We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gougane Barra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gougane Barra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Our Vagabond tour stopped here for an overnight stay. While the rooms are basic and a bit dated, we were rarely in our rooms. The location is beautiful! Our room's view was of the sheep, goats, and mountains. There are numerous walks near by around the property, as well as in the National Forest. WiFi doesn't work well in the bedrooms, but there are two comfortable lounges downstairs for quietly reading or using the internet. The restaurant had a vegetarian as well as a gluten free selection, which was nice. The food and views from the restaurant were fabulous.

Room Tip: There are no lifts (elevators).
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dunedinkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear dunedinkid,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location, and that you got the chance to explore Gougane Barra and the National Forest. I'm also delighted you enjoyed the food. I have passed on your compliments to the kitchen team. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Vagabond tour.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Gougane Barra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We were on a day trip round West Cork from a cruise liner and this was our late lunch stop. We were treated to a full meal. What was prepared and offered to a full bus of passengers was excellent. They had done a very good job of getting a set menu of over 50 meals ready for the whole group. Service was excellent and the staff kept everything moving very well.

Room Tip: Unknown as we didn't stop
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwI5786VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear michaelwI5786VY,

Thank you for you lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our food and service here. I have passed on your compliments to the front-of-house team and to the kitchen team. I hope you enjoyed your trip to West Cork and the rest of your time on the cruise liner.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

As we are driving through the narrow and winding road I'm thing "who would build a hotel here?"....and just about then, as we clear the last hill and turn into the hotel, I quickly learned why. There can't be a more charming and gorgeous spot . The hotel owner was exceedingly welcoming, the hotel is very well maintained and the food was exceptional. Rooms are quaint and and basic, but perfectly acceptable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Tim M M,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, service and food. I have passed on your compliments to my father, Neil and to the rest of the team here, especially to the kitchen team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We celebrated an 85th Birthday of an American cousin on holidays by having dinner in the hotel and it was exquisite.
The restaurant was fully booked and still it seemed we were the only ones there as the service, food, ambience and attention to detail was superb.
This hotel is a gem, tucked away in Ireland's most beautiful tranquil spot and is a place that should be on everyones bucket list to visit.
Thank you Neil and Katy and staff for a most wonderful night.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naleoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Naleoin,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service, food, ambiance and attention to detail in our restaurant. What a great compliment that Gougane Barra should be on everyone's bucket list to visit! I have passed on your compliments to my parents, Neil and Katy, and to the rest of the team here.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Neil and Katy are wonderful. The hotel is amazing. Room was quaint and a old fashioned but adequate. The view was amazing. visited the chapel and found out that the family is Cardinal Timothy Mannings family. I was amazed to find out this little piece of information.. The chapel is worth a visit and the grounds .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ileine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GouganeBarraHotel, Daughter at Gougane Barra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Ileine B,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and got the chance to explore Gougane Barra and its history. I have passed on your compliments to my parents, Neil and Katy, and to the rest of the team here.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back,
Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gougane Barra
20.2 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,190 reviews
15.4 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
186 reviews
18.8 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
18.2 km away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
399 reviews
17.4 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gougane Barra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gougane Barra Hotel

Address: Gougane Barra | Ballingeary, Gougane Barra, Ballingeary Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballingeary > Gougane Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gougane Barra
Price Range: ₹ 7,214 - ₹ 8,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gougane Barra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gougane Barra Hotel is situated in a uniquely magical unspoilt lakeside location in the mountains of West Cork, in the South West of Ireland. Our 25 bedroom family run, seasonal hotel is renowned for its genuine old-fashioned hospitality, has a reputation for really good food, has a cosy friendly bar and sitting rooms overlooking St. Finbarr’s oratory. We have bikes and rowing boats and are just 1 kilometre from the National Forest Park. It’s waiting… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gougane Barra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gougane Barra
Gougane Barra Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing