We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meri Cottage

View from Market Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Market Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
View from Market Place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SandraE29...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really welcoming, well equipped cottage (even had a tea cosy). We were pleasantly surprised to find how spacious it was when we were inside. The setting was very attractive - we found Hartington to be a living village with real shops and a school. We were lucky enough to coincide with the Hartington Show which we enjoyed very much.

Had some good walks in the surrounding area (lots of book shops too)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and very grateful for your review. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keila60
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Locataion”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Meri Cottage offers an ideal location to explore the White Peak area. The cottage is very well equipped and there are so many amenities in the village there is no need to travel any distance. We had the advantage of beautiful weather and were able to enjoy the many walks in the immediate locality. A great few days!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and very grateful for your review. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThisRoomS...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage. Very homely.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here over the august bank holiday and must say its a lovely quaint cosy place and felt really homely.
The location is ideal and central to all the popular areas such as dovedale and matlock and thors cave.
There is a general store next door and a newsagents and a pub over the road.

After a long day walking it was nice to come back and sit down and relax with one of the many board games that are left there. Or browse through a large collection of books and dvds.

I will definately recommended this cottage to friends and family.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you

Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
1 review
“Nice cottage, good location”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As a base of operations for a couple of nights in the peak district Meri Cottage fit the bill. The pub across the road does great food and the staff were very friendly. The village shop is right next door and so getting in essential supplies was easy. Amenities in the house were good, the beds were comfortable, and the terrace garden was a nice place to relax after a day of exploring the area.
There was an unfortunate situation that on arrival the house was not ready for guests, which after 4 hours of travelling was not really what we wanted. We arrived a good 3 hours after check-in time too, but we took ourselves away from the situation for another couple of hours and it was soon resolved.
I'm sure this is just a blip but it did give a bad first impression. The owners were very apologetic and a discount for a future stay was offered, but if you're the sort of person who doesn't stay in the same place twice then this wasn't really much of a compensation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Sorry that first impressions weren't perfect. I can assure you that it was just a blip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLJ1953
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Cosy, character cottage in delightful village”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Meri Cottage is cosy, comfortable and extremely well-equipped and exceeded our expectations. Hartington is the perfect base from which to explore the southern Peak District, with many walks possible directly from the village. The Devonshire Arms served delicious meals, the Village Stores sold freshly baked pies and bread and the Cheese Shop provided an excellent range of local cheeses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you, Gwenda. I'm pleased you made the most of the village as well as the cottage.

Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing