We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
226
215
63
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
215
63
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamday safarisister hotelbeach boysbahari roomthird world countryshimba hillswasini islandpool barall inclusive drinksevening entertainmentmosquito netbeach towelswalk along the beachkeep an eyeposter bedtour operator
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Tripadvisor has Diani Beach as one of the best places to visit in Africa and as beaches go it is pretty stunning. When the tide is out the beach is several hundreds of metres wide and you can walk into the ocean a long way. The water is lovely and the walk up the beach in the daytime is well worth doing. One of the nice touches is that the sister resort, the Diani Sea Resort is included in terms of the drinks/meals and that's great if you like quality coffee as they have a decent machine over there. I'd definitely stay at the Lodge due to the accommodation being cottages rather than rooms in 3 tier blocks - I'd sacrifice the sea view for lots more space and a nicer layout. The room was spacious and very nicely laid out. There were lots of tame monkeys (watch your food) and the staff were great. The food variety was ok, quality was very good and the selection on new year's eve was excellent. That there was no extra charges on new year was good. One minor point is that what appears to be squatters have moved into one of the abandoned resorts to the south on the beach (500-750m away) and have set up a bar with huge speakers that blast out in the afternoon and into the night. Only an issue if you are super sensitive to hearing base noise in the background - I spoke to the staff and I understand they are trying to get this sorted but I would stress this didn't detract from our holiday but it's the only thing dropping down my rating from 5 to 4 stars. Would I book there again if we wanted to visit Diani Beach again - yes. Overall the value for money was excellent and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Not sure there's much difference, but would plump for a cottage for sure.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla K, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Steve,
Thank you so much for taking the time for this lovely review.
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you here again soon. We are working on the bar issued and have gotten the officials involved as well.
Kind regards,
The Kampa Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The only complaint is their food menu wasn't as diverse so the food was more of a repetition daily . But for all an inclusive hotel, we had a good time for the 7 days we were there. The drinks are free, happy hour is all day lol. The staff was amazing always eager to help.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Freedom447007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla K, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017


Thank you so much for taking the time for this lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and will look into the buffet offering. Thank you also for the feeback regarding our staff which we will pass on.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Kind regards,
The Kampa Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My wife and I had chosen Kenya's south coast for our holyday , and the choice was Dinai Sea Logde we were there from 17-12-2016 to 28-12-2016.
We arrived at about 13 o’clock and were met by very friendly people and got a fresh and cold towel to wipe us, after that we got a refreshing drink, we felt certainly welcome.
Diani Sea Logde is a hotel that is not too large but certainly not too small, it has what is needed, a great beach, very nice pool area, large and bright rooms, the food is not flashy but certainly ok.

I've never experienced a hotel where the staff have been so welcoming, friendly and happy, but one person deserves a very specific message from us, and it's Judy
Judy is the manager and takes her job very seriously and every day she goes round to all guests and ensure that everything is ok, she is smiling, not a fake smile, but a smile that comes from her hart , and that you can see and feel, it is rare to see such a dedicated and motivating manager.

BR
Steen

ps. thank you for the amazing birthday song

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla K, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time for this lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the feeback regarding Judy and the staff which we will pass on.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Kind regards,
The Kampa Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely layout of the lodge. Great view of the Indian ocean as we ate. Excellent customer service. Very clean rooms (just that towels need to be conditioned to smell better). Great entertainment and ambience created to usher in the new year. We really enjoyed our 4 nights stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank RoseN1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla K, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time for this lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and will look into the towel issue. Thank you also for the feeback regarding our staff which we will pass on.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Kind regards,
The Kampa Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed twelve nights at this hotel on a solo basis, with a couple of days away for safari. I would say I was definitely in the minority being a solo female in the hotel, however I felt very comfortable and all the staff do their utmost to be friendly and welcoming.

The room:
I booked a standard room and was given one in the main block which was really big. The room had a tv (that didn't work or I couldn't figure out how to work), large balcony, dressing table, table and chairs, large wardrobe area and spacious bathroom. I loved the four poster bed and the mosquito nets were a good feature. Niggles: the pillows which were tiny, hard and flat and the poor air conditioning (which i didn't mention to reception and just accepted).

The bathroom:
Spacious bathroom with a (tiny cubicle) shower, sink, toilet and bidet. The water is pure salt water throughout; bit unnerving when brushing your teeth or washing your eyes (sting alert). However it was fine; you are on the coast in Africa, so it's understandable. Note: There is fresh water in the bathroom (in a flask) for brushing your teeth. Towels, toilet paper and soap is provided; only thing is that the towels always smelt musty (could be down to the humidity).

The grounds:
The grounds to the hotel are beautiful. They are gorgeously maintained and there are lots of monkeys around. They love to congregate on the top of the shrubs eating flowers late afternoon. The distance from the room to the pool/reception/restaurant was a bit of a walk but it was lovely. Watch out for the centipedes at night; they are everywhere.

The food and drink:
The food was really good. Lots of options everyday and multiple nights of barbecue on the terrace. I don't drink alcohol so can't comment but the drinks were standard as per all inclusives. Only odd thing was having to sign for every drink, even a glass of water, seems unnecessary admin for the wait staff.
Be careful eating at the snack bar on a table close to the grass; the monkeys are so quick it will be too late before you see them. Seems they have an attraction to burgers and chips, so other menu items may fare better

The staff:
The staff were all very friendly and approachable. They always asked how you were and how your holiday was going. Always ready to offer drinks as necessary or snacks when at the beach area. There are also activities and entertainment everyday to partake as you wish. The spa ladies also offer a great (but very firm) massage of 50 mins for 1000 KSH.

I would definitely return to this hotel! For the price paid, the service provided cannot be faulted.

The selling point of this hotel has to be the ocean view when arriving at the reception.

You can travel easily up and down the beach road in a tuk tuk for 30 KSH per person one way.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Sonami2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla K, Owner at Diani Sea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Sonami,
Thank you so much for taking the time for this lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and will look into the pillows.
We hope to welcome you here again soon.
Kind regards,
The Kampa Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews