We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto”
Review of Finca Es Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Es Castell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caimari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Excellent place to stay in spectacular setting. Lovely tranquil location in the heart of Mallorca on the side of the Sierra Tramuntana. James is an excellent host and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Off the beaten track, but well worth the effort to get here. Our room was comfortable with own private terrace.The 4 course set dinner is always delicious and good value. You can be lazy or energetic as you wish with short or longer walks from the extensive grounds.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tulip1Tyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

beautiful place in a spectacular setting with great walking. friendly and helpful but discrete. excellent and good value 4 course set dinners. maybe not the most luxurious place on Mallorca but for genuine hospitality and sheer enjoyment there can't be many better. brilliant, thanks, we'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I went to Finca es castell in february just after the opening. We spent 2 wonderful days there and felt really well looked after.
The finca is very well situated, in a very remote and quiet part of Mallorca. Many walks can be done and the ownner James always helped us direct our choices.
Considering our very different way of eating, (raw vegan), breakfast and dinner were always a treat (beautiful dried figs).
I can only recommend this hotel for its laid back and relaxed atmosphere which also naturally emanates from the owner's personnality.

So thanks again james and maybe we see you again one day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheznico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a great week here last April, just as the cyclists were thinking about leaving the island and before the crowds of summer travellers arrived.

We arrived quite early in the morning and our sat nav did a great job of finding the hotel, as it really is tucked away off the beaten track and on the doorstep of some pretty impressive peaks. We were immediately offered breakfast by our friendly hosts and my other half did not waste any time before starting to make friends with some of the staff by chatting away in Spanish. Note to self - I must start to use those Spanish lesson CDs!

The room was great, up our own little staircase from the reception area, and with it's own set of doors out onto the communal terrace (although we did get a small area of this to ourself). The view was lovely and the sound that I won't forget is the gentle clonking of sheep's bells (or at least I think that is what it was).

The highlight for me was eating breakfast each day on the terrace, in the morning sun, with an view of well over 180 degrees. We did not eat our evening meals at the Finca, but instead took the opportunity to explore the local area for restaurants. This undoubtedly bought our spend on food down, but we were restricted on our wine consumption as clearly one of us had to drive back each night.

The gardens and area around the pool were an ideal place to relax, but given the temperature in April, we weren't brave enough to try the pool. A nice touch is the free tea and coffee and honesty bar in the old building housing the ancient olive press. Talking of which, it is almost worth a visit just to see this.

We tried one of the short walks in the surrounding countryside (as detailed in a useful map/instructions sheet), but you could no doubt spend a whole week walking, just using this as your base.

Going back to the subject of cycling, if you are a keen road cyclist, you might not want to ride your pride and joy between the end of the tarmac at the edge of the estate and the Finca car park. This is more suited to mountain bikes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NoSoupForYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wow what a place.
Just what the doctor ordered. A stunning old finca, a place to chill out and recharge your batteries, perfect surroundings, fantastic accomodation, attentive hosts and fantastic food! Trying to think of an excuse to go back immediately!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caimari
2.1 km away
Hotel Rural & Spa Monnaber Nou
15.6 km away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
4 km away
Petit Hotel Son Arnau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Can Furios Petit Hotel
Can Furios Petit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Binibona
213 reviews
1.8 km away
Monnaber Vell
Monnaber Vell
#1 of 2 in Campanet
165 reviews
34 km away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Es Castell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Es Castell

Address: Calle Binibona s/n, 07314 Caimari, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Caimari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caimari
Price Range: ₹ 11,438 - ₹ 17,930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Es Castell 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Finca Hotel Es Castell, a renovated 11th century ancestral "Finca" Estate located in the foothills of the serra de Tramuntana world heritage site. This small, charming hotel, recently voted as "Spains Best Hotel", offers 12 simple, stylish rooms and suites, featuring traditional beams, exposed stone walls, but with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a five-star hotel. The pool has stunning views, and the hotel, located in 3 1/2 million m2 of its own farmlands, olive groves and pine trees, offers a wonderful secluded relaxing break ideal for cyclists, walkers, families (in school holidays), gourmets, or for those simply looking to do nothing! Come and pay us a visit. James and Paola ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Finca Es Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Es Castell Caimari
Finca Es Castell Hotel Caimari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing