We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check when the boat is due in!”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Riverhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

A lovely spot above the river. Great food and lovely staff. We arrived 10 minutes after a large party had disembarked off the ferry from Auckland - a lovely day trip for them I'm sure (but that'sthe subject of different reviews!). Despite the staff being frantically busy they found time to make my wife, myself and our two young children very welcome - with tips on our onward journey to Muriwai beach. We only had coffee and juice but they did make a lovely soya cappuccino!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Karaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review us even though it sounds like it was a pretty quick visit. We are very proud of the Northwest area and know that it has some pretty spectacular things to do and enjoy, only 25 minutes from Auckland. Coming by boat to our own dock is also unique...A great day out! I'm glad the staff filled you in on Muriwai and hope you will come back again soon...regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Had dinner tonight with our friends from England, 6 of us all up. Ribs were amazing, as were the scotch filet steaks apart from all the pepper that was sprinkled all over the meals. Great if you love pepper but if you don't as one of our visitors didnt she couldnt eat her meal. The pepper was all over the meal not just on the steak. I had the fish of the day and that was covered in too much salt. My suggestion would be to leave the seasoning of the meals to the customers and then at least they will be paying for something they enjoy eating. At a cost of 36.00 for a steak it was a waste of money. I did tell the waiter to give the Chef our feedback and he said he would pass it on. Service was average and we usually tip well for great service too. Cocktail, Pina Colada was lovely but too much ice. May I also suggest that if a customer is unhappy with their meal that meal is free. Sorry about the rating and feedback but it all helps to improve your standards. Cheers.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Debbie,
Thanks for the feedback, we do look at all comments as a way of continually improving our offer, however this has totally confused us. None of our meals have pepper on them except a tiny amount on the poached egg on the Caesar Salad. Our wait staff offer pepper after meals arrive at the table so it's up to the individual to request pepper and how much or decline it altogether. We certainly do not add pepper on meals in the kitchen. Thanks for your rave about our Ribs...this is a dish that will be remaining on our menu. Once again, thanks for your feedback regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Had a nice serve of fish and chips.
Staff very friendly and meals served nicely.
Great venue overlooking the river.Has many separate areas for drinking or eating

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 528martind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks Martin,
We hope to see you again sometime soon, regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

From the moment we stepped into the Landing to the moment we left was an absolute pleasure. The service was warm and non invasive, the food exceeded expectation and the atmosphere relaxing and inviting. The only negative was the size of the plates. They are very attractive but a bit on the big side, felt I had to lean across to get to my bacon on the other side ;) Apart from that, a huge thumbs up!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks for your very positive review...having to lean across the plate for your bacon...sounds really quite funny! Take it on board though, we do have quite large servings in line with our gastro-pub offer.
Thanks again regards
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We were impressed with everything this place had to offer. Now my favorite place to go. Fantastic service yummy food and a great menu. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank debral1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Wow!...great review! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon....thanks Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 
Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing