We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
98
18
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
98
18
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful house home stay local delicacies quiet and peaceful place true home yellow house haven of peace lush green surroundings comfortable stay spanish omelette personal touch delightful place rooms are comfortable goat creature comforts necessary amenities front porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were browsing through tripadvisor to find a quiet retreat in Shantiniketan ,which is away from the madding crowd and stumbled upon this gem called "Chota Kothi".

From the very first day ,Warmth and hospitality of Nanyana di made us feel like we were visiting a relative during vacation rather than staying in a hotel.

Here are some delights of staying at Chota kothi.

1.Nayana di loves travelling and as you expect from a well traveled person , once the evening adda starts it stretches endlessly.Who knew we will end up discussing topics ranging from "stories of old kolkata",to"Japanese bathing house" to "ghosts in Golkunda fort " to "how to slow cook pork with honey" in a single evening.

2.Maku di(Nayana di's commander in charge) cooks really good Spanish Omelet and the overall breakfast was simple but good.

3.All the required amenities are present to make oneself comfortable.We had traveled with 2.5 year old daughter and we were felt at ease from 1st day .

4.We ordered dinners for both the days from Borgi da and the taste and portion was excellent. Dal fry from his place was quite unique and I never had dal fry cooked like this before.(Though word of caution it seems he has a habit of getting confused so please order early and in plain simple words.)

We had a wonderful stay and will surely come back again.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank souviks735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was such a pleasure to host you. Especially the rather the " baba"s boss" 2.5 yr old! Really looking forward to your next visit( you MUST return) and a lot more adda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We had a wonderful stay at the 'Chota Kothi'. It was our 4th or 5th stay there. Loved the ambiance and the warm hospitality which made the trip even more special. The garden along with its tall trees cuts one off from the local houses nearby. One feels totally isolated from the modern day to day life. Its an experience worth enjoying!
The in-house breakfast is very good. For lunch and dinner one has to depend on food from outside. There are a few places nearby who home deliver.
We got our lunch and dinner on the first day from Aarhani. While the food quality was good the quantity was anything but, specially given the steep price! The temperament and attitude of the owner, Mr.Borgi was extremely unsympathetic and rude. ( which Nayana's Homestay has nothing to do with.)
From the second day of our stay we got food from another place near Prantik station and their quality, price and service was excellent!
Overall, we had a wonderful stay! Very refreshing and rejuvenating!
Do go there with your family once to savour the country side experience. Take long walks,go to the local Santhal village,the Saturday haath,and the several raj baris(palaces) of that area.Massenjore is less than 2 hours drive and one can go there for a days outing.A big 'thank you' to Nayana's homestay for making our short trip a delightful one!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank saum0pr0kashg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Many thanks for your very kind r
words. I'm sorry that you had problems with the food. Will discuss with Aarhani.
Glad the rest of your stay was comfortable. Sorry to have missed you this time. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Stayed at the charming Chota Kothi for three days and rediscovered a real homestay. Nayana's is not a resort or a room only proposition but you get access to almost the entire house, a real house with used look and a potpourri of curios, old paintings, odd artefacts and rooms adorned with period furniture. Takes you back to a bygone period as you enter the premises. In terms of size more than a bigha of space welcomed us with large garden, verandahs in front and back of the living room and terraces on the first floor. The interiors with mood lighting is subject of envy to any art loving soul, as the attached photographs might suggest. In terms of functionality, hygiene is top notch. The complimentary breakfast came with spanish omlettes and all essential condiments.

Shonajhuri forest is a walkable distance from Chota Kothi and situated in an affluent neighbourhood in Uttarpally, north of Shyambati and away from main roads. Access to university campus or weekend haat (bazar) in Shonajhuri is easy, whether you prefer to walk or ride any vehicle.

But the real attraction for me was the place we lived for three days. This was a real house with all the space that us the city-breds dream off or yearn about. Two thumbs up and we will like to go back at an opportune time.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank parthapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Thank you so very much for your visit and trust in us. A great pity that I wasn't there physically to meet you and your family. Please do return soon. Look forward to some great adda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

Nayana's Homestay justifies the concept of a Homestay. It is truly a remarkable place to spend few days in another Home.

Few highlights :

1) Excellent Host and Nayana really takes care of her guests.
2) Accommodation is well maintained and has all necessary amenities like Geyser etc.
3) Excellent Food from nearby Home delivery from Mr.Borgi.Veg/Non-Veg both are available.
4) Mobile network slightly fluctuating and hence guests should be prepared for that. No High Speed Wi-FI and Cable/Dish TV...Please spend your time in the garden or with Ronny (find out who he is when you visit)
5) Evening Adda with Nayana cannot be missed and it is included in your tariff.
6) B Fast is good but if you are expecting a Buffet spread then please choose J W Marriott instead.
7) Last but not the least no Covid here as it is only you and your family.

Well for me and my family it was a vacation with another relative.

Swarnankar Paul
Stay Duration : 18/12/2020-20/12/2020

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

It was truly wonderful to meet you and Rachna and Mou. Ronnie misses all the hugs and cuddles. Please visit again soon. Many thanks for your kind words and support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

In a pandemic filled world, if one wants the security (almost of one’s home), Nayana’s house and the two bedrooms she lets out warmly recommends itself. Very clean, comfortable and unpretentious, the house is a haven of peace. Nayana is a great host: warm, friendly and helpful; and her cook, Maku, makes fabulous Spanish omelettes!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

A real pleasure to host you and your family and friends. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews