We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing - not 5 star quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - not 5 star quality”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Good Points:
1. Location was good and private on its own promontory - but you need a room on the SW side of the main building otherwise you only get the early morning sun on your balcony. On SW side you also have interesting views of boats heading in and out of marina across the bay.
2. Hotel staff all extremely welcoming and helpful.
3. Thomson support reps very helpful.

Bad Points:
1. Building and grounds very outdated - need completely redesigning and much rebuilding. Building generally clean but old fashioned, only one rectangular swimming pool, no separate children's pool area (except two small man-made beaches for sea swimming) and hence surrounding restaurants very noisy all day. No grand statue features or fountains as one would expect in 5 star hotel, the gardens were non-descript . (e.g. compare Hotel Sunrise Queen in Side, Turkey).
2. Room old fashioned, no security key-card, just key. Not very clean - on closer inspection - dust/cobwebs under some furniture. Double glazed windows to balcony needed replacing as they had lost the seal between the double glazed panes and exhibited internal condensation and dirt penetration - the fixed pane was so bad that it was difficult to see through it, hence it was fortunate that the weather was fine and we could sit out on the balcony.
3. Food in general very average (the El Greco in Crete was far superior). There was, on some days, an 'a la carte' option for dinner and those we tried were very good. However, most of the breakfast fruit available in bowls (tinned variety) for self service, even the dried figs, was generally fermenting, some pieces being inedible, and it was clear that it was not regularly replaced - just topped up. This was disgraceful for a supposedly 5 star hotel. I complained and there was some improvement but not sufficient.
4. The cost of drinks (perhaps being a captive audience on the relatively isolated promontory) was excessive - e.g. 13+ Euros for two small glasses of white wine around the pool or nearby outdoor restaurants - all the other guests we spoke to complained about the cost of drinks.
5. The night time entertainment was average to poor, apart from one guitar/singing duo on one night which was the best I have ever heard.

OVERALL:
Very disappointing, definitely not 5 star quality, poor value for money. Would not go back until it is completely refurbished.

Room Tip: Only get room in hotel on SW side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    189
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
219
361
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Best in Corfu! Coming back after some years I was impressed by the way the service has improved. Nice private beach, good restaurant and nice customer care.Bathrooms have been upgraded at the highest standards.Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for six days. The swimming pool is good the beach is amazing and the food and the service are very good. We stayed at a room in the main building and the room was very nice. Beautiful view of the sea from the balcony BUT the bathroom is too old and need renovation. Overall - probably the best hotel on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoolawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We found this hotel many years ago when our children were tiny. We have been visiting most years and still love the location, the beach, the views from the bedroom ( in main hotel) , the watersports centre ( our children learnt to ski here) and the variety of food on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the main hotel have totally unspoilt seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWilds42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Two friends of mine including me stayed at this hotel from the 28th of June 2011 till the 12th of July. I have chosen it for them and after reading the reviews and viewing the website, it looked like a 5* luxury hotel and looked very conviencing BUT it was nothing what I have read on the internet about it or seen on the website.

The hotel itself offers VERY poor service!!!! The breakfast and the dinner were not what one can expect at a 5 star hotel. It was more likely like a 3*** plus hotel food. The selection of food was VERY poor including fruits for breakfast and the quality of it. The fish was alwaya dry and the meat was always stale!

The hotel is full of russians and the rest of the people that are staying there are low middle class who have booked all inclusive holiday.

The rooms were not as clean and the housekeeping had to be told to clean the room better EVERY DAY!!!! - still didnt happen

This was one of the worst 5 star hotels that I have ever stayed°!

The fish restaurant is OVERPRICED where you pay 148 EUR per kilo for a lobster, which I have ordered, but it was extremely dry and was not fresh! And the rest of the food on the menu is brought from the main all inclusive buffet but they charge you for it!!! RIP OFF!!!

If you really looking for a luxury top hotel, then try to avoid this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Travelexpert1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecotel_CI, General Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Whilst we respect all personal opinions, we do not necessarily agree with all comments posted by each guest.

The comments that we have had about our breakfast and our dinner, are extremely positive on the quality and the choices that we offer. The personnel service is another aspect of our guest positive opinions.

We are surprised on your comment about the fruits as we have 15 varieties of fruits in our breakfast and dinner buffet. We are sorry that we could not satisfy you.

Furthermore, we take all comments under careful consideration and we want you to know that our goal is the constant improvement on the points that each guest mentions.

We hope to be given the chance to prove that the points metnioned are not representative of our high quality service that has attracted many guests to return year-after-year.

Tommy Ressopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
0.4 km away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,289 reviews
1.9 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
18.5 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Corfu Holiday Palace
7.5 km away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
622 reviews
0.9 km away
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
#1 of 15 in Dassia
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Corfu Imperial? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Property: Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Address: PO Box 130 | Komeno-Gouvia, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,731 - ₹ 1,70,534
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Corfu Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grecotel Corfu Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing