We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
8
22
22
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
22
22
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice place to stay service boys air conditioned lunch and dinner rooms are spacious ambience bustle trees
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

The property is very good for official and leisure trip but the overall service standard is very poor because of untrained staff. Cottege rooms are very good but not at all maintained.. I strongly request the management to look after the maintenance and service standard which may help them to get more customers who want hassle free calmness of Shantiniketan.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Soumenscorpio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

The location and basic infrastructure of the property is very good. But maintenance is very bad. Service is low as not many staffs are there. Swimming pool is not maintained at all. Food quality is ok only if you order the popular foods. Rooms are nice though. Considering the cost, this is not worth a place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid it
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anirban_Basu_kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

There must be a better option in Bolpur. This hotel needs a manager - who knows and cares what the guests need. It looked like the hotel hasn't been touched at all since it was built - the roof is actually falling in in some places and the swimming pool is a disgrace. Our room was filthy, looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months. The bathroom was the proverbial black hole - and inhabited already by very large spiders and cockroaches.

Two positives: the staff (not the manager obviously) were very willing and helpful when asked, if badly trained, and the food was good.

Room Tip: Find a room in a different hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

stayed here for one night for work. was allotted room 126. rooms are ok in size clean but old, dated and stained. the bathroom had a shower area which seem out of place for a hotel like this. i would have given then 2 stars but the only reason for giving 3 stars is the because of the staff esp chottu. he was really nice and help, doing all the odd job umpteen times.
Hot water was problem.
breakfast was not included but OK.
they charged Rs. 3K plus for the rooms. but i was told that this is the best in bolpur.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I had the misfortune to stay at the hotel. The lobby was dirty and the rooms were nasty. Dirt every where. The bathroom was like Shepard's hut. Actually Low class does not enough to define the place. They can name it Hotel Hell instead of calling it Mark and Meadows. The breakfast was sufficiently below average. The staffs were not trained roaming with uncleaned dress & unshaved faces. Geyser was not working. Moreover electrical flashes were coming out from geyser point. I guessed any time any accident may occur due to short circuit. They supplied hot water in bucket. There is no house keeping in that Hotel. I earnestly request to the authorities to keep the property neat and clean. I requested tea twice in room service but nobody turned up. Mismanagement is every where. I do not recommend anybody to stay at the Hotel for a single moment.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sankha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews