We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A great hotel with all the things you expect from a 5 star hotel.Helpfull stuff, great rooms,very good breakfast,pool,great room serviceand most of all very very clear.For Thasos is the best hotel money can have.It is situated at golden amoudia 10 minutes by car from Limena and 20 from Limenaria.Next to the hotel there is a big beautifull beach and close to it a lot of other great beaches.Dont forget that Thasos needs a car if you want to see the hall island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakis1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed for 11 nights late July with a last minute deal from Thomsons. 1st trip in 18 yrs without the kids !

Cant fault anything as room spotless, beach lovely, Thomson staff (Catherine) really enthusiastic about the island and great ideas on things to do, hotel staff coudnt have been more friendly and helpful, and the pools are superb.

Special mention to Leam who was brilliant and finally allowed to wear shorts during the day when he is taking drinks from the hotel to the beach. We much prefer lying on a beach than by a pool and it being a short walk, beautiful sand, and our own sunbeds/parasols, made it even more attractive. Further down towards the village the beach did get a bit narrow, pebbly and messy with some litter but that didn't affect us.

Spent a day in the mountains on jeep safari which was excellent and the visit to the house of bones a real eye opener !

Took the cheap half board upgrade and very much worth it with superb food. Only reason we ate out a few nights is that the restaurant is very quiet and not much atmosphere. Its the guests that dictate the atmosphere and some we found a bit reserved.

A superb holiday, thanks again to the staff and highly recommended if you want a bit of pampering.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ToneKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Having just returned from the Alexandra Golden Boutique I felt I should write a review considering the mixed reviews read on Trip Advisor prior to our visit.

From the moment we arrived the service we received was first class and continued for the 10 days we were there.
Alexandra and Corinna are the most fabulous reception staff, always friendly, helpful and informative. Check in was smooth and our luggage brought to our room within minutes.

We stayed in room 307 which had a sea view and was ideal as the sun wasn't directly on the balcony in the late afternoon. The balcony furniture is wooden and canvas, much nicer than plastic in the heat. The room and bathroom were spacious and cleaned daily; bed linen was changed daily, towels were changed twice a day and a turn down service was provided. Tea and coffee in the room was also provided which is not often seen in Greek hotels, along with a mini bar and fridge, with enough room to store your own refreshments.

The hotel has 2 pools and a private part of the beach; these are all kept exceptionally clean. There is service for refreshments at both pools and by calling (pressing the bell on the parasol!) on the beach. Liam provided an excellent service for our regular demands of beers, refreshments and daily club sandwiches! We found we had the pool to ourselves most days as other guests preferred the beach. There are plently of sunbeds and parasols at both pools and on the beach, and beach towels are provided.

The restaurant is nicely situated overlooking one of the pools, there are tables inside and on the terrace. Breakfast is buffet service, with the staff bringing tea and coffee - and despite a previous review, they can make 'English' tea and provide milk, and the breakfast staff remember what you have from the first day - a nice personal touch.
We stayed on a half board basis (a promotion with Thomson - it's worth asking - we upgraded for 1p!) and ate in the hotel all but 4 of the nights (and this was only to sample traditional Greek Tavernas). The food is first class, 5 courses every night - soup, salad, starter, main course (choice of fish or meat) and dessert. The menu is varied and often some strange combinations, rice and melon, chicken and chocolate, even ostrich for example, but always very tasty and extremely well presented. Water is provided and there is an excellent choice of wines. Again Liam provides a great service along with Gregory, who can also recommend a good local wine.

The hotel has a bar which overlooks the pool one side and reception inside. Yes the prices are higher than the tavernas but only on a par with usual hotel bar prices. Tasos makes the best cocktails ever, and in comparison with local tavernas and bars the cocktails although slightly more expensive had very much more alcohol in them!

The Spa is very pleasant although a little dark in the entrance and reception area. We treated ourselves to a dual treatment - steam room, jacuzzi and massage - highly recommended.

Outside of the hotel there are many local tavernas and bars, all very welcoming.
There are a few supermarkets nearby which stock most items needed - water, crisps, biscuits etc.
I would recommend walking to the end of the bay and catching the water taxi to Thassos Town, a very pleasant trip by a lovely Greek gentleman in his boat.
If you get the opportunity take a 4x4 trip to Ipsario, the highest point on the island and look down at Golden Beach.

To summarise, we had a fantastic holiday at Alexandra Golden Boutique. If you want a relaxing holiday in fabulous accomodation, with excellent food, first class personal service and sunshine then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100s have a pool view, 200s have private pools and sea views, 300s have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BournemouthJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

During our stay on Thassos Island we had an opportunity to experience this couples-only hotel. The hotel offers great sense of peacefulness and is ideal for relaxation. It has the nicest pool with sandy floor, and the best spot on the whole Golden Beach - right in the middle, with finest sand.
We stayed in double room which was very spacious with great, large bed.
Hotel service is excellent, starting from front desk to cleaning ladies, but the best were waiters in the bar and restaurant, that really make the guests feel special (and some were multilingual which is fantastic).
The hotel dinner is excellent, although the menu is pretty minimalist. Food is diverse and every part of the meal is tastefully prepared and masterfully served, making food one of the best things that this hotel can offer to its guests.
We highly recommend this couples' oasis!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t_adagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A very quiet, clean,modern Hotel. Great for just relaxing. All rooms were clean and well appointed. Pools cleaned every night. Excellent Gym/Health spa. Breakfast first class. Only fault was the evening meal which they tried to make in to a 5* meal and failed on some evenings. Would I go back ? Yes I would. There are several Bars,Tavernas,Restraunts near by so eating out is a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellyBuryLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
17.8 km away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
5.9 km away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 89 in Thasos
424 reviews
0.6 km away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
16.9 km away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#15 of 89 in Thasos
408 reviews
18.1 km away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,395 - ₹ 19,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury boutique Adults Only Hotel combine modern architecture with minimal aesthetics aiming at the ultimate comfort and relaxation being one of the best Thassos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing