We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
111
19
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
19
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish omelette true home home away from home warm hospitality large garden remember forever home delivery haven of peace terracotta temples flowering shrubs art loving great conversationalist welcoming environment tall trees adorn the walls local delicacies creature comforts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Words fall short to review this beautiful and peaceful abode 'Chota Kuthi; - which we thought is truly a home away from home. The first highlight of our trip has been the ever friendly, charming, generous and fun host of the homestay - Nayana di! A scintillating conversationalist, one who has travelled over 58 countries and comes with myriad experiences, knowledge and illustrious heritage ofcourse - our incessant chats or "adda" with her every evening has left us deeply enriched. We simply loved the way she hosted us for 3 nights, looking meticulously into every details to ensure our stay is seamless and memorable. From guiding us how to reach her home, suggesting quick/offbeat sightseeing spots (whatever is possible in the pandemic - we visited Surul Rajbari and the beautiful terracota temples this time) with the ever dependable Nobi da, the Toto man, unique shopping recommendations, food/eatery choices - in everything her warmth. hospitality and welcoming environment stirred my heart.

The second highlight is ofcourse her elegant home, situated in a beautiful green neighborhood, where a number of antiques and beautiful artefacts from her travels across the world have a story to tell; some breathtaking works of art & historic photographs that adorn the walls of the home. The ample verdant lawn houses a number of interesting plants and trees and with many species of birds - a photographer's delight indeed (my husband was thrilled). The open terraces are great for tea time (with yummy 'Beguni" in the evenings. We loved the airy front and rear verandas of the house which are ideal places to relax and soak in nature in its entirety. My room was spacious, comfortable, aesthetically done and had all the amenities including an inspiring bookshelf.

And it would be a shame if I didnt mention the awesome, delectable food that we had during our stay. Maku di, rustles up delicious meals, her Spanish Omlette for breakfast is legendary now, and we were lucky to have sampled some of her lip-smacking Santhal dishes. We ordered our lunch and dinner from Borgi da, another excellent recommendation from Nayana di - and his food is absolutely extraordinary and came at reasonable prices. In every way it felt like we are at home, unwinding and enjoying to the fullest.

Thanks very much Nayana di! This is a heavenly homestay and a visit to remember forever. We are definitely coming back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GargiC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

I'm touched and humbled by your kind words. It was MY pleasure. It was such a treat to host the 3 of you. Such fun. Really look forward to your return. In the meantime, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021

I'll start by giving 6 out of 5 stars for Nayana Gangooly's homestay

Ans the first star goes for the bed where we had an 8 hour uninterrupted sleep from day 1 in probably the most comfortable mattress in over 50 years of travelling

The place is beautifully appointed, and exactly the perfect place to wind down after cycle touring

Which brings me to the cycle tours around north and west Santiniketan on x 2 Rockriders from Decathlon

The countryside is flat, green, with literally hundreds of watercourses, great roads and brilliant dhabas *with* toilets

Nayana orders meals, but if you are lucky (as we were) the completely brilliant Maku will come up with literally heavenly meals

One trip to be repeated every year!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Manish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Oh,I really hope you will visit more than just ONCE a year! Will research more cycling routes...and the pomelo..don't forget the pomelo.
Thank you so very much for your very kind words. It was indeed a pleasure. Please. Do visit again. Soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Well we again visited Nayana's homestay within a span of six months. This time we enjoyed all the more. Nayana's hospitality ,Ronnie(the doggo) were all present and welcomed us with open arms.Borgi's food(Home delivery) was also one of the highlights. We will definitely come back again and again.My daughter was suffering from altered taste (post vaccination) but Nayana went out of her way to make her feel comfortable. This place is a true Home and not just a stay and IS 500% RECOMMENDED.

Keep the flag flying high!!

Room tip: Choose the AC room when you are travelling during summers.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

Swarnankar, Rachna, Moumou, I.always like to say that visitors come as guests and leave as friends. And with you, it's definitely the case. Even Ronnie has withdrawal symptoms after your departure. I know we had a bit of trouble with Mosquitoes. Difficult to control with all the trees around. Luckily they are not the disease spreading variety. However, I'm putting up net screens on the windows in the bedrooms. Maybe this contains them a bit. Fingers crossed. Look forward to your next visit and we can plan some excursions around Birbhum. Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

Nayana is an elegant and friendly hostess; in addition we were greeted by a cute & friendly pet dog Ronnie and ever smiling caretaker Maku. The place is spotlessly clean and thoughtfully decorated with all amenities you need for a decent living. There is no television, but no one watches TV while on a vacation. You can expect cheerful evening addas (chat) with the hostess. She has travelled to 55 countries and in no time you will get absorbed in an interesting conversation with her. Lots of books are there. You can relax and read in the balcony or garden. You can order good quality food from a nearby caterer. Quality of food in excellent. We are definitely going to return.

Room tip: You can park your car in the garden
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank drabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2021

So happy to have met you two. Delightful adda which unfortunately I missed the.2 evenings I had to desert you.to return to Calcutta. Please, please return. Soon. Need more chats. Do take care and many.thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2021

Nayana's Homestay is a great place to stay in Shantiniketan. It is a beautiful property in a good location. Myself and my husband, Abhiroop visited the estate with our 19 months old daughter Abhyalaxmi along with a close friend.

Breakfast and stay both were both delicious and comfortable respectively, thanks to Maku who happens to be Nayana's trusted staff. The room was clean and the property seemed well maintained. One should mention a very important aspect of the property which happens to be its well planned architecture, which allows proper cross ventilation and keeps the rooms comfortable even if one is not using the air conditioning. Food can also be procured from outside and Nayana did recommend some amazing places. Even at the time of writing this review we are still conversing about the kebabs, the thalis and that particular eggplant dish. They were just WOW!

Both my husband and myself had visited Shantiniketan before, but never did we explore it the way how Nayana made us explore. She accompanied us to the historical terracotta temples in the middle of nowhere, the Rajbari ruins and the Ionic columned Durga batis, all of which were not just soul touching but also left both of us speechless. This was across the Shantiniketan & Birbhum region and this must be mentioned that she is also very well acquainted about all the important spots in Bishnupur and Murshidabad. One should at the least stay three days and plan their adjoining trips with her.

P.S- The famous Haat(market) of Shantiniketan is at its grandest in the weekends and it is very close to her estate. If you are not travelling in your own vehicle and even if you are, do avail the services of the Toto Driver Bapon(Toto is a large electric tuk tuk which can more or less comfortably accommodate 4 adults). He is well behaved and is knowledgeable about the history of the local destinations within Shantiniketan.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Dear Dia, Abhiroop and Miss Curly mop :)
It was SUCH a delight to host you. Not only was it fun for me as well it was also incredibly informative. You guys with your Fencing, Shooting and knowledge and interest in history was amazing and I'm honoured to have the opportunity to have met you.
First of many visits I hope. Still lots to explore. Looking forward to future Adda sessions.
Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews