We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Manta Island
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Botaira Resort(Naviti Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Paradise Cove Resort(Naukacuvu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Naqalia Lodge(Waya Lailai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Viwa Island Resort(Yasawa Islands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turtle Island(Nanuya Levu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Nanuya Island Resort(Nanuya Lailai Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Coconut Beach Resort(Tavewa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Safe Landing Resort(Nacula Island)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
225
105
29
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
105
29
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise beachfishdive shopother resortsnight divemarine biologistshared facilitieslunch and dinnercold wateran amazing experiencedive staffin seasonspent nightsdeluxe burestayed longerswimming with manta raysfiji trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Best holiday experience. Snorkeling on the sunrise beach was even better then when we stayed in the Maldives for our honeymoon.
The food was amazing and plentiful.
The best part was the staff who made you feel like family and also made the resort feel like pure paradise. Special mention to Api, Jim, Saki and semi. You all made our trip what is was and we cant wait to see you all at Christmas

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Bigger than the other Barefoot (Kuata) but feels more peaceful and relaxed. Our deluxe Bure was great, opening on to a private deck with hammock and then straight on to the beach. Three beaches to choose from, with incredible coral just off Sunrise Beach. The food was the only disappointment here. Breakfast sometimes ran out of things by 8:30. Water apparently drinkable, but didn’t look great, and the only other option is to purchase Fiji water ($6 for 1.5L).

Stayed: March 2018
Thank ergbfb3wrvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Barefoot manta is my home away from home and if it was possible I would live there forever! There is something so special about the island, you never want to leave (I actually extended my last trip 3 times because I didn’t want to leave).

I stayed in a cute traditional style Fiji dorm which was on the sunrise beach front. Now that is a view that’s hard to beat! Inside there were 5 beds all equipped with a mosquito net - I didn’t get bitten once!

Barefoot island has three amazing beaches - sunrise, sunset and manta beach! You are so lucky to see both sunrise and sunset from the beach or if your feeling adventurous a short hike up to three different view points gives you an amazing 360 view.

The staff are the most loveliest people you will ever meet - they are my Fiji family. I wish I could name them all but it’s literally everyone (even the people behind the scenes) I can’t wait to go back and see them all again.

I was so lucky to be able to celebrate my 21st birthday, Christmas and New Year at barefoot manta and it was so special I will never forget it!

If you are visiting the Yasawa Islands you have to stop here!

Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)
Lolomas yani (lots of love)
sota tale (see you soon)
Zoe
Xxxxxxxxx

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I literally cant say one bad thing about this place. The staff were our little Fijian family for a couple of days. The food was amazing and our little bure was exactly what we needed. Just to chill out and escape. All the staff personally said goodbye and gave us a hug when we left. Saki in particular was amazing. He was such a good host and kept us well entertained. It was such an amazing experience and it has been up there with one of the best holidays ive ever been on.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TyroneTraveller7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

This was the second Island we landed on. After feeling a bit underwhelmed at the first one (we are not sure why), Barefoot Manta seemed immediately welcoming - genuine friendly smiles and staff really wanting to help you and wanting you to have a good time. It really demonstrated staff morale too, and that must come from great management.
Felt a bit more intimate as less rooms (we think). And the same staff faces so felt like we knew them and they knew us, even staying for just two days.
At breakfast they served lovely fresh fruit, the best porridge ever, and the coffee machine was on the go throughout the day.
Saki was a brilliant activities host - making sure everyone was included and had fun.
Happy hour $12 cocktails and $6 beers!
We stayed in a beach “deluxe bure” which was perfect - we had our own little patch of garden area, hammock, stairs to sunset beach, and could just lie and listen to the waves crashing.
We even left a necklace on the beach and the next day a groundsman has searched for it for us and found it buried in the sand. I’m sure a lot of places would not have been bothered!
There are 3 beaches on the resort so there was always one (sunrise beach mostly) that was completely still and clear to see one of the best and most diverse coral reefs in the world (quote Rob the marine biologist on the resort). The conservation tour is a must - absolute value for money and so educational. We now know all about coral and why it is so important in ecosystems of islands! Do not touch it or stand on it or kick it!!!!
We only stayed two nights but wish we had stayed longer.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aliwali1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews