We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
1
1
4
12
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
1
4
12
64
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We got a pack for 2 nights 3 days in halong harbour. We paid $115 all included.
This hotel was part of it. Expectations were not satisfied for what we paid. A guy with an army hat in halong tourist harbour sell it to us. Be very careful when booking a trip!

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jurnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Bad place! We booked it with a tour. First room was smelling like cigarettes and their where a lot of ants. It was easy I change the room but we got a room with ants as well and a very dirty bathroom. The prices are far too much! Try to ding another place

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Like many of the reviews for this hotel We were also on the 'Joy' travel package. The hotel was a little better in August 2014 than some of the reviews, but it was still poor. The room was ok, it had fans and decent sized beds, the shower was warm. However the sheets were dirty when we arrived, and when new ones were requested, slightly cleaner ones were the replacement, featuring stains and cigarette burns. The receptionists all appeared to not really care about the guests, perhaps as it was pre-arranged by the tour. The food was actually quite good, but the reception area/restaurant was shabby and dirty. The hotel was situated with 2 buildings close... both brothels, and was a 5 minute wander to the town and waterfront. If you can please avoid, but like me I imagine you will read this too late!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the worst hotels ever, we came from the boat tours doing 1 night on a boat and another two nights at the hotel, the staff were so rude didn't help and shouted at people who went and asked question, food was okay but got the same thing 2 nights in a row and got no choice so if you vegetarian good luck.

Service is the worst I have ever seen and don't hire a motorbike from across the road as they will scam you like they did with us and nearly call the police if you don't pay!!!!

The rooms ate mouldy and have a weird smell and there were ants and cockroaches all over the place the only thing good about the rooms is the ac which work very well!!!!!!

Room Tip: DONT!!!! Their rooms are awful
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was part of a package tour from Hanoi to Halong Bay. The tour was terrible too but the icing on the cake was definitely our stay at the Sunflower Hotel. From the moment we walked in, the staff were rude, absent and have no idea how to run a hotel.

There were no towels in our room so when I walked down the five floors. The man behind the counter was obnoxious and Made it quite apparent that I was a massive inconvenience. The towels were blood stained and absolutely filthy, when we asked for new towels, they gave us a dirty damp towel that someone had obviously used already. When we said we wanted another one, they returned the blood stained towel.

The air conditioner does not work.
The television is not working - not a biggie when you're on an island.

The food portions, except the serving of rice, was very poor. We hadn't eaten all day and they had us rationing the tiny portions among 6 adults.

For a place that has such a high volume of guests and quick turnovers, this place really has so much work to do. First and foremost the service needs to be seen to. The worst I have experienced in South East Asia and it has really put a dampener on our short trip to Halong bay.

Vietnam is a magnificent country but maybe don't do an organize tour and search for accommodation when you get here. It appears that all travellers we've bumped into feel the same way about Halong bay.

There is no functioning wireless, even though they give you the password for the rooms. It does not work.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank CaoifeD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews