We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good but now pandering to rich clientele .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
WALES
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Still good but now pandering to rich clientele .”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Returned to hotel for about the 12th time and , as ever , enjoyed our time there . However , drink prices are now ridiculously high and one beach has been made exclusive to certain guests staying in luxury accommodation . Location/food good , staff wonderful but some subtle changes in the dining hall means that all is not working as well as previously .

The hotel is isolated and walking to surrounding areas involves some hills . However , the daily free bus service to Corfu town compensates .
The British health & safety rules are being applied to top level bungalow stays which , to the say the least , is idiotic as you can stay in the much higher hotel rooms with similar balconies .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bolton07Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    180
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
206
335
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A fantastic hotel with stunning views from most parts of the hotel. The hotel is worthy of its 5 star rating and the staff in the main were helpful, polite and understood the meaning of customer service except the older, male staff at the poolside bar. The isolation of the hotel and lack of competition does mean that food and drink are expensive but a daily free bus service is provided to Corfu town. Room cleanliness was superb and the bedroom staff provided an excellent service throughout our stay. We have two criticisms of the hotel, the first being the failure to ensure that guests arriving late are accommodated in the main restaurant that shuts at 9.00pm - We arrived at 9.01pm and were offered a voucher for a lunch during our stay or a reduction on a meal at the expensive Aristos Restaurant. The second area of concern and frustration were the number of incorrect bills presented for signature particularly in the restaurant and always to the advantage of the hotel including two attempts to charge for the evening buffet that was included in our package

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the bay rather than the port. The views are stunning and from the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonmouthshireEmporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I would recommend a stay at this hotel on bed and breakfast basis only as drinks and meals are very expensive. The location is excellent - beautiful view over the bay. The rooms are a good size and so is the balcony, although being east facing it only got the morning sun - but maybe in the hotter months this is an advantage but in May it was a bit too cool to sit out in the afternoon/early evening. The staff are friendly and helpful (If you want to get out and about by public transport they will give you directions to the bus stations and a timetable - this is very useful as there does not appear to be a tourist information office in the town!) The pool and gardens are beautiful and really well looked after.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TASOS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Corfu Imperial from16th to 30th September 2011. On our second evening we ate at the Aristos Restaurant. The food and service were very good but it was very expensive - 3 courses and a bottle of wine were 168 Euros after a deduction of 12 Euros per person as we were on a half board basis. It was only later in our stay that we saw a menu for a 'Dream Dinner' at the Aristos for 45 Euros with a deduction of 20 Euros if on a half board basis. This menu has a more limited choice than the full a la carte - but still 5 starters, 5 mains and 4 desserts.We were not offered this menu on our first visit and even though my choices were all included on the 'Dream Dinner' menu we were still charged the a la carte prices. We ate at this restaurant again on our last evening and were only offered the a la carte menu on arrival .We asked to see the 'Dream Dinner' menu and ordered from this.
On checking out the next day I discussed this with reception. I said that guests should be offered both the a la carte menu and the 'Dream Dinner' menu on arrival at the Aristos. I also said that if prices were reduced more guests may eat there as there were only 5 tables occupied on our first visit and 2 on the second.There was no offer of reducing the first bill to the 'Dream Dinner' price even though all my choices had been from that menu. I felt the restaurant had ripped us off on the first visit. So beware and ask for the 'Dream Dinner 'menu.
The hotel has an excellent location. We stayed in a garden view room which was in need of some refurbishment, particularly the bathroom.
The bars are very expensive for drinks and food and guests therefore went elsewhere outside the hotel. I'm sure if prices were lowered guests would use the pool bar more during the day.
It is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just come back from a 10 night stay. We had a room on the east side of the hotel and unlike the previous reviewer enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise over the mountains and the bay beyond. Also unlike the previous reviewer we thought the gardens beautiful tended by an actve and busy groundstaff. Food is ok - big and varied breakfast menu and we always enjoyed the evening buffet. The pudding chef is clearly very talented. An upgrade to Aristos a la carte restaurant is a welcome treat.

The sea swimming was wonderful - big bay for lengthy swims and a number of varieties of fish for the snorkeller. What this hotel has in spades is the location, location, location - sea views all around yet still close to Corfu town. The photographs here do not lie.

Cannot understand other reviewers gripes about the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful at the end of a long season and the state of the rooms - if you are going away for a sunshine holiday a bedroom is really only a place where you wash and sleep etc - it was fine. Also the gripes about the Russians - they were all polite and well behaved - if you cannot cope with non-UK folk then perhaps you should not go abroad.

There are some negatives. The gym is small - should be bigger and better equipped - and the price of drinks is I am sorry to say extortionate - 7.50 euros for a goblet of fresh orange juice in the bars, 5.90 euros for a beer as examples - so many guests leave the hotel in the evening for the nearby tavernas. The hotel management really need to look at this - if they reduced their prices they would sell more drinks and overall make more money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
0.4 km away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,223 reviews
1.9 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
18.5 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
#1 of 16 in Dassia
297 reviews
21.0 km away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
581 reviews
9.4 km away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Corfu Imperial? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Property: Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Address: PO Box 130 | Komeno-Gouvia, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,861 - ₹ 54,448
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Corfu Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grecotel Corfu Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing