We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great small resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great small resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a fabulous place to unwind. We drove here from the airport in San Juan. Stayed 3 nights and it was a perfect place to relax, swim, eat really good food, explore the nearby dry forest (Guanica) and a side trip to Ponce. I understand that the beach area is now spoiled with sea grass, but we didn't come here to swim in the beach. We noticed that the resort has a family orientation for guests: lots of multi-generational families! If you're looking for loud night action, this isn't the place to go. The food at the restaurant was quite good, albeit a bit pricey as breakfast alone was $12 to $15 per person with coffee. One of the mornings featured an all you can eat breakfast buffet which was a far better value.We didn't take advantage of the boat trips and watersports activities since we had plans to bareboat charter our own sailing yacht to visit the Spanish Virgin Islands after our stay here. But, I would imagine that these options would be fun.

Our room was spacious with a balcony. The only negative was the in-room air conditioner. It made a racket, but after the first night, we kind of got used to it. Some of you may never make this adjustment, though. It could be a deal breaker.

The grounds are immaculate and the service was appropriate for the type of resort it is.

Room Tip: Check the noise of the AC in your assigned room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    404
    143
    67
    31
See reviews for
404
475
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our family of five including parents and young adults all enjoyed our 5 day stay at copamarina. Our adjoining garden rooms were just steps away from pool, beach and dining. In addition to enjoying the resort amenities we took short trips in the surrounding area including: dry forest hikes from the parking off 334 (keep left at each fork on 334 until you see the gate) and from 333 (go right out of copamarina), several beaches including ballena and tamarindo (right out of copamarina), gilligan's island (quiet on a monday, cross the inlet to find a path that will take you to the top of the inlet from where you can snorkel down), guenica bakery for cheap delicious food, Paradise in La Paguerra for great snorkeling , the malecon for salsa dancing in Guenica on the weekend. We all thought the food was great at copamarina and the staff was very friendly; special dishes were made for the vegetarians in our group. The breakfast package was well worth it ($12 per person per day). The sea was a little rough while we were there (unusual for this spot), but still enjoyable. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Garden room had views of the sea and garden. Rooms are a little bit small but were fine for us and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Way off the beaten path, the Copamarina provides the beauty, service, and comfort of a big carribbean beach resort without the "big" or the big price. It reminds us of going to St. John. The property is lush and the water calm. They provide a personal touch.

There have a been a few comments about the seaweed, and yes, it does exist. We are not big ocean swimmers, so it wasn't a big deal.

The fancy restaurant gets a 3 star rating. It is ok, but not memorable. Good enough for a casual stay at this perfect resort. The casual restaurant is open to the beach and a lot of fun. The food is good and the drinks are great.

The rooms are understated but have AC, phone, TV, and wireless internet. The best part is they open out onto the beach.

We WILL be coming back and might make this our annual beach getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mlferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

beautiful location to stay after visiting Old San Juan; secluded, beautifully situated on Guanica Beach, the hotel has 2 pools,one of which is fairly large; not a large scale resort, but beautifully landscaped; rooms are attractive with small frig...great since during the week only one of two restaurants were open-food at the open air restaurant was very good; during the week, there were few people around---it felt very quiet and private......visits to the center of Ponce and San German recommended! My visit was in early March--temps in mid 80's!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

After several island hotels with high funkiness factor, we were delighted to find ourselves at the magnificent Copamarina. The price was higher but well worth every extra penny.

The hotel and its many amenities are so well described in the preceding positive reviews I can only add my ditto.

We, too, went to Gilligan (spelled Guilligan in the Spanish form) Island on the hotel shuttle and found it absolutely packed by Saturday family outing groups. (It was quite a picturesque scene to find a whole multi-generational family sitting in a big circle in the water under a huge umbrella.) If hotel visitors want to do some snorkeling, sunbathing, picnicking and swimming there, they should plan to go on a weekday. Kayak is also a good way to go.

It's true the hotel beach is shallow for some distance and seaweedy at first, but you can swim off the dock and avoid the walk out to deeper water. The public beach mentioned by others adjacent to the hotel is perfect.

We thought the $18 breakfast buffet was a bit pricey, but we were, in fact, only charged for one breakfast as the waitress noticed how little we ate; a rare and much-appreciated gesture.

Some neighboring guests, in youthful exuberance, had a boom box turned up very high but this was stopped with just a single call to the front desk.

The whole place is beautiful and it was a joy to be there. We look forward to a return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well-sited but ours, on the upper floor, really had a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
102.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
5.4 km away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
140.1 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
115.8 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
102.1 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
128.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,454 - ₹ 16,767
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing