We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very difficult review”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A very difficult review”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our 12th vacation in Cuba, and our 8th to this resort. Over the years we have made many friends there, both with other tourists we meet ther every year, and many of the staff. When we arrived we were immediately met by several staff who recognised us and welcomed us warmly like an old friend, with hugs and handshakes. We felt as if we were returning home. As usual, I can say nothing negative about the staff. They are all very friendly, wonderful people, from the gardeners, to maids to waiters, and the front desk. Rooms are very clean, and food this year seemed to be better than in previous years. Lots of choice. There is no excuse to being hungry here. The difficult part for me is that the resort itself is getting very tired. The rooms and furniture badly need an update, the pool liners are starting to bubble, and need replacing, there are many cracks and holes in the pathways, and unfortunately the beach had almost gone in front of the resort. We suspect as a result of the large cut back in staff this year. Although we did not go to Playa Sirenes, we were told by many that did that it had lots of cigarette ends and plastic cups etc on the beach. A very negative change from the pristine white sand of a few years ago. We really love this resort, and the staff, very much, and will probably go back next year, but if the repairs and renovations are not carried out, that sadly may be our last visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,711
    727
    255
    121
See reviews for
623
2,554
207
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Was upgraded from the Pelicano to the Sol Club in January 2011 and I immediately fell in love with the charms of the El Cayito. But on the last day, they ran out of tonic water. Oh well, I thought, there's always next time.

In January 2012 the bus dropped us off after the 6AM Toronto flight at 10:30AM in the hotel. The rooms were not ready, not until 3PM we were told. Others were outraged, but I just changed into my beach gear in the lobby men's room and headed for the beach, snorkeled, and say two fish underwater before lunch.

But everything in the hotel seemed just a bit run down. The El Cayito was STILL out of tonic water! That's okay, I happened to bring a bottle in my suitcase....how did I somehow know? The decorative pond at the western end by all the restaurants has not been scrubbed down in years: It looks terrible. I had a family member dying back at home and this time, of all times for that to happen, they ran out of the internet access cards. We were all cut off from the outside world for the entire week! The musicians seemed particularly dispirited, and could only work their way through a repertoire of about 18 numbers. No free-form jamming, like the Septuo Son de Calman (of Varadero fame)

My complaint is that this is the most pricey hotel on the island. I could have saved a bundle had I gone to the Playa Blanca and had the same complaints.

i will return here some day, but the magic spell has been broken.

JG, Toronto

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank studentjohn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The resort is a bit older and could do with a fresh makeover. While the rooms are clean, it does feel dated and the bathrooms could use some serious updating.

The property itself sits above a rocky ledge, so if you want the typical Cuban beach, you have to use the tram/train that takes you to Playa Paraiso or Playa Sirena. Otherwise, the resort pool is very nice, albeit noisy with the loud music at one end and the sound of the folks at the bar at the other end. It doesn't matter where sit along the pool, it's hard to avoid the noise.

The front desk and restaurant staff were always very friendly and helpful; however, we did notice the workers on the property were definitely not as outgoing. But if you initiated the "hola", they would always respectfully reply.

The food at the buffet was just OK. While there was enough variety, I do concur with other reviewers about there being way too many flies circling around the food which could be easily remedied by being covered. The food at the hot stations were often warm at best. Stick with the pasta bar, grill area and omelette stations where the food is prepared in front of you if you're concerned about proper sanitation and food preparation. There's only 1 a la carte restaurant and you do need to make a reservation. The food is definitely better but you may only be able to get in once possibly twice on a one week stay.

There is no room service and the fridge is only stocked with water.

Couple of things to point out that really make the trip more worthwhile at the beaches...

1) If you can afford it, rent a car to get to the Playa Paraiso and Playa Sirena. Otherwise, the "train" ride can be very dusty, smelly (of the gas fumes), and long (30 minutes). However, it will be a bumpy ride no matter which mode of transportation you take. With the car, you can also check out the "town" or head over to the beaches in the east (ie: Playa Blanca).

2) Get to the beach early if you want a palapa. They go FAST!

3) Try out the restaurant at Playa Sirena...If you are a lover of shellfish, the grilled giant lobster tails are AMAZING (and cheap)!!!

4) For the ladies - If you're fussed about hygiene/sanitation, bring toilet paper (as you'll only get a couple of squares with your tip), and travel wipes or hand sanitizers for the washrooms at Playa Sirena.

For the money, Sol Cayo Largo provides good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

In contrast to our first visit to the Sol Cayo Largo in March 2011, this visit was not as good. The first irritation was our room assignment which was directly adjacent to the noisy lobby and entertainment area. Being early risers, the noise was noticeable on a few occasions but especially irritating on the final night when bus loads of partiers arrived back from their Friday night Village activities at 3:00 AM. On the positive side, this was a very clean and well maintained room with an ocean view.

The major concern I have relates to a very serious stray electricity problem that existed in a food island in the buffet restaurant. I found it very offensive to be laughed at by the server who was always wearing heavy rubber soled shoes when he touched the serving trays. Even when this problem was brought to the attention of the Manager, the issue seemed to be shoved aside. The high voltage shocks were also brought to the Manager’s attention by a young French speaking lady who was wearing light soled flip flops. After her confirmation of my complaint, the rational expectation would be for the manager step into action and shut off the breaker until an electrician arrived; but this was not the case. Seeing this inaction, I started to wear my dry street shoes with a heavy pair of socks for insulation; just in case I happened to be tempted by the food (bacon) on that island. On third day, my wife watched as a barefooted man screamed and threw a serving spoon across the room when he got shocked. Good thing he didn’t have a pacemaker in his heart because he was pretty well grounded and could have died! Shortly thereafter we finally did see someone doing repairs. This safety-second attitude does not sit well with me.

On the positive side, the food in the buffet was quite good and varied. Breakfast was always good with crepes, bacon, orange juice and champagne. Lunch at the beach was good enough to get us through the day. The view of the ocean made up for the numerous flies and marginal food. Any calories not consumed at lunch were definitely made up for by the top notch Buccanero beer that was served at the beach bar. The nice man also made some excellent mixed drinks that were greatly enjoyed throughout the week. As before, the staff at the lobby bar were always very efficient at serving happy hour drinks and cappuccino’s following dinner.

There was always a good beach with ample shade and loungers. The ability to take long walks to the west helps make this a destination of choice. We’ll definitely be back to Cayo Largo but in light of our experience we’ll likely give other resorts more consideration.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlbertaFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Although many people easily complain about the food (availability and taste) as well as how the hotel is kept (cleanliness and repairs), we had a very pleasant two week stay at hotel Sol. One has to keep in mind that you are in Cuba and things are not as available or standards are not the same as in Canada. Cuba is well known for his people... friendly... charming.... going out of their way to please you. This is very true at hotel Sol. The beaches are a true paradise. If you are looking for a relaxing, uncomplicated stay in a little paradise of yours.... then go to hotel Sol. If you are looking for fine food and wine in an outstanding facility then go elsewhere.... like Sandal hotels in Jamaica. We send kisses to Michel, Saskia, Nestor, Cesar, and all the ladies at the front desk and the store.... See you again soon.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with ocean view are a must if you want to enjoy this unbelievable combination of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayPatpottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.7 km away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
281.5 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
282.7 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
181.5 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
589.8 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
278.5 km away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Property: Sol Cayo Largo
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,047 - ₹ 19,129
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Largo 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing