We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to the Sinalei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Si'umu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have two sets of friends who have been here in the last 4 months and recommended the resort and the restaurant, but there is no way I would do now. The food was so appalling (like being served lasagna still frozen in the middle, as one of many examples), that nearly everyone was walking to Coconuts for their evening meal (20+ people) - Incidentally Coconuts served fabulous food including Cajun Sushimi Tuna - a real treat. There were so few guests staying at Sinalei for the evening meal that the list of what was actually available from the menu got shorter and shorter.
The accommodation was fine, and the staff were cheerful, but lost or missed communicated requests and rubbish in gardens and sea behind the restaurant detracted from the package.
Sorry, but this place needs to pull its socks up as there are plenty of other great destinations in Samoa to go to.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms were the best in my opinion
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank flackatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Lava, we are sorry that your were disappointed after your recent visit to Sinalei. Thank you for your constructive comments about our menu, which we are in the midst of changing - in line with our food philosophy - Farm & Ocean to Plate. We appreciate your comments in regards to service, as we continue to train & up skill our lovely, friendly staff so that we can constantly improve our guest experience. With Alofas from the Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two weeks in August. It is located at the South of the Island, about 45 minutes from the Airport.
The resort is set in a beautiful idyllic location on a palm fringed beach. We were given an upgrade to an Ocean View room which was clean and tidy with a large patio overlooking the ocean - great for sundowners!
The resort offers free use of kayaks and snorkeling and has a swimming pool. There were always plenty of sun loungers available both by the pool and on the beach, however, they were not the most comfortable and having some nice padded cushions would have been appreciated.
The spa is beautiful and it was blissful having massages overlooking the ocean, although my husband did have a massage with one of the therapists that he did not really enjoy. Tiana who appeared to be in charge was lovely and helped us with our bookings and selecting our therapists.
In comparison to other resorts we have stayed at we found the food to be a bit hit and miss. There was a fairly limited menu and there were a few times when they got our order wrong. Although we did eat at the resort for the majority of our stay we did also try the restaurant at Cocos the resort a 10 min walk along the beach. We found their menu to be slightly better with a lot more choice. There were also a couple of beachfront cafes in between the two hotels that also provided another cheaper option for food.

The staff at the hotel were all lovely and friendly (special mention to Dominque, Jerome and Michael), however at times we were left feeling a little frustrated in dealing with the reception staff when trying to organise trips.

Overall we enjoyed our two week stay but could have enjoyed it a little but more with improved reception service and and wider selection of food choices.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsykes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Lava - Lovely to hear that you enjoyed a full two weeks retreat with us in Samoa this August! Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff (we will pas along your kind words!), beautiful garden & atmosphere, Your Ocean View Villa, our Tui I Lagi Spa along with our beach, snorkel gear & kayaks! Thank you for your suggestions & comments about the Reception Service & the Restaurant menu, we are in the midst of menu changes - all in line with our Food Philosophy, Farm & Ocean To Plate. We are also re-training our Front Office staff to be more in-line with modern technology and needs. We appreciate your comments, as we constantly aim to improve our guests experience. With Alofa from Samoa, the Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a lovely week away. Welcoming friendly place. The resort is set is a beautiful area, lovely beach for snorkelling and kayaking . Beautiful spa idyllic setting.
The resort is really not set up for anyone with mobility issues. Some of the paths a bit rough and the lightening a bit sparse in areas.
The garden view room was private and lovely. We were up graded to beach front for last couple of nights and drinks on the deck with the sun setting was quite magical.
Golf was fun and clubs and balls rented for fairly low cost 9 holes .

We hired a car for couple of days which was good way to get around the island and see all the sites .

The only disappointment was the food . Cost quite high and standard pretty average . Shame as if this was better the my rating for this place would be a lot higher.

The Coconut resort just a walk down the beach was still quite high price bit much better standard .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Lava Liz, Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Sinalei! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a relaxing getaway, with a chance to unwind & enjoy the resort gardens, beach, spa, kayaks & snorkeling & our 9 hole golf course! Many thanks for your notes in regards to our menu, which we are in the midst of updating to fully encompass our food philosophy - Farm & Ocean to Plate with the help of our new Chef whom has just joined our team. With Alofa from the Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely relaxing 10 day visit
Jerome and Rosa were excellent in making sure all our requests were accommodated as best as possible
Water sports guys were fun and very friendly
Delicious breakfasts, great bar menu and Ava Toga restaurant was my favorite
As this is a South Pacific island not all fresh produce is available all the time , not the resorts fault at all it's just they way it is in Samoa ( something to be aware of when visiting to avoid frustration)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy101567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Mandy, thank you for spending your 10 day holiday here with us at Sinalei! Lovely to know that you had a relaxing getaway, looked after by our friendly staff, especially Jerome & Rosa! With alofas from all of us at Sinalei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed at this resort for a week in July and had such a lovely time. The staff were so friendly and welcoming . We were met at the airport and driven across the island from Apia to Sinalei where we each had a garden fale. These were spacious and comfortable and very clean and set in lovely tropical,gardens just a few minutes walk to the sea.We swam every day in the sea and the pool and it was so warm and easy to get into. The breakfasts were delicious, lovely tropical,fruit and yoghurt and toast and cereal followed by eggs done to your liking along with bacon and other options. The cultural day was worth attending and we loved making the woven mats , seeing the way they made the Umu and going on the village tour. The dinner in the evening was delicious, especially #2 pig cooked on the Umu.
We did an island tour one day and this was great . We had evening meals at the resort and these were good but we enjoyed our meals on two nights at a little beach club just along the beach and would recommend this as well.
All in all a very memorable and wonderful holiday in a very relaxing place with lovely staff so I would totally do,this all again!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Public Relations Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Talofa Lava Jan! We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing holiday here in Samoa with us! Thank you for your lovely comments about our friendly staff, your Villa, the resort pool, beach, gardens, menu & restaurants & Culture Day activities! We look forward to your next visit, with Alofas from the Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Si'umu
19.9 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
34.0 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#4 of 29 in Apia
212 reviews
20.2 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
392 reviews
17.1 km away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa

Address: Si'umu, Upolu 1510, Samoa
Phone Number:
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Si'umu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Si'umu
Price Range: ₹ 12,768 - ₹ 35,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An untouched beach front paradise, where the irresistible beauty of nature surrounds you. Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa offers a range of 29 villa hideaways with garden, ocean view or beach side settings, and stunning abundant tropical surrounds. An absolute utopia for couples and honeymooners accepting guests over 12 years of age only. *WIFI & Internet access is available at the Resort at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinalei Reef Hotel Apia
Sinalei Reef Apia
Sinalei Reef Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing