We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
116
21
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
21
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish omelette true home home away from home warm hospitality large garden remember forever home delivery haven of peace terracotta temples flowering shrubs art loving great conversationalist welcoming environment tall trees adorn the walls local delicacies creature comforts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chota Kothi at Shantiniketan is like home away from home. The gracious hostess Nayana will make sure your stay is comfortable & you will feel as if you are staying with a long lost friend.
The highlight of the trip is going around the nearby villages to see the terracotta temples, ruins of palatial houses & palaces.
So if you are in Shantiniketan do stay with Nayana & experience her hospitality & warmth.

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank Breakaway2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bindu, What a pleasure it was to finally meet you. Breakaway has been a great support over these years but it was the first time that YOU visited! Hopefully the first of many.
Loved spending time with you. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was a wonderful and delightful experience.felt like home ,so beautiful every corner had a different angle,rooms were so comfortable and nayana herself is so kind and generous.had an amazing experience.
Bhakti khemka.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bhaktik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Bhakti for your kind words.
Lovely meeting you and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021

We were just searching randomly a place to stay at Shantiniketan for two nights and we have found "Chota Kothi" by sheer luck. So, we contacted Nayana Di and even before we reach there we feel how much she cares for her guests. She guided us in every steps so that we can reach safely. Chota Kothi is a beautiful home surrounded by lots of greeneries and peace. It is an ideal place who wants to stay within the nature and that too within moving too far from Visva Bharti campus.

As soon as we reach we immediately fell in love with Chota Kothi. We loved every bit of it, starting from morning teas at the front porch with the chirping of birds, aesthetically done interior with victorian style antique furnitures and collections of many art pieces that Nayana di collected from all over the world, the long adda session with Nayana di and hear her stories which will enrich you as a person, absolutely delicious Spanish omelette that Maku makes for the breakfast, collection of great books, great food from Bargi da (suggested by nagana di) and loving presence of Ronnie. We have never ever found a host like Nayana di who hailed from a world famous family of Tagore but still is so grounded and warm person who will always make you feel at home.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vacation63927
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2021

So good to you and the young man. Look forward to usurping next visit when we go textile hunting in ernest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2021 via mobile

Staying at ‘Chota Kothi’ was a unique, refreshing and invigorating experience. Special in every sense - made so by the gracious and warm hospitality of Nayana, Maku and Ronnie. A memorable visit with thoughts to be cherished for long. Shantiniketan remains Shantiniketan because of quarters like ‘Chota Kothi’ and genial hosts like Nayana.

Room tip: Don’t miss sitting out on the porch while being spoilt sipping the savoury tea prepared by Maku
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amitendup2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Most humbled by your very kind words.
It was delightful to meet Paroma and you.
Please be in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Words fall short to review this beautiful and peaceful abode 'Chota Kuthi; - which we thought is truly a home away from home. The first highlight of our trip has been the ever friendly, charming, generous and fun host of the homestay - Nayana di! A scintillating conversationalist, one who has travelled over 58 countries and comes with myriad experiences, knowledge and illustrious heritage ofcourse - our incessant chats or "adda" with her every evening has left us deeply enriched. We simply loved the way she hosted us for 3 nights, looking meticulously into every details to ensure our stay is seamless and memorable. From guiding us how to reach her home, suggesting quick/offbeat sightseeing spots (whatever is possible in the pandemic - we visited Surul Rajbari and the beautiful terracota temples this time) with the ever dependable Nobi da, the Toto man, unique shopping recommendations, food/eatery choices - in everything her warmth. hospitality and welcoming environment stirred my heart.

The second highlight is ofcourse her elegant home, situated in a beautiful green neighborhood, where a number of antiques and beautiful artefacts from her travels across the world have a story to tell; some breathtaking works of art & historic photographs that adorn the walls of the home. The ample verdant lawn houses a number of interesting plants and trees and with many species of birds - a photographer's delight indeed (my husband was thrilled). The open terraces are great for tea time (with yummy 'Beguni" in the evenings. We loved the airy front and rear verandas of the house which are ideal places to relax and soak in nature in its entirety. My room was spacious, comfortable, aesthetically done and had all the amenities including an inspiring bookshelf.

And it would be a shame if I didnt mention the awesome, delectable food that we had during our stay. Maku di, rustles up delicious meals, her Spanish Omlette for breakfast is legendary now, and we were lucky to have sampled some of her lip-smacking Santhal dishes. We ordered our lunch and dinner from Borgi da, another excellent recommendation from Nayana di - and his food is absolutely extraordinary and came at reasonable prices. In every way it felt like we are at home, unwinding and enjoying to the fullest.

Thanks very much Nayana di! This is a heavenly homestay and a visit to remember forever. We are definitely coming back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GargiC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

I'm touched and humbled by your kind words. It was MY pleasure. It was such a treat to host the 3 of you. Such fun. Really look forward to your return. In the meantime, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews