We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back for sure!”
Review of Piatsa Michalis

Piatsa Michalis
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will be back for sure!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Is a great place where you can have a memorable dinner.We ate here twice and we loved atmosphere,food quality,the peace of the place(near to the sea).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mara197014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    50
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best Taverna in Thassos”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We went for dinner at Piatsa Michalis on our last night, a blowout as we were full board at our hotel, also as it was recommended by Trip Advisor and Albie from the Boomerang Bar, it seemed rude not too.
The service and meal were both first class, not cheap at €88 (inc. wine) for two but worth it.

Prior to ordering we had a drink in the bar adjacent to the dining area, we then moved through to order.

We started with some Tzatziki and Garlic Bread. We then had a Rocket and Balsamic Salad with Parmesan shavings, which was enormous to follow. My wife decided on fish for her main, the waiter bringing three examples to the table for her to select, which was a choice of Red Snapper, Sea Bream and some unfortunate flatfish, not unlike a Flounder. I chose a Fillet Steak, both were cooked to perfection. A complimentary sweet and Ouzo finished off a lovely meal.

At the end of the meal as we were leaving Mikos our waiter introduced us to Michalis the owner, who as most of the people on Thassos was utterly charming.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dark_Helmet2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotsman in Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

From the moment you enter the elegant surroundings of Piatsa Michalis(Right on the beachfront) you are assured of a warm welcome from Nikos and the rest of the staff. The food and service are both excellent, in particular I can recommend the grilled octopus and the special kebab (Truly Delicious). The menu is extensive with many Greek specialities all delicious. We ate here on several occasions and each time we received free ouzo and a free dessert and even a free round of drinks one night, what more could you ask for!

They even have a separate bar/lounge area with very comfortable furniture and excellent cocktails which can be enjoyed looking out to sea and watching the sunset.

All in all I cannnot recommend it highly enough, give it a try you won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mclairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quieter place to drink.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Even though we didn't eat here, we visited most night for a couple of drinks.Much more pleasant for folks who wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle and noise of the "Strip" of bars etc

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place: Piatsa Michalis”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Thassos is a lovely island in the northern part of the Aegean sea, with beatiful deep blue water, magic inland, colossal montains and picturesque villages,

My family and I, together with friends, visited Piatsa Michalis for the first time three years ago, since then we come back every summer.
To be there is refreshing and inspiring, because of the excellent location, the unique sea views, the atmosphere of the bar in the shadow of grapes, the delicious food, and especially for the wonderful kind people working there.
The location is perfect for families with children: from the pension you enter directly the open-air bar and restaurant, and from there it goes directly to the 1km long sand beach.

I am writing these lines being at this place, and I already forward coming back again next year.

Some of my pictures from Thassos you can see here. https://picasaweb.google.com/110977045989935786812/Thassos2009#

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piatsa Michalis also viewed

 

Been to Piatsa Michalis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing