We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Nature and Relax”
Review of Mitali Homestays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitali Homestays
Ranked #4 of 25 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy Nature and Relax”
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We travelled last year in July 2016, to Santiniketan. We were 4 adults and 2 kids.

The stay was very good, the breakfast was amazing, the dinner was awesome. The oweners were not there when we went, they were at kolkata. But the caretaker took great care of us and made us comfertable. The children enjoyed the place and had fun cycling around and travelling in the TOTO.

The handicrafts available like cremic pottery, jute products were also very good.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsh1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    16
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent place to enjoy nature, and relax with family.

The caretaker of the property Mr. Bijoy is very caring and is committed for guests' satisfaction.

We had a great stay, kids also enjoyed the place, savored good food here as well, in particular the Lemon grass soup and sesame chicken. Many vegetables are grown here and used while cooking or serving. We were welcomed with Shikanji with a hint of "gandharaj" ( rongpur aromatic lime).

Mr. Dey has a huge collection of books and interestingly the entire collection is available for his guests for relaxed reading.

We stayed in the suite with one additional room and terrace. It is perfect for a family of 4 with a little grown up kids. The terrace is perfect for stargazing.

Overall we had a great experience , and I would highly recommend this place for the visitors who prefer homestay.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank d_laha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Fabulous stay, no complaints whatsoever and lovely hosts.Couldnt as for more, cycles on deman for free, bengali cuisine ar its best. The owners are lovely hosts, everything but wifi available on site, but then again we were not complaning.

Stayed July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineDarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Went to Mitali homestay in first week of march.liked the place a lot.enjoyed a lot. It was a family trip with my husband my 2yr little son my mother in law ,sister in law and her daughter. Both the njyd a lot as the property is big enough for them to play.we got the annex building honeymoon suite and Gautam room. Rooms are quite big enough,liked the collection of books(awsme collection krishnoda and sukanyadi,jst loved it)food was yummm...it's not at all spicy.I don't know what is the sauce that made the chicken super(is it soya sauce).even for my son also they made exactly what I asked them to do.and those malpua..yummmm...anyways guys don't think twice before booking jst go for it.Only one thing I want to add regarding evening snacks we will be highly thankful if we get any evening snacks next time coz this time there was no one in the kitchen so we had to walk a long to get any shop for evening snacks. But it's ok. Bt nxt time I want to meet krishnoda and sukanyadi and plz evening snacks.
Loved your hospitality.
Thank you.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitaTuhinSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We go to Shantiniketan almost every year during basanta utsav. Usually we stay at Mark Meadows. But this year we did a lot of research online and decided to stay at Mitali. Our decision paid off really well. The property is well located and is well accessible. This is actually a farm house (Bagan Bari) which is extremely well maintained with mango, litchi trees all around.

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms clean and hygienic. Book lovers will love staying here cuz there are lots and lots and lots of books in every room to keep people engaged.

Staff here are friendly and helpful. Housekeeping job is done everyday and I really liked it because being in a homestay one can expect not to get some facilities provided in a hotel.

The host is a really good person and caring human being. This is a food lover's paradise. Whatever you want to eat you can request and it will be served to you in lunch or dinner or both.

We got the experience of a candlelight dinner on the roof under the moon and the stars on purnima and it felt heavenly.

Overall it was a really good experience. We would love to go back to Mitali again and spend some time.

Tips: Don't go during Basanta Utsav and Poush Mela as Shantiniketan remains extremely overcrowded and would be a horrible experience. Monsoon and Winter are the best time to visit.

Book a room well in advance as this property has limited accomodation and demand is extremely high.

looking forward to visiting again and have the special Kool Tentul Achaar.!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are huge !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RupayanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
1.6 km away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
10 reviews
0.2 km away
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
0.0 km away
Panthashala Guest House
Panthashala Guest House
#7 of 25 in Santiniketan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lodge Lipika
Lodge Lipika
#5 of 27 in Bolpur
4 reviews
1.8 km away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#3 of 25 in Santiniketan
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitali Homestays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitali Homestays

Property: Mitali Homestays
Address: Phuldanga | off the Taltore Road, Santiniketan 731235, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive property (villa) in the Shantiniketan area and guests receive highly personalised attention and service in spacious, natural surroundings. Dining is a speciality, and all meals with accommodation are also available. The emphasis is on maintaining a peaceful and unpolluted base for relaxation. As a Homestay with the owners in residence, care is exercised with the process of guest admission. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mitali Homestays Santiniketan, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing