We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly place ”
Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We have been stayed 1 week in this hotel . I should say it was really nice place :
People from the restaurant they are really friendly and care after you specially Charles and the lady from Belgium who she s managing this restaurant perfectly.
The food is also .
Rama from the reception is really nice personand really realable also.
Thank for Benson as well who is able to speak several languages.
For sur we will come back because in this hotel we really feel we are at home .
Don't forget the beach it is amazing beach.
Thank everyone for this atmosphere from your ❤️.
Love you all

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lud2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thnak you very much for your review!We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

When you arrive at the Nomad you are instantly blown away by the view of the beach from reception. White sands and the bluest sea as far as you can see, you just don't expect it to be everything it is in the pictures but it really is - even better, too.

The people at the Nomad are also some of the most hospitable, kindest members of staff I've ever come across. They bend of backwards for you, and at first being the cynical Brits we are, we just assumed it was for tips, but you soon come to learn it's something that's barely even crossed their mind. When you do tip them they are SO surprised and grateful.

THE FOOD - at both The Nomad's public restaurant and private fine dining restaurant is incredible. Such a wide variety on offer, but all completely perfected. You could eat something different every night and never be disappointed with you choice - and the same goes for the wine list too.

Yes, the beach boys can be a nuisance, but don't be put off walking along the beach, you only need to tell them sternly once and they'll leave you be, and remember not to bother you again.

It's so peaceful and quiet, not overrun with tourists at all.

Absolutely recommend booking an evening at Ali Barbour's Cave - one of the best meals and experiences of our lives.

Definitely also book a massage in the spa, really good value for money and such a treat on a cloudy day.

Honestly, don't think twice. This place is incredible and there is so much to see.

Room Tip: Absolutely stretch to book a sea front cottage, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you so much for your exceptional review! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us here in Diani Beach! We hope, that we be able to welcome you back soon!! All the Best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel's best feature is its location next to the beach. The Diani beach offers soft sands. The beach is a common beach and so is not free from people selling local made trinkets or trying to get you to book boat trips or take camel rides.

The rooms would generally not be satisfactory. They are quite old. The bathrooms could definitely use some refurbishment. The breakfast areas on one hand offer lovely views of the beach but on the other hand spoils the experience due to all the flies swarming around your plate.

The food quality at the restaurant is very average and the service is very slow.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnikaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! In Kenya all Beaches are public, but we have a code of conduct agreement with our responsible beach operators in front of our hotel, to treat our guests friendly and respect their privacy. Other parts of the beach are not included in this code of conduct, as there are other operators involved! Our restaurant is on open air restaurant and thereore it can happen (depending of the season) to find insects -like flies-coming to the restaurant. This is unfortunately not avaiodable, but is not happening on a regular basis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

My stay at the Sands was disappointing because I was expecting a true 5 star hotel, but the Sands is not. The ONLY 5 star aspect of the hotel is the staff. They are extremely friendly, helpful and tried very hard to address the issues I had. My main issues were:
- at night, you will hear many frogs. And they will keep you awake. They're loud and annoying. Obviously, the hotel cannot control this but it is something to know before arriving
-on night 1, I settled in to a VERY uncomfortable bed...like rock hard. The staff came and gave me two mattress pads which helped. But once again, this fell below my 5 star expectations - I would expect a plush foam mattress given I paid over $200 a night, and if you dont have that, at least put the mattress pads on before the guest arrives
-the food in the restaurant is terrible. It is tasteless and barely edible..and very very overpriced
-On both mornings that I stayed at the hotel, I was woken up by loud construction. At 7 in the morning. Why on earth, would you think it is okay to have construction at 7 am at a resort where people are relaxing and most likely want to sleep in. It was insanely loud and felt like they were drilling directly into my bedroom
-no luxury amenities in the bathroom were provided. Its all rather no frills.

Overall, I was completely underwhelmed and disappointed given the hotel says its 5star and charges 5 star rates.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We tried to help you by changing your room after your arrival to the first floor. The mattresse is a standard hotel mattress and if it is too hard for our guests we do provide a softer cover mattrass on top! Regarding the food I am very surprised to hear, that you did not like the taste! Unfortunately you have not informed any of our Restaurant Manager or Supervisor about it, so we could have had the chance to find out what was wrong with it. Most of our clients do enjoy our style and preparation of dishes!! The good news is, that our pond- home of our fish and frogs- has been removed- this had to do with the noise you experienced. I appologize for this inconvenience, and hope that our future guests will not have to complain about the frog concert in the evenings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The beach were the hotel is located is beyond gorgeous. It is situated in the less populated area of Diani beach, so you may expect a calm environment. You could be a little annoyed by the sellers walking up and down the beach all day long, anyway. There is a security man in the hotel to control them, which is a little bit ackward, but required, I reckon.



The hotel facilities are quite nice: the beach area was relaxing and quiet; the restaurant by the beach was very good, with an impressive decor. Also, it is open all day long, which is excellent.

The service is good, too. Most of the employees are polite and welcoming.

I was less impressed by the rooms, though. We stayed in regular rooms (not the suites, nor the cabanas), and I am afraid they were too regular. The bathroom is very little, the shower is only semi-closed, so the water went everywhere every time we took a shower. Also, there were no ammenities, only dispensers, which I find a little off for an upscale accomodation.

Finally, there were several screaming little frogs in a little pond by our room which made going to sleep a little more complicated than it should have been.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabinete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review! We are in the process of removing the pond since we received too many complaints regarding the frogs noise! So for your next stay you will experience a more quiet night!! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
7.2 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
2.4 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
0.7 km away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
13.3 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
580 reviews
6.3 km away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,401 - ₹ 35,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing