We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
US$ 175
US$ 169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 479
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 210
US$ 204
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 524
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 1,061/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 172
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
341
57
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
57
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbeautiful lakedining roomnational parkgreat foodwest corkfishbeautiful hoteloff the beaten pathsmall barfamily runvagabond tourhis wifehidden gemattention to detailold world charmday trip
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We were on a day trip round West Cork from a cruise liner and this was our late lunch stop. We were treated to a full meal. What was prepared and offered to a full bus of passengers was excellent. They had done a very good job of getting a set menu of over 50 meals ready for the whole group. Service was excellent and the staff kept everything moving very well.

Room Tip: Unknown as we didn't stop
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwI5786VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear michaelwI5786VY,

Thank you for you lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our food and service here. I have passed on your compliments to the front-of-house team and to the kitchen team. I hope you enjoyed your trip to West Cork and the rest of your time on the cruise liner.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

As we are driving through the narrow and winding road I'm thing "who would build a hotel here?"....and just about then, as we clear the last hill and turn into the hotel, I quickly learned why. There can't be a more charming and gorgeous spot . The hotel owner was exceedingly welcoming, the hotel is very well maintained and the food was exceptional. Rooms are quaint and and basic, but perfectly acceptable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Tim M M,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, service and food. I have passed on your compliments to my father, Neil and to the rest of the team here, especially to the kitchen team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We celebrated an 85th Birthday of an American cousin on holidays by having dinner in the hotel and it was exquisite.
The restaurant was fully booked and still it seemed we were the only ones there as the service, food, ambience and attention to detail was superb.
This hotel is a gem, tucked away in Ireland's most beautiful tranquil spot and is a place that should be on everyones bucket list to visit.
Thank you Neil and Katy and staff for a most wonderful night.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naleoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Naleoin,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service, food, ambiance and attention to detail in our restaurant. What a great compliment that Gougane Barra should be on everyone's bucket list to visit! I have passed on your compliments to my parents, Neil and Katy, and to the rest of the team here.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Neil and Katy are wonderful. The hotel is amazing. Room was quaint and a old fashioned but adequate. The view was amazing. visited the chapel and found out that the family is Cardinal Timothy Mannings family. I was amazed to find out this little piece of information.. The chapel is worth a visit and the grounds .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ileine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Ileine B,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and got the chance to explore Gougane Barra and its history. I have passed on your compliments to my parents, Neil and Katy, and to the rest of the team here.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This was our last stop on our tour and we all loved it! We were delighted with the gorgeous setting on the lake and the National Park location. The dinner we had was the very best one we had in Ireland. Katie is a very talented chef! The dining room itself is gorgeous with its view of the lake. It is family owned and operated....the owners are delightful and very hardworking. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable, having everything we needed. We enjoyed the hike nearby. We hated to leave and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edgewild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Edgewild1,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of our hotel and got the chance to explore Gougane Barra. The kitchen team were thrilled to hear that you thought the dinner was the best one you had in Ireland! I have also passed on your compliments to my parents, Neil and Katy, and to the rest of the team here.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews