We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
364
109
23
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
109
23
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach cottage forest view main building talcum powder incredible beach indian ocean ali barbour's cave seafood sea breeze spent two nights crab following morning octopus beach boys prawns white beach standard room
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Magical place! I had a room with a private beach which is definitely worth the extra money, fabulous views of the beach which itself is safe for a nice long afternoon walk or an early morning jog. The staff is superfriendly without overdoing it and the restaurant is absolutely fabulous. For a seafoodlover it is heaven. Spa is good and very affordable and the rooms are cozy and charming. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank harrie123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comments on Trip advisor! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Right from the check in moment, where we were warmly received, to the end of our stay, we had a brilliant time at The Sands. It is a brilliant boutique hotel and that ensures the attention to detail and service levels are excellent. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The dining experience was fantastic and the restaurant is located right at the beach. Overall, a great experience and definitely lucky to have discovered this gem!

Room Tip: The cottages at the beach are beautiful. However, any room works as you hardly spend any time indoors.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank maryvn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this great review!! Asante sana!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We loved our eight night stay at The Sands. Diani Beach isn't the obvious choice for a beach holiday but more of an add on to a safari but it's a destination in itself.

The beach cottages are a few steps from the beach and close to the main restaurant. The staff and food are delightful and we didn't even leave the hotel.

The beach boys are fine and not a problem. We always smiled and said hello and there was never a problem.

Don't miss out - book now!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doglovers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comment! We are looking forward to welcome you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I made the reservation in April 2017 while I was in Abu Dhabi and the communication Admin Manager Rosaria and Susan in Marketing were efficient and professional.

When I arrived, everything was already set as per my requests. Check-in was quick. I was told everything I needed to know about laundry, dining, room service among other things and was left alone to enjoy my stay.

Yes there will be requests to buy things when you step on the beach. They can be persistent but are harmless and no one is going to force you to respond or do anything you don’t want to do.

Let us remember that we are not just guests of the hotel, we are also guests in the country and the people we are calling hawkers and beach boys are citizens. They live there, whereas we are just visiting.

The only thing you have to be careful about is the Beach Cottage, because once you have stayed in the Beach Cottage you will always want the Beach Cottage. The privacy, the location and the fact that when you walk out the first thing you see is beach..this is what I imagined and this was what I got.

Room Tip: Beach Cottage. The privacy, the location and the fact that when you walk out the first thing you see is beach.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShandaMcyanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay in The Sands at Nomad ! I cant agree more with you and your review! Please let us know when you wish to return!!
Until then we wish you all the Best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We spent a beautiful three week family vacation of five living in a wonderful beach cottage and one forest view room. The Sands at Nomad is located at the center of Diani beach the most beautiful beach of east Africa. Rainforest plants and century old Baobab trees suround the hotel in all directions. There is a spirit of environmental protection and care( we witnessed a green sea turtle hatching!!!) directly in front of the hotel. The casualy stylish Nomad restaurant features a high quality menu witch ranges from kenyan to pizza, sushi and catch of the day seafood.
The combination of attention to detail and spirit of kindeness of the entire staff made this vacation an unforgettable experience.
The Sands has a place in our heart and we will be certain to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenHildemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for this great review! We are always very pleased when our guests have enjoyed their holidays! Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews