We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matangi Private Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matangi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This was a trip meant to help us recharge and renew, and we did just that. I don't think my stress levels have been this low, in ages. We are still basking in the after glow from our time on Matangi. We loved our room, loved the food, loved the snorkeling, loved the scuba diving, loved the spa....and most of all LOVED the people who made it all happen for us. Thank you to everyone at the resort for making this trip one to remember. We also did the private picnic in horseshoe bay, which was a highlight. Having the beach and the bay all to ourselves, having a black tip come visit, and kayaking/snorkeling in the bay, what more can one ask for? We will be back!

Room Tip: All the bures seemed to be in great spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RnTCutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Very relaxing. Friendly staff. We enjoyed the hikes all over the island. Best feature - the air conditioned, bug free bed!! Most nights in such a locale are hot and sticky - not at the Mantangi Private Island Resort. The resort needs to patent the bed!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

If you're looking for a lush, serene paradise to escape from it all--- you've found it! My husband and I weren't interested in a big-box resort that felt cheesy and inauthentic. There are lots of beautiful places in the world, but we wanted an authentic experience that we'd never forget. Cindy of South Seas Adventure led us to Matangi, and we're so glad she did.

First off, the beauty of the island and the Taveuni island region is unlike anything we'd ever seen. The array of blues in the ocean water, the greens of the trees---unforgettably gorgeous! The hike to Beverly Hill lookout over Horseshoe bay is a must (just watch for spiders). So much of our time was spent just looking off into the ocean at sunrise and sunset.
But also, it's worth your time to get off the island. We'd definitely recommend taking a day trip to Taveuni. The Tavoro waterfalls in the Bouma Heritage National Park are incredible!

The small size of the island and resort is something we loved, as well. You become friends with the staff and other guests so quickly-- to the point that saying goodbye is extra sad! But you can "escape" the resort with a quick hike or kayak (we kayaked around the whole island in 2 hours)

We couldn't find a bure with a bad view. We were in a beachfront ( a slight walk to the actual beach) but really spent most of our time from our patio. The was only an air conditioning unit for the bed, which I could see bothering some people. My husband had some difficulty sleeping at night, but it didn't bother me too much. And the outdoor shower is INCREDIBLE. Do yourself a favor and take a shower at night so you can look up at the stars.

We were very happy with the food! We didn't do any research on that part, so it was a pleasant surprise. I dream about the fresh baked bread and butter, and there wasn't a main course I didn't devour. I tried to eat as much seafood as possible (we have enough meat in Texas) but really, the steak was one of the most memorable dinners we had!

All in all--- Matangi Private Island Resort was our perfect paradise.
Bula! Chelsea & Adam ---- April 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Its quite a hike to get here from Nandi on a small 19 seater cramped stuffy plane for over an hour but well worth it when you get here. After a 20 minute car ride and 20 minute boat ride you arrive to welcoming smiles and singing. It is a wet landing so have pants you can roll up or shorts. There is an immediate feeling of peacefulness and remoteness with an authentic intimate island feel. It is not long before you very much feel at home and part of a family. Love that this island is owner run. Had many conversations with guests, locals (staff) and the owners to get the real feel of Fiji. Most of the guests while we were there were American. We were surprisingly the only Australians. All accommodation is beautiful with ocean view bures being newly refurbished. The beach is not good for swimming at at low tide as too much exposed coral but with 2 fantastic guided snorkeling trips per day and a lovely pool area we didn't really need to swim at the beach. Plenty of hammocks and sun lounges and some new swinging day beds near ocean view bures to relax and enjoy the beach view and sunsets. Horseshoe bay picnic was a great experience having whole bay to ourselves to snorkel, kyak or paddle board in and with tail end of a cyclone around in May!! was a very sheltered spot.
Staff couldn't do enough for you and tried very hard to make sure all your needs were met. Food was generally good but kitchen was much better at cooking some things than others (4 1/2 rating due to this). Favourite meals were rack of lamb and freshly caught and cooked snapper. The freshly baked breads, baked treats and cookies were delicious. Desserts were very good. They went to a great deal of trouble to provide for my rather complex dietary needs. Would have liked to see more variety of fruits at breakfast and some yoghurts but the breakfast a la carte menu was good. Spa treatments were very diversified. A body scrub hydrating treatment I had was so... relaxing and felt wonderful afterwards. Place to go to snorkel and relax and have fun conversations. Couples were honeymooners or older such as us. We were there for our 40th anniversary.

Room Tip: If you feel a rooster crowing will annoy ask for a quieter bure. Ours was long way to dining pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Austrav55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We were welcomed with song and fresh coconut juice in the coconut. We stayed in the Delana Treehouse. OMG! Beautifully appointed room. Loved the outdoor stone and coral shower! The outdoor king sized bed was lovely for napping on.

The staff was fantastic! Sirelli, does everything and somehow manages to stay on top of each guests activities.We had a wonderful group of guests and we became our own Matangi Village! We all bonded and looked forward to hanging out together. He had a great kava party with us on our last night!!! It was so much fun!! Thank you Sirelli for getting kava for us to take home to California!!! John, the bartender was excellent, very friendly, efficient and makes awesome drinks! Bibi was one of our servers and always showed us beautiful, Fijian warmth and hospitality. Fun, fantastic tour guides. OMG, Sala was adorable and cracked us up! Kay was delightful and bent over backwards to take care of details for us.

The food was absolutely delicious! Everything cooked and seasoned to perfection. Amazing fruit blend juices, assortment of homemade breads. Offerings for all sorts of dietary restrictions. All was presented beautifully and elegantly.

The romance package included a private picnic at Horseshoe Bay. We snorkeled by ourselves, had yummy sandwiches for lunch and soaked up the Fiji sunshine. We also had our romantic, candle and lantern lighted and Surf and Turf dinner on the beach. Beautiful!!! Our couples massage was great. The doors opened up to the ocean and we could experience nature while having a luxurious massage. Dreamy!

We were treated like royalty, spoiled and pampered in every way!!! We felt like we wanted to pamper the staff as they were all so good to us!! We were running out of clean clothes. Matangi actually provides complimentary laundry service! They kindly washed and IRONED our clothes! It was unbelievable!

Ohhhh, we loved the fruit bat sanctuary!! Never thought I'd like bats. We were allowed to go inside with them! The bats came to us and are quite curious, humorous creatures. One grabbed my husband's sunglasses off his head and appeared to try to put them on himself! They would lick our fingers and were very sweet! Don't miss the bats!!

There were no phones, TV's, or cars on the island. Just a perfect place to unplug, surrounded by 360 degrees of extreme beauty.

The only thing we were not very pleased about was that the rooms are advertised to be air conditioned. The bed was the only part that was air conditioned. We got pretty warm in the parts of the tree house.

We had such an amazing, unforgettable time on Matangi. We want to go back every year for our anniversary! Both of us cried when we left. Thank you all for providing such a beautiful, romantic, magical destination! Vinaka, Tom and Patti

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patti U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sireli_Cakobau, Guest Relations Manager at Matangi Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Bula Patti & Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us on Matangi and are thrilled to know that our staff were instrumental in making your stay memorable. We hope to share many more of your special occasions with you, Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matangi Island
15.2 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
360 reviews
14.5 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
15.3 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,342 km away
The Remote Resort Fiji Islands
5.5 km away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
491 reviews
14.9 km away
Taveuni Palms Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matangi Private Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matangi Private Island Resort

Address: Matangi Island Fiji, Matangi Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Matangi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matangi Island
Price Range: ₹ 24,238 - ₹ 58,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matangi Private Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 240-acre private island paradise paradise situated in the Northeast of the Fiji Group of Islands. A small boutique island resort featuring only 9 bungalows and 3 unique tree houses. Catering to adults only, Matangi Island is the ideal couples retreat offering a wide variety of activities including snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, hiking, spa services, and fine dining. Matangi Island's Horseshoe Bay was featured in '1,000 Places To See Before You Die' by Patricia Schultz. ISLANDS Magazine also rated Matangi as one of the 'Best Private Islands'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Matangi Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matangi Private Island Hotel Matangi Island
Matangi Island Private Hotel
Matangi Island Private Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing