We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,060)
Filter reviews
2,060 results
Traveller rating
841
648
344
150
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
841
648
344
150
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course cocktail bar pentland restaurant play golf beautiful hotel main restaurant leisure club afternoon tea long weekend the main house leisure facilities changing rooms beautiful grounds buffet style weekend break enjoyable stay steam room
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,060 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a birthday party having stayed here a few years back and personally recommended it to our family at which now I very much regret
After getting ready and heading down for a few drinks before our meal we found out that the only bar in the main hotel was closed to a private party so had to sit in a lounge and wait for someone to come and serve us which took us over half an hour to get a beer
we sat down at 7 for our meal got our starter at 8 the main at 9 and the dessert at 10 the service was shocking
The men (4 of us ) all ordered the ribeye steak and all of them were sent back I have to say this was honestly the worst steak I’ve had the misfortune of trying to eat I gave up as couldn’t cut through the thing
The only saving grace from me starving was the chips
There are so many nice hotels around this area than this overpriced place best advice is avoid
Sorry to be blunt I never leave bad reviews but for the horrendous food experience I feel I had too

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank djmfromkdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Director of Operations at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear djmfromkdy, thank you for your review of the Dalmahoy, firstly can I start off by offering you my sincere apologies for the evident disappointment you experienced whilst staying with us. I fully appreciate that this is not the level of service you would expect and that it also detracted from your stay. I will personally review your comments with our Executive Chef and Bars and Restaurant Manager. If you wish to discuss your review in more detail, then please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel on dirk.bunksoek@dalmahoyhotelandcountryclub.co.uk whereupon we can review your comments in more detail. Again, I appreciate your review and once again, my apologies. Kind regards Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

If your staying at this hotel and hope to sleep, don’t stay here. The beds are hard as a rock. Our first night was spent on two twin beds pushed together. The beds were so hard, we would have been better off on the floor. When I asked to be moved, we were sent two doors down. This time we at least had a king size bed, but it was just as hard as the two twin beds. The hotel is beautiful on the outside, but a maze on the inside. We will never stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lcornis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Director of Operations at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lcornis1, thank you for your review following your recent stay and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We have recently invested in new beds and mattresses and have carried out regular surveys to ensure the beds and mattresses are in a good condition. I am sorry your original room was not up to the standard expected and again can only offer you my apologies. I agree that the layout of the hotel can be challenging at times, this is unfortunately not something we can remedy due to the constraints of the building. Once again, thank you for your review, we appreciate all our guest comments. Kind regards Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is on a lovely property and is very beautiful. The rooms are average but have everything you need and are comfortable. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful which has been rare on our trip through Scotland at other hotels where we have been treated as if we are an inconvenience. The staff went out of their way here to make sure we had a good stay. Breakfast and lunch here were good. Hotel is near bus stop to get into town. I usually don't write reviews but I wanted to call out the staff because our experience overall in Europe for hotel staff has been very negative.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KateEdwardsKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Director of Operations at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KateEdwardsKey, thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, I will ensure these are shared with all the team at the hotel. Kind regards Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The grounds are lovely however be forewarned if you are a business traveller to check out their restaurant menu before you travel. if you find it isn't to your liking its a long trip back into town for food.

The room was adequate with a good sized TV. The door to the room offers little protection to any noise from the corridor.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtyh7836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Director of Operations at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dtyh7836, thank you for taking time to review and comment on Dalmahoy we really do appreciate it. I do hope you will consider visiting with us in the near future. Kind Regards Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Not my favourite type of hotel, absolutely massive but really well run with good, well priced food and drink. Quite a drive from the city centre, very corporate and if that’s what you prefer, then fine.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, Director of Operations at Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Meryl B, thank you so much for taking the time to review Dalmahoy we value this very much. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews