We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespectful owner & dirty. Nightmare!”
Review of Afrika Pearl & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been traveling a lot and have been staying at many hotels but this stay was just a nightmare. The French owner Gilles is very rude to guest who are not French and also very disrespectful to his own staff. I complained about the internet several times since it’s very very poor, even in the common areas. I was not the only one who had that problem. He said “it’s Africa” in a very rude way and when I said that he didn’t have to be rude he EXPLODED! He screamed and spit on me! I was crying the whole morning. One of the staff called Dennis had to calm down the manager because of his yelling and misbehavior. I have never received a worse treatment in my life! And how disrespectful and rude he is to his staff can explain why the staff don’t smile or are slow because of very poor management.

It’s dirty and the towels and sheets are discusting. Did I mentioned the dinner? A mess and overpriced!

I pre-booked this place for five nights, I left after the 1st. The hotel is located nice but it’s definitely not a 4 star hotel. There are absolutely much better hotels and more affordable at Diani for example Hotel Jacaranda which is a lovely 4 star hotel where the cleanliness & staff are amazing!

So please AVOID this hotel if you aren’t French. But I would recommend another accommodation for them as well!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrika P, Guest Relations Manager at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,
First and foremost would like to thank you for your review that you have put across.
but we would like to inform that during your stay with us the hotel was full and we can prove that all guests were happy and as per your big concern about the internet, all guests we asked and all could access it.
e remember , the owner as you mentioned was so kind and helpful to you from the very first day. and he tried to explain to you, may be the problem come from your phone settings thus why you cant log in. He the owner also insisted if any time you would like to perform your duties, you would he helped with the hotel laptop so that you will be always capable of doing your job but you are the one who refused. again in the night at 1 am.. you went to the reception and you were so arrogant to our security man , still complaining for the internet, and being witnessed doing some drama, throwing away some pillows at the reception waiting area. we have never seen that happening and it was a big shock to us. u never stopped there, again the following morning, during breakfast ,every body was enjoying the buffet break fast as it is self service and you came asking our service team to bring for you your breakfast at elsewhere apart from where every body was. i think you were not so special than any other guest to be served like a queen rather you could enjoy your breakfast like every client was.
saying the owner was disrespectful to the staff, i could imagine you are the one who didn't respect the staff and you wanted to treat them like they are slaves.
that morning the owner tried the maximum he could but we can confirm that you are difficult. he never spit on you rather he just told you should stop the drama and if you feel you are uncomfortable then there is no choice rather than you leave the place.
we regret that you did not not like our place and compare it with other hotel but would be frank that most of the clients we host them are always happy and always come back. we are very disappointed and am sure if this is how you behave, no one will bind with your character and not the people having problem rather its you who have a big problem.
thank you comment and hope next time you wont behave the same and will respect other people.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

The location is very good.
The room No.19 we were given is dark and and with a musty smell. The bathroom
has no doors! The toilet is basically in the bedroom. Very uncomfortable, gently speaking, if you share the room. I complained to the manager but he couldn't change it.
Restaurant: staff very unprofessional, few examples below:
1) First day: Waitress spitting some seeds during taking orders (a woman with her hair in plaits - avoid her if you can!)
2) Once we were given only one menu card, when I asked for the second one the waiter asked "Can't you share it?"...
3) Once I ordered chips with coleslaw, received only chips and said that coleslaw was missing the waiter goes: "Do you need it" ... :-)
4)Please note that if you order tomato salad you'll get only sliced tomato, nothing else and you wait ages for it.
During breakfast buffet, food was not covered and all flies and other small insects were injoying it together with the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks and we were able to relax completely from the first moment on. It offers a quite and private atmosphere to you completed by the very sympahtic staff who deliver an excellent service all around.
One of the most dicisive points for me is that it has a manageable size, not too big as other ones. That´s the reason why we felt that comfortable as we did and the direct location at the sea makes you feel like in paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guestgO1091QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Great property, amazing staff, cool services. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and unwind whether on business on leisure trip. The services are amazing and facilities out of this world.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robinsonr490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Good location, good place, good staff but some improvements to be made about the pricing policy. Sometimes you should better rent excursions outside rather than with the hotel reception. But it’s a nice place

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I5333IFguestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilles M, Front Office Manager at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Excursions done by beach boys are cheaper but they may not be secure, may not be able to guarantee refunds in case guests cancellation and they may be of low quality. On the other hand different companies have different prices due to different facilities and services offered. Its entirely at the guest discretion to choose where, with who and how much they wish to spend and how they want it done.
Kind regards,
Dennis Mwangala
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
9.5 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.6 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
8.7 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
620 reviews
4.0 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
7.6 km away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrika Pearl & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrika Pearl & Spa

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,420 - ₹ 19,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrika Pearl & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your Afrika Pearl & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing