We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“kenya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“kenya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

fantastic hotel,a choice of 4 restaurants all of them with first class food and service,nice rooms and amazing pool area,all staff are fantastic and will do anything to help,the food is amazing and the choice is from all corners of the world so no one misses out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhon137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    443
    131
    47
    33
See reviews for
352
551
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Once in a lifetime experience! this hotel is amazing. The rooms are so comfortable, with the cutest little balcony's. ours looked out over the pool. Dinner was nice and varied, however the breakfast was the most gorgeous spectacle you've seen. They even go to the trouble of decorating the room like a jungle, and the variety of colors is beautiful. If i could only eat one thing for the rest of my life it would be the breakfast at this hotel.
The hotel leads out onto the beach, however because of where you are you do need to be careful when going out onto the beach. there is lots of security watching you at all times, but you must stay inside the boundaries its for your own good. And pretend you don't speak English if anyone annoys you down on the beach trying to sell things or get you to go for a "walk", funnily enough they don't speak Irish!!!!!!
Because you are advised not to leave the hotel at night, they put on great shows, on our last night i was up on stage dancing with the Maasai tribe and wearing their jewelry! Another night they had a reptile show, and you could hold the snakes, etc, sounds gross but was so fun!
They also make the BEST cocktails, you have to try the Pina Colada! MMMMMMM!! Including a very charming barman!!
This place was incredible, i cant say enough good things about it!

Room Tip: view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Southern Palm beach resort is a truly beautiful place and many things to many people. Some including myself may definitely feel there at home, as a typical tourist it is a place to lose yourself, fully enjoy and take rest. a I stayed there for 9 days in the mid march 2012

I may repeat after many others the hotel is very well kept in overall.
My room was basic but just nice and spacious having everything what necessary in it: Air condition, Tv (english channels) water cattle, big shower with always hot water, marvelous big beds. you may ad Wifi connection if you pay extra 900 shillings per 1h. Each room has a big balcony with comfy chairs and table thus you may indulge yourself having a buzz or water from the mini fridge. Also balcony has very nice view to garden area and pools look just beautiful. Be aware of the fact that sometimes monkey may approach you in less expected moment grab your food or belongings from the table, some find that irritating, i think it was actually funny. Also If you are lucky enough you may get a room with ocean view which might be even better. I have to admit, towels need another system of washing, changing detergent or whatever that will give them fresher fragrance.
The staff including cleaning stuff was very attentive without being obtrusive, smiling and generally very caring, sometimes they left me longer with my problem but everything was always manageable in the end. Bear in mind there is let me call it another tick tack measurement somehow different sense of time therefore for those who need things to be fix really quickly I strongly suggest to go directly to the management as they are the most helpful people in the hotel. The another thing that's noticeable staff was plentiful just everywhere.
Several outdoor pools very clean and large, bars at both pools with everything you could ask for. Beach is clean and well equipped however it would be fantastic if hotel would arrange few hammocks bud still beach has relaxed atmosphere with swinging palms and flowers. There is a bar right on the gate, just perfect location have to say. Beach boys might be persistent but not in a bully way at all, In fact if you communicated clearly and firmly that you prefer to be alone walking on beach they will respect it. There is still a nice sense of nature, you can walk along the beach towards as local named it 'Congo river' which leads you then to the small adorable village. Ocean is full of life, jellyfish (i have no problem swimming but some said they were stringed by it badly), floating coral, seaweed everywhere, and lots crabs dashing into their holes in the evening.

The food is a special chapter here because food was an epic for the through to me. To be honest i am not a buffet type of person at all, i prefer 'a la card' order however i was deeply surprise this time. During my 9 days of staying the main bar has never disappointed me, delicious and great variety of food, choice of soup, main courses, salad, yummy fresh fruit and deserts. The selection was always pretty impressive with best ingredients. I was a fan of Indian corner food there. Also all bar stuff were friendly and accommodating, defiantly well trained. They are 4 bars, i strongly suggest try the 'Grill' one for the greed food value and ambient, but remember to book in advance. I was mesmerized when they bring the killer lobster :-). Italian restaurant was not 'haute cuisine' but is on a par or better than average.

To conclude fully recommended, besides lots entertainment, the service and the rooms beach and food are the best there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We normally try to find smaller hotels but the way Southern Palms is laid out it did not feel too busy or rushed. Though the grounds were not that wide it was the distance from the beach to reception that gave a feelng of space. Swimming pols were impressive and warm. Meals also felt unhurried with a good selection, no real rush to get in early for the best food, we had no compalints about the selection or quality of the food. Stir frys at lunch were prepared as you waited and were very tasty. Did have two bouts of stomach problems and ended up at the hospital for antibiotics but still came away with good feelings about the hotel. Do need to remember you are in Africa and hygene can be a problem.
Beach boys were very persistent but we found after we bought some items in the first couple of days they did leave us alone for the rest of the stay. Visited Ali Barbours and it was more expensive than we expected, bit of a limited choice if you do not like sauce on everything. Wine again was on the expensive side and it only had to be transported from South Africa.
We did expect the Italians (numerous) to be noisy but did not expect to find how rude and arrogant they are. Witnessed them walikng along the beach sun beds and if they felt someone was not using them they moved the towels (obvious signs they were being used) and took over the beds. When the original users returned there were loud confrontations, particularly when they also turned out to be Italian. Around lunch time (when people would have moved away for food) a group of wind surfers would come along, move towels and dump their equipment on the beds. This did not lead to a feeling of relaxation if you like being on the beach, the wife described them nicely as bullies.
We split the holidays with 5 day safari to Masai Mara and were lucky to see the big five and many other sights, again the scenery and colours were bueatiful. The first room at Southern palms was nicely decorated with a bath and shower, the second room was much more tired with worn locks etc,. A small amount of renovations could make such a difference
Kenya is a lovely country and getting out and about you get an insight, understand the hard life many Kenyans have.

We would return to Kenya and would also return to Southern Palms

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel was clean and very well kept with comfortable bedrooms and excellent communal areas. The staff were the most friendly staff where nothing was to much trouble.
The food was excellent with a lot of choice of different foods.
The hotel was about 2km from the nearest bank atm and supermarket. The hotel shop for soverneirs is reasonably priced but beware of the beach boys they can be persistent and you need to be firm about the price that you are prepared to pay but they are friendly and harmless although they can be a bit of a nuisance although you you do have the hotel security on the beach to help you with the over persistant beach boys.
There are plentyof enterainment of water sports or beach volley ball down to African dance lessons you can do as much or as little as you want.
This hotel was well worth the money and was a key part of the enjoyment of our holiday. Make sure that you take plenty of sun cream with you as they have difficulty in finding it in the shops as they appear to have difficulty in keeping up with demand.
Book this hotel and enjoy.

Room Tip: You do have tea making facilities but buy water for the kettle and dont drink from the taps. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearcecathy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.6 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
7.1 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.7 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
8.3 km away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
20.4 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms Beach Resort

Property: Southern Palms Beach Resort
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,780 - ₹ 23,414
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This dramatic hotel with its fantastic pools and beautiful beach is the perfect spot to relax after a safari… or simply visit to relax! The warm and very African feel of the hotel with comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms and selection of restaurants offers guests plenty of places to lounge in the sun and almost as many shady spots to enjoy a bit of a breeze and a good book. All rooms have quiet, split unit air conditioners, televisions, mini fridges and coffee and tea making facilities. There is a safe (chargeable) in each room and a business center located in the main building with internet or wifi access in public areas. The drama of the huge, traditional makuti (thatched) roof in the main restaurant offers the Chef a terrific showcase for a varied selection of local and international dishes on the buffet or you could indulge at one of the a la carte restaurants (chargeable) for a special occasion or just a quiet evening for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ostrovok so you can book your Southern Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Beach Hotel Diani
Southern Palms Beach Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing