We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the retired owner!!”
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I have never before written a negative review for Tripadvisor as I tend to think people generally moan over the slightest thing.

However, on our first night at Diani Sea Lodge after enduring a five hour flight delay and a further delay transferring from the airport we decided to watch the after Dinner entertainment. My mother-in-law, who had badly swollen ankles from the exhausting trip, rested one foot on a vacant outdoor and weather beaten chair. Within minutes an elderly German man approached us and told her to take her foot off the chair. I was completely gobsmacked and told him to push off and leave us alone. I managed to refrain from swearing at him. Just who did he think he was talking to us like that when we weren't harming anything or anyone? The next morning he was waiting for me in reception and told the staff to phone the police because I dared to answer him back the previous evening. The duty manager arrived and said she knew we hadn't done anything wrong but she found the situation difficult as the elderly man was the retired owner who lived at the hotel with his family. He clearly had a problem with me and so to avoid further ruining our holiday I offered to apologise to the man, which I did. This alleviated the problem but beware of this man and don't put your feet up on any chairs! I am not aggressive, I am a 67 year old pensioner on holiday with my wife and mother-in-law.
Anyway, the hotel is otherwise pretty good. The staff are amazing, the food is quite good (especially breakfast) and the rooms are very basic. I paid £100 per week extra for a superior room and the only extras we had were a double bed and a hairdryer!

One other important thing. The hotel appears to condone both male and female prostituition. We witnessed an elderly woman with a young Masaii man as her constant companion for the duration of her holiday. We were told by a member of staff that Masaii men and women were available for a daily rate. This gave the hotel a "seedy"atmosphere.

Unfortunately, because of our bad experience with the retired owner, I would not return to Diani Sea Lodge and wouldn't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicciandderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed for two weeks between Jan 26 and Feb 10, 2011. Superior rooms very basic. No fridge. Air conditioning either on or off. (No regulation). Staff friendly but if you like English company not for you. Evening entertainment not bad and food ok.
Went on a four day safari during the first week which was mind blowing and decided to do a two day safari in week two. My patner and I booked when we arrived with JT Safari's . They picked us up from the Hotel Gates at a pre arranged time for the short trip to their office to discuss the Safari and then dropped us back at the Hotel. The Safari was fantastic. Patrick our driver was outstanding and very Knowledgeable.
The second weeks Safari we went for a two day and asked for Patrick again.
If you go to the Voi Safari Lodge make sure you lock your windows when you go out or the Baboons will rob you. Took all our snacks. Also make sure you take your mobile phone/Valuables with you as my partners phone went missing.Not down to the Baboon's.
The beach at the Hotel was lovely and the sea warm. Pitty about the beach boys. Just tell them you already booked your Safari from home if they pester you. Seems to work. Overall Hotel not bad but the Safari's fantastic. I would recommend JT Safari's to anyone looking for a safari.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlennTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I could not recommend this hotel high enough. The staff were brilliant! They couldn't do enough for us. Food was great, entertainment was fantastic (especially the acrobats), weather was gorgeous!

I went there with my partner and we had the best holiday we have ever had together. We did everything, glass boat trip, Safari, visited the snake farm, went to the Colobus Monkey rescue center, played beach football against the beach boys, went to Ali barbars cave restaurant (highly recommended) and much much more.

The naughty monkeys are so funny and I think this is one of the highlights for this hotel, we even had baboons walk through the hotel one day!

Honestly this was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meganero81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed at the Sea Lodge 7 - 15 Jan. I must say it is a fantastic hotel, staff are great, our rep however wasnt. However, the staff do tend to serve the German customers first, who unfourtunatley do not understand the word que! The beach is beautiful but the beach boys can be a pain, they do eventually leave you alone. The food I thought was excellent - however on the third day of our holiday, I got a severe stomach bug, with severe very painful cramps, I though oh well it is in Kenya, BUT I stayed in a remote part of India and used bottle water for everything even brushing teeth same as I did here, no Ice etc,,, but I still caught a bug - the hotel restuarant manager did note it which I though was good, but I then went on to find that a large amount of people had also caught this - upon my return to the UK, as I still had it I went to the DRs and have been on medication now for weeks!!!! Our rep said he had not heard of anyone else having this - a lie, as the Dr even came to the hotel reception for other guests. Any way, still not sure if it was the food or what it was - never heard back from the holiday company.
Used WT Safaris for a day trip, were told it was 2 hours away would have lovely airconditied bus and cold fresh water. Firstly they were late picking us up, secondly no air conditing - very hot and no water. It also took 4 hours to get there and 4 to get back!!! When we went to pay for the trip they woudlnt accept credit cards and took us to the local back, which we thought was very good of them, only to return to the UK to have our credit card cloned (however, I;m not blaming WT safaris for that) but the safari people there were not exactly truthfull about the trip, and I wouldnt use them again. I did email them but they havent bothered to offer any response either. That said, Kenya is a beautiful country lovely people love weather, but what ever you do, MAKE SURE you get a visa BEFORE you get there, the que is quicker, we waited TWO hours in a stuffy non airconditioned airport, which has put us off ever going back - that and being so ill.

I hope this helps for anyone that may be thinking of going.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scratchlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Just returned from a week here and had a really good time. The hotel is clean, the rooms basic but have everything you need for a good night's sleep - air con is fine even in high 30 degree temperatures. Great fun watching the monkeys all around. The food exceeded our expectations for all inclusive. The grounds are beautiful and the beach one of the best we've seen in the world. The beach boys are no problem at all - of course they try to sell you things, but not agressively, there's not too many of them and if you are polite when you say no, they are just keen to have a chat and be pleasant. Do not be put off by having to use the ferry if you go to Diani, south of Mombassa as the wait for us was never more than 20 minutes and it was full of interesting sights.
We did a safari with JT which was absolutely brilliant and I've posted a review on the Kilaguni Safar Lodge site: Definitely go with the best, JT may be slightly more expensive but really worht it for the care and attention they pay to giving you exactly what you want.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,024 reviews
5.8 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,372 reviews
2 km away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
6.6 km away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: ₹ 1,359 - ₹ 15,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing