We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over -rated, not worth the pricing, prejudiced”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We chose this hotel from all the reviews and indeed the price tag made us think that it was going to be an out-of-this world kind of experience.

The good parts: the restaurant - the Nomad at the Sands. Very wide and interesting menu, well presented and very tasty. indeed the chef is top notch, the location on the beach is magical. However they need to think through guest experiences at different times. In the evening or at night the restaurant is perfect as the sea breeze cools the sitting area adequately. The heat is felt in the morning at breakfast and at lunch time when the sun is overhead, the canvas roofing of the restaurant combined with no fans, make it an oven. So decide for yourself, super great meal in an oven!

The accommodation: we expected magic. Having eaten several dinners at their restaurant, we booked a stay expecting the same attention to detail from the menu to the rooms. We were disappointed.

Other factors that made us select the hotel were WIFI, natural forest setting (an Eco feel), and a stunning social media presence, elegant logo, pictures etc.

Truth is the rooms are dark and not well ventilated, so one has to constantly use air-Conditioning and lighting. Opening the door to the balcony to bring in light and fresh air means contending with the mosquitos and staff or other guests peaking as they passing. Of course this might not be the case with the beach view cottages, so check for yourself.

There is no bottled water yet there is a clear sign that tap water is not safe to drink. We felt that for the amount of money they charge even on their basic rooms, the could at least provide a small bottle of water. note there is no shop on site where you can buy basics, one has to order room service. water is USD2.5 They however re-fill a glass bottle in the bathroom for brushing teeth.

The hotel should probably clarify that there is no wifi in room so working guests will not get as frustrated as we were.

Their staff (maintenance staff)barge into the rooms unannounced and we did raise this twice with the reception. This is totally unacceptable. happened to me and even after complaining to the reception, it also happened to my friend in another room.

What really left a bad taste in the mouth, is that they had a 'managers' cocktail' on the Friday we were in the hotel. my friend got a personal invite in her room, while i was totally ignored. So we wondered did they select attendees based on nationalities or skin colour ?

It is worth noting that on check -in we were advised the general manager would welcome us, but this was not to be. But on the various days, we were there, we did see the GM personally welcoming foreign guests. Thus our conclusion, is that service could be based on other factors and not the cash you pay at the hotel.

Room Tip: corner rooms or beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4by4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guests, thank you for taking the time to write this review! We feel very sorry, that we could not meet your expectations during your stay. Wifi works in the entire hotel, Water for brushing your teeth is provided daily to every room (the glass bottle in the bathroom with the Masai beeds??) The invitation to the Managers cocktail had been delivered to your room a day before the event! I as the GM do welcome our guets when I am around and available, sometimes I am unfortunately committed with some other obligations. Appologies that I missed you upon arrival!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Magical place! I had a room with a private beach which is definitely worth the extra money, fabulous views of the beach which itself is safe for a nice long afternoon walk or an early morning jog. The staff is superfriendly without overdoing it and the restaurant is absolutely fabulous. For a seafoodlover it is heaven. Spa is good and very affordable and the rooms are cozy and charming. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank harrie123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comments on Trip advisor! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Right from the check in moment, where we were warmly received, to the end of our stay, we had a brilliant time at The Sands. It is a brilliant boutique hotel and that ensures the attention to detail and service levels are excellent. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The dining experience was fantastic and the restaurant is located right at the beach. Overall, a great experience and definitely lucky to have discovered this gem!

Room Tip: The cottages at the beach are beautiful. However, any room works as you hardly spend any time indoor...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank maryvn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this great review!! Asante sana!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We loved our eight night stay at The Sands. Diani Beach isn't the obvious choice for a beach holiday but more of an add on to a safari but it's a destination in itself.

The beach cottages are a few steps from the beach and close to the main restaurant. The staff and food are delightful and we didn't even leave the hotel.

The beach boys are fine and not a problem. We always smiled and said hello and there was never a problem.

Don't miss out - book now!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doglovers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comment! We are looking forward to welcome you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I made the reservation in April 2017 while I was in Abu Dhabi and the communication Admin Manager Rosaria and Susan in Marketing were efficient and professional.

When I arrived, everything was already set as per my requests. Check-in was quick. I was told everything I needed to know about laundry, dining, room service among other things and was left alone to enjoy my stay.

Yes there will be requests to buy things when you step on the beach. They can be persistent but are harmless and no one is going to force you to respond or do anything you don’t want to do.

Let us remember that we are not just guests of the hotel, we are also guests in the country and the people we are calling hawkers and beach boys are citizens. They live there, whereas we are just visiting.

The only thing you have to be careful about is the Beach Cottage, because once you have stayed in the Beach Cottage you will always want the Beach Cottage. The privacy, the location and the fact that when you walk out the first thing you see is beach..this is what I imagined and this was what I got.

Room Tip: Beach Cottage. The privacy, the location and the fact that when you walk out the first thing you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShandaMcyanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay in The Sands at Nomad ! I cant agree more with you and your review! Please let us know when you wish to return!!
Until then we wish you all the Best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
7.2 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
2.4 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
0.7 km away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
13.3 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
581 reviews
6.3 km away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,274 - ₹ 35,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing