We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect . . .”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage from Cove View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from Cove View
Cottage on Outside Hill Living Room with water view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cottage from Cove View
Cottage on Outside Hill
Living Room with water view
Cottage Wood-burning Stove
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Shore Bedroom
Cottage Bay View
View -half tide
Crow island view at High Tide
Sunset view
Hammock/Picnic overlooking bay
Cottage Forest Green Bedroom
Cottage Shore Bedroom-
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chance Harbour, New Brunswick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jeff D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect . . .”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

SERVICE: Marilyn was very helpful when booking this cottage. She provided excellent information and immediately made us feel comfortable with our choice to book. That part was a breeze. Once we arrived, Alice made us feel right at home. To do this she offered the little things; "arrange the furniture as you please, use the grill, the wood stove, please let me know what we can do better, etc." Although we were just renting the place, we left feeling a sense of ownership. It was Alice's welcome that helped us feel that way.

COTTAGE: Outstanding! Yes, the water taste salty. However, given its proximity to the ocean, I'd be surprised if it didn't taste this way! Either way, Alice provides drinking and cooking water for the duration of your stay. I felt clean after each shower. Really, the water didn't detract from our stay one bit at all. It runs strong and it stays hot through the duration of a shower.

The cottage itself is beautiful. It's well kept, clean, airy and charming. Everything you'd need for an extended stay is provided - cookware, grill, towels, washer/dryer, kitchenware, wood, internet, television, etc. Once we supplied ourselves with groceries we really didn't need to leave at all. Nor did we want to, because . . .

LOCATION: If your goal is to relax in a private setting within full view of the Bay of Fundy, you will be hard pressed to find a cottage in a better location. The cottage is surrounded by spruce/fir forest with an understory of bunchberries. The views are stunning and varied. Out the side door is exposure to open ocean. Down the drive you'll find a more tranquil cove that empties at low tide. Moonrises and sunsets are excellent. If you are a cyclist, the roads around the cottage are fine/paved. Running is good and there is a gorgeous preserve down the road for a good sturdy walk. When the wind is up (which was frequent while we were there) you can easily put a kayak into the cove and explore up into the marshlands (high tide). When the wind comes down the Fundy coast opens up for some amazing kayaking. Just watch the weather because outside of the cove it is quite rough.

Really, I can't say enough good things about this place. The only negative is that our four nights felt way too short!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We should have booked it for more than four nights!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBon...
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great treasure hunting but terrible water in the cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed treasure hunting on the beach. Disappointed that the beach was quite rocky and not sandy however. The cottage is lovely and cosy. Stove wasn't great. Hopefully they've replaced it by now. Barbecue wasn't overly large and there wasn't a spare propane tank on site. Luckily we didn't run out of propane. Biggest drawback is the water. When we arrived we found out that we could not drink the water at the cottage. Bottled water was provided but, unfortunately, it's difficult to bathe in bottled water. We felt like we were covered in salt for our entire stay. Salty water came out of the shower head. We attempted to do laundry but all of our whites turned a dingy beige colour and still haven't come clean to this day. We think that ocean water must be seeping into the well. We may have returned to the cottage if it weren't for the water. I was so glad to get home and take a shower with clean refreshing salt-free water. The property was fairly private during the week; however, on the weekend there were often tourists nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Treasure hunting
Liked least: Water in the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you for the review of your cottage stay almost one year ago. So pleased to hear that you (and your dogs) enjoyed treasure hunting on the beaches. Yes, the stove was replaced in the fall of 2015. While we've never had comments such as yours from other guests about the water, we'll certainly take your feedback under advisement and take action as necessary. Water softener is provided along with clothes washing detergent for guests, however we've also not had other guests experience this. Thanks again for your comments which will help us provide the best experience possible for our future guests.
Marilyn and Alice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle B
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“An oasis of serenity.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything was just as promised. My two daughters and I enjoyed a week of complete relaxation and fun. The cottage was a little piece of paradise nestled in the arms of beautiful pine trees overlooking the Bay of Fundy. Chilly mornings and evenings gave us the pleasure of cozy fires outside and the wood burning stove inside. We visited all the sights to see in the surrounding towns and returned home to explore the beaches around the cabin. We especially enjoyed meeting Alice who welcomed us with open arms and are already talking about going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revgeoffn...
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place to Disconnect, Relax and Ride!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The little cottage on Crow Island Road was a great respite for my wife and me. Working with Marilyn and Alice was a joy. They made sure we were settled and equipped for our time there. The cottage was well appointed with what was needed. It was also situated between St. Andrews and St. John for day trips. However, there was something about the sheer beauty of the sunsets and tidal shifts right before your eyes that was inviting and relaxing. I would heartily recommend this for those looking to disconnect. Small families would also enjoy the rock exploring and beautiful scenery. And if you are a cyclist, the riding is great and the motorists are gracious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russianhe...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet, superb location with easy access to beaches places of interest”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely old cottage full of artefacts from the family who have holidayed here since they were children. Ideal both for retired folk but for families who like adventure . Not perhaps toddlers

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing