We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
97
18
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
18
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful house home stay local delicacies quiet and peaceful place true home yellow house haven of peace lush green surroundings comfortable stay spanish omelette personal touch delightful place rooms are comfortable goat creature comforts necessary amenities front porch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

In a pandemic filled world, if one wants the security (almost of one’s home), Nayana’s house and the two bedrooms she lets out warmly recommends itself. Very clean, comfortable and unpretentious, the house is a haven of peace. Nayana is a great host: warm, friendly and helpful; and her cook, Maku, makes fabulous Spanish omelettes!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

A real pleasure to host you and your family and friends. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

Spent a relaxed weekend at Nayana’s recently. Very cosy and warm home with art and nature spread all around! Though we ate out, had good breakfasts and a dinner dished by Nayana and her caretaker Maku. The rooftop is ideal for an evening binge over local delicacies! Look forward to stay in the winters.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank coolking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

please do return soon. Lovely having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Chota Kuthi is a home away from home. You can unwind undisturbed & just enjoy getting away from the everyday drill of city life. If you're keen on visiting nearby places for a little shopping or want to visit the University museum & some interesting eateries, the ever helpful host, Nayana, can suggest some of the best places suited to your interests & advise you on the best times to visit, routes, transport options etc. In Chota Kuthi, you feel the personal touch & warmth in every room. The rooms are spotless, the meals are excellent & the staff is efficient & discreet. The ample lawn houses a number of interesting flowering plants & trees & is ideal for an evening walk. The open terraces are great for tea time in the evenings. You'll never get bored during your stay. There are a number of antiques & artefacts from Nayana's travels across the world each of which have a story to tell. And there are some breathtaking works of art & historic photographs that adorn the walls of the home. What I like most are the airy front & rear verandas of the house which are ideal places to relax & take in nature in its entirety. It is this blend of a home away from home in a very natural setting that keeps drawing me back to Nayana's Homestay!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pnt528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Many thanks for your kind words and lovely visit. Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

I and my wife stayed at Nayana's Homestay for 2 nights this month. It was a wonderful stay well supervised by Nayana herself right from the time we left our home from Kolkata , till the time we were back to Kolkata. The homestay consists of 2 rooms in the ground floor with large attached bathroom. One room has AC while the other doesn't. However what makes the homestay stand out is the beautiful garden covered with wonderful flaura and fauna. Inside of the house is tastefully done, with antiques all over the place. The hospitality of the caretaker-Maku was splendid and we were well looked after. Considering the overall experience we would surely be back again soon. Thanks Nayana

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AvishekGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Thank you very much for your visit. Sorry to miss Halum. Please do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020 via mobile

I with my two friends went to stay at Nayana's Homestay for two days in this Covid crisis period. She and her wonderful Chota Kothi with its trees, invaluable paintings and all kinds of crafts made us feel at home, that we dream of. She is fabulously friendly and you never know just to chatting with her in her amazingly organised house how time flies by. She gives you best advice to plan your visit in Shantiniketan and its surrounding areas. She arranges the best possible food for you. The domestic service you get here cannot expect in any other Homestay. Here, I just want to thank Nayana for giving us two amazing holidays to relax and get free from all the stresses. Waiting to visit you soon, Nayana!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mau_dasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nayana gangooly, Owner at Nayana's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Mau. It was such a delight to meet you and your friends. Definitely an enriching experience. Thank you so much for setting aside the Covid- 19 fear and visiting Nayana"s Homestay. Look forward to future visits and many more ADDA sessions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews