We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! ”
Review of L'Oste Matto

L'Oste Matto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

As a visiting Dane i went to L’Oste Matto with a local friend and had a beautiful creative and innovative meal. Every dish was an adventure - Italian with interpretations. We had a surprising white win which complemented the dishes. The rooms are very beautiful. An experience I can highly recommend in the beautiful Monte San Savino.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 223stinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

So this is one of the best meals I had on the trip what made my experience bad was the service....it is so so SO slow but not unfriendly. Similar to reviews below it took about 25 min at least to take our order (we almost got up and left) then they must have been hunting for the cow to get our steaks and we asked 3 times for the bill and then had to get up and pay at the bar and still wait some more. It’s a cool place and delicious food but seems desperately understaffed because even the waiter was plating food in the kitchen...too bad bc it takes away from the overall quality.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Champagnencaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week in Monte San Savino and during our stay we ate twice at the restaurant. When you walk in to the restaurant it feels like you are in London or NYC. The bar is very cool and behind it you see the open kitchen. Downstairs you can sit quite privately in different rooms and the outdoor tables are very nice as well. The food experience was very unexpected since it is a very nice but small town in Tuscany. The interior is great and the staff is very friendly. The pre dinner drinks were top class. We tried different dishes and they were all very nice. Due to an obsession for Carbonara I asked if they could make the dish and they did. It was spectacular as well. If you are in Monte San Savino and would like to have a really nice dinner for 1/2 of the expected price this is the place for you. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JDH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Initially we were a bit nervous about this restaurant. We arrived in a rain storm and there was no-one else in the restaurant which is deceptively large inside.
We were seated and given menus (solely in Italian) and there is quite a hip vibe about the place. Didn't know if this was the place for us. Thankfully, our attentive waiter spoke pretty good English and was able to take us through the menu (the only thing he couldn't translate was Guinea Fowl - imagine!). And the food was spectacular. Certainly the best presented meal we'd eaten in the area, it looked like something from the latter rounds of Masterchef, with a taste to match. Seemed to specialse in local dishes with a modern twist and can honestly say there wasn't anything we didn't enjoy. We had the lamb and wild boar and they were superb. The place filled up during our meal and the atmosphere enhanced the experience for us. If you're in Monte San Savino (and can locate this place in the maze of winding tiny street), this place is a gem. Would love to go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by our host where we were staying and made us a reservation. Upon arrival we were given menus and eventually some water. For the next 40 minutes we were completely ignored although one of the waitresses passed by our table numerous times and did throw down a wine list. It did not appear to be that busy and we finally decided to leave. One of the staff said they were busy with a large table and that was their explanation. They could have had the common decency to explain that to us instead of being so rude. Their food may be very good according to other reviews, but I guess our group will never know. Good service and competent staff have to go along with good food or people will never go back.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Oste Matto also viewed

Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
 
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
 
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to L'Oste Matto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing