We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel La Barme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Barme
Ranked #3 of 17 Cogne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed for 7 nights on the hotel's Autumn Colours special. This provided half board (with 3 nights al la carte); a walk with a Park guide, visit to a cheese farm and free use of the hotel's bikes. We loved every minute of the stay. The hotel is so friendly, and has a charming and relaxed atmosphere. The owners are so welcoming and the staff are great - so helpful and they work incredibly hard to make your stay great. Rooms are not luxurious, but they are clean, simple and have all you could need. They are well maintained and spotless.

Food was plentiful, tasty and varied. The restaurant staff were exceptionally good and remembered personal details such as wine preferences, walks we had taken etc. and always chatted whilist being very efficient. They made us feel so welcome. I am a vegetarian and ate well every night. The restaurant couldn't have been more accommodating. We highly reccommend drinking the local Cave de 11 Communes wines which are from the local area and very reasonably priced in the hotel. We liked them so much we stopped at the Cave on the way home and stocked up.

The location of the hotel is fantastic - views are beautiful, walking is on the doorstep (but note that the only way is up!). Valnontey is about 15 minutes by car up the valley from Cogne(and a nice easy walk by the river) and the hamlet is tiny and sleepy. Every evening chamois came down to graze on the slope opposite the hotel and we regularly saw foxes in the field to the side of the hotel.

The Gran Paradiso National Park is wonderfully unspoilt and there are many trails for fantastic walks - we recommend the Val de Bardonney from Lillaz as one of the the most beautiful and peaceful places we have visited. The other benefit to the Park is that we walked every day for 5 - 6 hours and often saw no other people or at the most one or two at most!

I can't recommend this place highly enough - but kind of want to keep it a secret! It's gorgeous!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    58
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
67
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed a very warm welcome from the owners. The hotel is comfortable and relaxed and feels like a home away from home. The food was excellent. We stayed on a half board basis and they were happy to offer alternatives to the set menu for my my gluten free diet. We enjoyed local walking and so found the location ideal for our purposes. The hotel is also situated very close to the stop for the local summer bus for those days you may wish to travel outwith the immediate valley.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linmac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I am just back from a week of cross country skiing, staying at La Barme with my wife and 5 1/2 year old daughter. I travel a lot and it's been ages since I've been so enthusiastic about a hotel. First a word about the area. Cogne is a pleasant sizable village at 1,500 meters altitude with plenty of restaurants and hotels, and excellent cross country skiing. There's a also a small downhill area and a very good ski school (Scuola Sci Gran Paradiso). We chose the area because it's low key, we could cross country ski, and our daughter could learn both downhill and xcountry. Valnontey, where La Barme is, is a cluster of around a dozen buildings about 3 km away from the main village and about 100 meters higher. It's set in extraordinary mountain scenery with cross country trails heading off both up and down the valley (we saw both foxes and chamois during our stay). In the summer you can take great hikes into the Gran Paradiso national park. It's also the end of the road so it's silent at night. La Barme is an old stone and wood building. It's not luxury - the rooms are simple - but everything is so well thought out and the family that runs it are so welcoming. They speak Italian, French and English. We had a two room `suite' so that our daughter had her own little room. Our bathroom was simple (shower, no bath) but had two sinks. Everything is spotlessly clean. If I have to complain about something it's that like many Italian budget hotels, our double bed was two single beds put together and they were a bit lumpy. But we still slept fine. We paid 152 euros a night, with breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was a healthy spread of cereals, breads, yogurts and fruit. Dinner changed every night, was always good, and they'd always make special dishes for children. (the dinner menu would be pinned up early every morning and you could ask for special dishes for whatever reason). Wine is not included, but good local wines ranged from 10 to 18 euros a bottle. There's a large common area where people gather in the evening to chat and where kids could play or watch TV. The owners have stocked it with coloring books and board games. I'd just make one warning: this isn't a place for sleeping in. Almost everyone either had children or was there to take part in the valley's other great speciality, which is ice climbing, and requires an early start. By 8 o'clock everyone is up and about (also, avoid room 18, which is right off the common areas). There's a garage (5 euros a day), cross country and snowshoe renrtal, and a small hot tub and sauna (free). There's an internet terminal everyone can use, plus free wi-fi. Plus there's a sled run right in front of the hotel and free sleds. The week we were there most guests were Italian families, but there were also French, English and Canadians, and everyone made friends. It added up to a lovely stay. We ate well, skied many hours a day, got rest, made friends, and didn't spend that much money. What more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here because we like mountain scenery and wanted to do a bit of walking. The hotel and restaurant are really good. We don't eat meat but nothing was too much trouble to suit our wants. The owners are friendly and helpful as are the staff. Our room was a bit small but it was OK. It's a great centre and quieter than Cogne. There are fantastic walks straight from the hotel up the valley, or you can drive to the many neighbouring valleys. Place has lots of character. One of the best holidays we've had.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SergeiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka Prefecture, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Balme in the Gran Paradiso National Park for three nights during a hiking trip in the French and Italian Alps. The hotel is comfortable, but what makes it special is the warmth and commitment of the owners, Nathalie and Stefano, who really made us feel at home. We had half-board: the buffet breakfasts were very good and the dinners excellent, with second helpings offered most nights. No chance of going hungry here! The hotel is in the small village of Valnontey, a 5-minute bus ride or lovely walk from Cogne, and makes an ideal base for hikes in the Gran Paradiso National Park. Among others, the ascent to Rifugio Sella and back, while steep, makes an excellent one-day hike, with fine views of the snow peaks and glimpses of wildlife. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john8tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cogne hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
2.6 km away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#4 of 17 in Cogne
365 reviews
2.7 km away
Residence Chateau Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
561 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#6 of 17 in Cogne
271 reviews
2.7 km away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#7 of 17 in Cogne
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Barme? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barme

Property: Hotel La Barme
Address: Frazione Valnontey 8, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cogne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,869 - ₹ 15,097
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Barme 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant La Barme is situated in the heart of the Gran Paradiso National Park, just 2 km from the village of Cogne. The building and its location are in perfect harmony with the quaint rustic village of Valnontey with its beautiful mountain scenery and wildlife. This charming hotel has been developed from a cluster of authentic old mountain buildings, in keeping with the local tradition of stone and wood in valdôtain style. It is charming and quaint . The hotels unique situation is a superb base for walking and hiking in the summer and cross-country skiing and icefall climbing in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Barme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing