty of plates, cups etc (especially wine glasses!). Each room had air con and there were two bathrooms as well as a washing machine which is very handy. The BBQ was bult in and there was lots of chairs and pool side recliners. The local village which is showcase for tour buses is a 10/15 min walk away and is beautiful, with great eating out in the taverns there. Also the lovely beach resort Almirida is only minutes by car, it has some brilliant eating places as well. The food was excellent and great value and the locals are extremely friendly. What more can I say, go and enjoy this villa in the OLive grove (they have 4 villas there) the price and location are superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of the a/com
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
We have a 4 1/2 acre olive grove on which we have built 4 four bedroomed villas each with private pool. The villas are 60-80m apart for privacy and we welcome large groups for weddings etc who can rent out all 4 villas for groups up to 32.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 May 2015
We are delighted when guests recognise how important our local friends are in making the area such a wonderful place to stay. They really add to the enjoyment of the location
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h20poloki...
Leicester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday in Near Perfect Surroundings”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful, well equipped villa set in peaceful surroundings, ideal for a relaxing holiday for couples or families. We were looking for privacy, peace and quiet and that is what we got - almost. We have long since given up hotels, with their noisy activities around the swimming pool, insufficient sunbeds and set meal times. We much prefer the flexibility and seclusion that villas offer, although this is not always guaranteed. Villa Asteria, from the advertisement, seemed to offer exactly what we were looking for and we were not too disappointed. There was a family with teenagers staying in one of the adjacent properties, however, so the quiet was often shattered by the screams of delight from the children as they played in their swimming pool and with less olive trees between the properties than we had been expecting, our pools were quite exposed to each other. The other major disappointment was the distance to the village of Gavalachorie, (with its small supermarket and a couple of nice restaurants) which we thought would be a 10 minute stroll but turned out to be nearer 20-25 mins for us (both well into our 60s), particularly the return leg which was uphill all the way! We never attempted the walk into Almyrida (very safe beach, larger supermarkets and choice of restaurants, chemist, baker and ATMs) as this was a very steep climb back and again would have taken us twice as long as was suggested. A car is therefore essential, although the road to the village and into Almyrida is very narrow and with sharp bends. Access and egress to/from the villa was a bit hairy too as you have to shut the gate every time (in case the sheep invade!) which means parking the car on a bend.The WiFi worked very well - once we found the router which was hidden on the wall behind the sofa.
These issues apart, we were more than happy with the villa and, never fond of air-conditioning, were grateful for the ceiling fans throughout the property. We did find the bed somewhat hard but many people prefer this so not a major problem. We were unfortunate with the weather on a few days and when it did rain, everywhere outside was covered in sand carried over from the Sahara, something which we were told happens a couple of times a year. This left the swimming pool surrounds and the outside dining area very slippery and filthy until the pool area was cleaned each Saturday. We felt that the pool could do with cleaning more often as it soon became full of leaves from the surrounding olive trees.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks at Villa Asteria and would happily recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and easy access to town & beach (by car)
Liked least: Pool area a bit exposed and difficult walk to town for elderly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location but car essential for the steep walk back to the villa”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This area is outstanding and would definitely return to it as unable to fault the surrounding amenities however the steep uphill distance from these amenities which was not mentioned on the particulars rather spoilt the experience overall. A car was very necessary for this property but not stated.
The villa was not ready on arrival at 4 pm the upstairs bathroom was smelly and not properly cleaned plus only one bed made up instead of two as requested. However on departure we felt under pressure from 15 minutes before the leaving time although we had not had sheeting for the first two days of our stay and had left the villa exactly as we found it not having used anything at all in the rather dated kitchen.
We were made to feel particularly unwelcome even outside by the arguing cleaning staff whilst we waitied for our airport taxi which was over an hour late due to language difficulties and the driver being unable to locate the remote villa.and would not return to this particular villa even with a car for that sole reason.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views
Liked least: The very steep climb back to the villa from both directions
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
We are sorry to hear about this guest's problems.This is the first negative response we have had about the cleanliness of the villa. On the contrary we normally receive great reviews about the cleaning staff and the cleanliness of the villa. There should have been 2 beds made up and we are sorry that this was not done. The local staff do get a pre-arrival report about which beds should be made up so we will look into why it was not followed this time and ensure this does not happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing