We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
7
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
11
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

There are some renovations going on, but that was no biggie. The host was very hospitable, the room was excellent, and the breakfast was delicious. We ate with some folks from Ontario and France, and had a wonderful time of conversation around the table. If we make another trip through St. Andrews, this will be the first place I call to reserve...

Oh one thing.... I may need a lesson on how to use the TV. I got lost trying to find something to watch..

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada_Joe_Wicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Don't let renovations dissuade you from making reservations - has no affect on accomodations. We needed 2 rooms for 3 adults with separate beds; I took the king and my friends (mother and son) took the full size with bunk beds, son is 6'2" and found bunk comfortable.

The rooms we had were charmingly decorated and very comfortable - TV w/ Netflix and DVD player with decent selection of DVDs; the king bed was perfect for my preference and the other room with full-size mattress & bunk beds is perfect for a family of 4 and bunks are good for tall adults. Nice bathrooms - the tubs in the bathrooms are large enough for 2 and shower head is placed close to center; hairdryer also provided.

Don made an exquisite breakfast. Fruit with yogurt, croissants and jam, orange juice, great coffee, milk, choice of bacon and eggs or bacon and from scratch homemade pancakes - memorably delicious.

Conversation at breakfast with young couple from Germany and our host was stimulating and engaging.

Don and his wife have taken great care in designing their house into a B & B. I know that if we come back next year we will hope and pray this will be available for us.

From conversation with Don we discovered he was well-traveled and open to all.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_W_C65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The lodge is in a quiet, rural setting just a few minutes from St. Andrew's downtown area. Our room was comfortable and the en suite bathroom was modern and well appointed. Don and his wife made us truly welcome.

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing the front seems best.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRBUSAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The Victorian-feeling house is undergoing renovations, and in some sense is a work in progress, but that's all well out of the way, and the room we were in, and the warm welcome and conversation from Don made it all pretty comfortable. Breakfast was unremarkable but good. We'd recommend it as a comfortable, economical alternative to staying in the pretty heavily touristy downtown.

Room Tip: The "family room" upstairs includes a set of bunk beds. We imagine anybody traveling with kids would find that pretty attractive.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandRussHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay in Don's home. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size. What made this a special place was Don's hospitality. The breakfast in the morning was delicious (we had pancakes, eggs and bacon) and the other two guests at breakfast were good company. The house is under renovation, which I wasn't expecting but that did not detract from our experience. We would definitely return again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews