We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
116
21
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
21
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish omelette true home home away from home warm hospitality large garden remember forever home delivery haven of peace terracotta temples flowering shrubs art loving great conversationalist welcoming environment tall trees adorn the walls local delicacies creature comforts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nayana's homestay was a revelation that unpeeled in layers, taking its time, a refuge from the dust and crowd, its warm, cosy interiors clean, eclectic, and fulsome. The home cooked food provided by Borgi da and the excellent breakfast by Maku cushioned our stay at Chhota Kothi, providing comfort food that was light on the stomach.

The itinerary that Nayana di planned for us to the terracotta temples and the zamindari past of Birbhum was an invigorating experience, an eye-opener that we would love to revisit.
The late-night chats, sitting curled up in her cosy drawing room by lamplight was just what my jaded, exhausted mind required. We couldn’t have asked for a better getaway than this to unwind, find our mojo again and rejuvenate.

We felt safe, cared for, and nourished, truly a holiday to remember and yearn for again.

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank SuchoDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Suchirita and family.
What a pleasure to host you. I sincerely miss the " late night chats". Really wish we had more time. Please do come back.
Best and New Year Greetings to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a fantabulous experience from the start. Ever graceful warm Nayana along with her trusted team Nobi ,Maku n Ronnie made the stay a comfortable pleasure. Birbhum district tour along with Nayana n Shibu is a must take. Viewing the heritage structures, understanding rajbari history , feeling the country side , shopping in village haat is a memorable experience . Evening intellectual discussion with Nayana was very refreshing n informative. She connected me with a couple of her artist friends n it was a crazy experience in a great way. Thanks Nayana for the lovely time. We would love to welcome you to Delhi whenever you visit next

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank _sam71065
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

It was very interesting to meet you and know you.
So happy you enjoyed our neck of the woods.
Please do return.
Bring your family. Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nayana's place of abode 'Chota Kothi' made a delightful stay. A warm-hearted host, who pour's her Heart out in taking care of her guests, to the minutest of detail. My stay not only provided a comfortable Home, the Home cooked specially ordered meals too were delectable. Nayana also spent time with her Guests, in show-casing some of the fabulous sights and sound of Shantiniketan, including great meetings with local Artisans. A Perfect Stay, with great memories - I am going back there soon. It's a plum choice for a traveler. Go Visit Nayana's ..

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manosh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a fun experience it was to meet you. So happy you enjoyed our little neck of the woods.
As you know, Ronnie was suitably impressed too:)
Look forward to your next visit.
Many thanks for your kind words and encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chota Kothi at Shantiniketan is like home away from home. The gracious hostess Nayana will make sure your stay is comfortable & you will feel as if you are staying with a long lost friend.
The highlight of the trip is going around the nearby villages to see the terracotta temples, ruins of palatial houses & palaces.
So if you are in Shantiniketan do stay with Nayana & experience her hospitality & warmth.

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank Breakaway2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bindu, What a pleasure it was to finally meet you. Breakaway has been a great support over these years but it was the first time that YOU visited! Hopefully the first of many.
Loved spending time with you. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was a wonderful and delightful experience.felt like home ,so beautiful every corner had a different angle,rooms were so comfortable and nayana herself is so kind and generous.had an amazing experience.
Bhakti khemka.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bhaktik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Bhakti for your kind words.
Lovely meeting you and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews