We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great Views, Great service..but .....”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dine on the deck this in summer with pleasant views overlooking the water. Our 'Landing Restaurant' offers delicious meals exceeding the expectations of a semi-rural tavern, served with iconic kiwi hospitality. Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We enjoyed a cruise up the harbour with the red boats and were warmly welcomes by Grant a delightful maître de with Scottish lilt. Our table inside was a little too far from the view so the staff happily changed it. A much more pleasant spot. My grandson and I shared the ribs , Wow what a treat for two with a salad and fries. My wife had the duck and daughter the Salmon. Absolutely outstanding.

The trend to having salads as a side was a disappointing aspect of the meal,
We felt that the salad and some chips should be part of the plated meal for prices in the range we paid. . Grant and Nicola were superb hosts and made our day.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TerryRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

That's fantastic to hear...the trip on the boat is a wonderful way to arrive at The Riverhead and so special!
We'll look forward to seeing you another time, maybe you will come by car next time? It's a lovely drive, especially from Albany! See you again kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021

Food was gorgeous, our waitress was super friendly. I've been before, with my family visiting from the UK, obviously they couldn't join us yesterday, went back for nostalgia, well worth it. Thank you to our waitress and the manager, your help and diligence was amazing, thank you chefs too, beautiful xxx Dr Angie Winnington

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie_WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Thanks so much for your wonderful review....it such a shame that we are separated from our overseas families at this time. We are so pleased that you can come to The Riverhead and reminiscence. Hopefully, we'll see you all here again soon, kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

We finally made it to the Riverhead Tavern for my mother’s birthday just after Christmas.

Very busy and successful restaurant and location and you can understand why.

Food and service was great, and historic location also fantastic.

Highly recommend it for lunch in small or large groups.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank kestonr2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Thanks for choosing The Riverhead to celebrate your Mum's special day. We love to make the day even more memorable, so thanks again. Kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

We sat on the riverside deck, as part of a group celebration lunch. The food was served swiftly and accurately which I thought excellent for a party of 20. However $38 for a duck leg in my opinion was exorbitant. After all this is a pub not fine dining. The waitress clearly did not want to be at work. Her sullen mood did not dampen our celebration but did not help it. This is an over priced tavern. I err caution. Especially on holidays where they add a 15% surcharge on already inflated prices.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank johnlD5659ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Hi John, Whilst we are an historic tavern, we do offer delicious alternatives to standard 'pub' fare. You chose to have the Confit Duck which is in fact half a Duck presented deboned and curled around onto itself with parsnip vanilla puree, bok choy, mandarin gel and duck jus. At $38 very reasonable compared to industry standards. You did, however, have the choice of Fish & Chips, our Burger or something lighter if you had your heart set on a more pub-style dish. We will be following up on the behaviour of the waitress, as this is unacceptable. Regrettably, the 15% surcharge does not cover the extra costs of opening on a public holiday, so it's either charge the extra to cover a portion of it or remain closed. Just a suggestion, come another day? kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

The location and view are amazing. Beautiful outdoor setting at the restaurant. Well worth a visit and we will be back. The food and wine were average at best for the prices charged. Dry chicken and over cooked steak. A slight improvement on food quality and this place would be 5 stars.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Vckm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Thanks for your feedback, we will certainly be giving this feedback to the kitchen team. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.