We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mitali - as sweet as its name”
Review of Mitali Homestays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitali Homestays
Ranked #3 of 25 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2015

A great place to stay in the form of homestay - in the land of red soil and Kabiguru Tagore. Mitali Home stay is one of the finnest experience not only in terms of stay but its food, people and ambiance. We stayed in early November in their only suite at annex building which has a private terrace to feel the golden rays of early sun in the morning and a rich wind blowing on your face in the evening. Sip your cup of second flush Darjeeling tea (get your own and make in the attached kitchenette) in the morning at the terrace amidst green Katchapa, Eucalyptus, Rongona and many other trees hearing the birds chirping. Breakfast at the terrace in the main building is another lovely experience. After vising places of interest in and arround Bolpur we made sure to return at Mitali for a mouth watering Bengali lunch. Their well trained cook and also the caretaker (Bijoy) took a good care for each and every of our concerns. The lush garden and well manicured lawn added a good flavour on our 3 days stay. Vegetables, fruits and flowers growing in their private garden were music to our eyes which especially my wife and 10 yr old son liked most during the stay. The quaint, quiet and peaceful stay at Mitali made it more charming during the dinner time when the owner Mrs Dey prepared continental dishes (our family favourites baked prawn and ratatouille) for us with great care. A casual chat with Mr Roy on the dinner table on various subjects around the globe before a goodnight sleep made it worth finishing the day. You cannot retire to bed without turning the pages of one of the numerous collection of books oderly stacked on the bookshelf in your own room. Wake up next morning for a new day a new life at Mitali...I would definetly come back again.

Room Tip: If you have a family with kids must try the suite at annex building. Bhab Kutir is good for large fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Samit_Kundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulysses28, Owner at Mitali Homestays, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thank you, dear reviewer, for your appreciation of Mitali and its Homestays, and for your very kind words on our own performance and behaviour as hosts.
As our family home, Mitali holds a special place in our lives and sentiments, and it makes the response of people to this home they share, however fleetingly, especially personal and make us particularly sensitive to their perceptions and comments. We usually treasure an ongoing relationship, and in this, our fifth year of "running" this Homestays, we feel proud of the frequency with which we receive repeat visits by our guests, often with another generation of their own families.
If this "home" relationship did not exist, we would take reviewers' comments more in our stride, looking for points to learn from, to improve on or to emphasize, and then move on to the next set of guests with a sense of adventure! Instead, there is a sense of loss, especially with those guests who have spent at least two full days with us and given us a glimpse into their own lives and interests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015

One of the best places to stay for a weekend trip to Shantiniketan. The place is very peaceful and tranquil. The garden is very beautiful, architecture is also very classic The rooms are big and clean. Food id just amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_piku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

A brilliantly comfortable place. Extremely friendly people who cook outstanding food. Rooms are large, sunny, airy and air conditioned for that all important creature comfort. The usual cliche of nestled in the lap of nature is a truism here. As added bonus there are book cases filled with books ranging from Russell to Rushdie. A great place to relax, kick back and rejuvenate.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kaniskac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

This is one of the best places to stay in Shantiniketan. The way the owner has maintained the property is commendable. Rooms are really cozy and Bhab Kutir is really nice. They have a huge collection of books and have a mini library in every room. The food is also very good. For sight seeing they will arrange a cab for you (which you have to pay of course). The gardens and trees surrounding the house makes the ambience more beautiful. In short comfortable and peaceful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gargi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Beautiful architecture, excellent maintenance, amazing food, effective and efficient. Memorable experience.

We stayed at the suite. Best option as valued the private terrace and the kitchen.

Our upbringing has been in Kolkata, always wanted to visit Shantiniketan. Accomplished now ... thanks to the accomodation and vegetarian food options at Mitali.

Super thanks. Will visit again and again.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Punit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
1.6 km away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
10 reviews
28.5 km away
Hotel Sagar
Hotel Sagar
#1 of 1 in Siuri
3 reviews
0.2 km away
Rater Tara Diner Rabi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#5 of 25 in Santiniketan
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
29 reviews
2.6 km away
Pubali Homestay
Pubali Homestay
#2 of 16 in Bolpur
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitali Homestays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitali Homestays

Address: Phuldanga | off the Taltore Road, Santiniketan 731235, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range: ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive property (villa) in the Shantiniketan area and guests receive highly personalised attention and service in spacious, natural surroundings. Dining is a speciality, and all meals with accommodation are also available. The emphasis is on maintaining a peaceful and unpolluted base for relaxation. As a Homestay with the owners in residence, care is exercised with the process of guest admission. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mitali Homestays Santiniketan, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing