We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
8
22
22
21
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
22
22
21
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice place to stay play area service boys air conditioned lunch and dinner rooms are spacious ambience bustle trees
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

It is an over-hyped hotel.... nothing as shown in the images... They charge Tariffs of a 5* hotel but actually it is not even 1*. Do not expect any kind of room service... either the EPABX does not work or they do not pickup the phone .... we called for Tea at 7am and inspite for 4 reminders, we did not get the Tea by 12noon. In bathroom, all taps leak and it becomes quite dirty and messy. The bathrooms do not have exhaust fan... towels are dirty and un-hygenic... cannot use

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MUKESH1978_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This large property in Shantiniketan is a complete dampener. It does everything to sink your mood in Tagore-land. Billed (Hyped!) as one of Shantiniketan's finest, it could easily be the worst! We stayed in one of the newly done-up rooms, and whilst the room was part of a room room cottage with a private balcony at the rear, overlooking a lake and the expansive grounds, the dirty waters of the lake and the ill-maintained grounds did nothing to make us venture out. The room and bathroom were decent (they had been renovated recently) with a sitting space at the entrance but the AC looked from another era and so did the TV. Room service is abysmal, someone will appear after 15 minutes of your call; service staff are really less in number compared to the property size and number of rooms. The fooding was a part of our package, and we had to eat at the restaurant where the buffet spread was kept. The lighting is very poor here; you literally need to ask the service guys about the food item because of poor lighting. Food was OK. (The fish served was fresh and delectable). There's a Games Room and the gym, but both had seem better days. Now coming to the grounds, the saddest part is to see the unkempt grounds, overrun by shrubbery, cows grazing, gazebos overun by overgrowth. Its a complete mess! I've never felt more cheated by a property which markets itself otherwise and comes a total cropper in reality. I was charged INR 8,000 per night for a double room, and since I was visiting during Poush Mela (23-25th December), i had to give in to the fleecing, since there was nothing else available. My IPAD too missing from the room, and just a couple of concerned look apart from the Director, i got nothing else in return.

Definitely one of my worst hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Go for the new renovated rooms
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shupornaadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The good:
1. Sprawling area and green spaces give a feel of the quintessential era gone by. 2. People are running around to provide good service.

The bad:
1. The list of rooms in makemytrip is quite different than the actual inventory. 2. I booked a executive suite only to find broken wardrobe, intercom which doesnt work, stained walls, leaking faucet, linen which is being used for the last 10 years? atleast thats the feel. 3. very badly lit restaurant. when asked i was told that this is supposed to give candle light dinner feel. I for one didnt get that feel, perhaps a lack of cognition on my part.

The ugly:
1. i was served with chicken pakora which had (almost) uncooked chicken with all the smell intact. 2. other than breakfast, i have nothing to write home about.

They did mention that since Poush Myala was over hence the staff had been ramped down. But does this justify the poor quality? Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sayantan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The rooms are poorly maintained - do not have a decent TV , AC outdated , the linens are old and not of good quality .

Bathroom shower , wash basin needs to be replaced and their rooms stink .

Their garden and swimming pool are not maintained .

I had to move out after staying one night .

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarbendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

I would suggest to go never. It's totally waste of money. Very poor maintenance. The basic things of the room are not working properly at all. The stuffs are also unmindful. Basic food is unnecessarily beyond the budget.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank deyjayeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews